Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.692315
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 6, 2013

As a VIM clinic, we rely on the national office to be our resource for clinic related questions. The staff is always extremely helpful and very considerate. We would not function well without them! more

March 21, 2014

The list-serve established for VIM clinics is our go to place to connect with other VIMs to see how they handle the problems commom to all free clinics. It's a great resource for us and we are proud to be a VIM clinic.
August 6, 2013

As a VIM clinic, we rely on the national office to be our resource for clinic related questions. The staff is always extremely helpful and very considerate. We would not function well without them!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

Our free clinic just opened in March, 2013. We initially contacted Volunteers in Medicine a few months prior to that. The expertise, knowledge, and resources provided by them to us were instrumental in our successful opening. Any question I had (and there were a lot!) was promptly met with an informed, helpful response. It was great to know that when something was brought up that we didn't have an answer for, we had a quick and easy place to turn. Now, with several months under our belt, we continue to have new questions and the VIM forum has continued to be a fantastic resource. Our site visit from Marge Hamrell was very instructive ; she has an extremely helpful, pleasant manner , and her years of experience were a wonderful advantage for us. Volunteers in Medicine has truly guided us to a successful clinic opening this year.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 25, 2012

more

August 25, 2012

Working with LVIM has been the most rewarding volunteer job of my life. After years of volunteering on various boards I have moved into a very hands-on job at LVIM and work directly with patients. Between interacting with patients, working with the staff and dealing with drug companies there is never a dull moment. It is always good to leave at the end of the day feeling your time has been well spent and you have actually made a difference in people's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

Vim-Jax is a beehive of activity. It’s an exciting place to be. I myself have watched from the inside as this amazingly efficient organization has evolved from a small clinic to a complex operation.

When I walk in a little before 1:00 on a Tuesday (my usual time to work there), even
though I am arriving at a non-peak time, there is nonetheless quite a bit of activity. In a small room off the waiting area, a woman sits in front of a computer, a file open before her, the telephone receiver to her ear. She is there every Tuesday making certain that upcoming patients still meet the clinic’s financial and employment requirements. In the front office a volunteer is tidying up charts from the morning’s patients; another is dealing with a patient who is picking up her prescriptions. A nurse squeezes into the small office needing to print a copy of the afternoon patient schedule.

I walk past the pharmacy where a volunteer pharmacist, a pile of charts beside her, is filling prescriptions. Tucked away upstairs, yet another volunteer sits at a piled desk pouring over the data she needs for the grant she is writing.

Back downstairs, the phones begin to ring, the patients sign in, charts begin to move. Across the hall, two young women begin readying the charts for the next day’s patients. Volunteers leave, replaced by others, each with very specialized tasks. Somehow, this medical beehive functions, each individual performing his specific job and then moving on.

Who, I often wonder, would not want to be a part of such a dynamic force as this.

-written by Sharon at VIM-JAX

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

Volunteering is the right way to spend retirement. The work that I do at the Jacksonville VIM gives me joy and self-fulfillment. Being of service to those who need help is an experience that no one can put a price on. Our patients are always appreciative of what we do for them; the staff works hard and they always make our patients know that the number one reason why we're there is to provide the best care possible for them. I am glad to be a part of this wonderful and well-managed community clinic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

I have been with L VIM from the start. I mostly work in the department of scheduling patients. I love the job, you are able to have one on one contact with the clients. We have a very well organized staff and things run very smoothly. Being able to offer this kind of care is very important for the community. I know what it is like not to have insurance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

I have volunteered at Lakeland Volunteers In Medicine since November 2001. I worked in almost all of the departments before finding being a receptionist was the best position. Being familiar with all the different departments makes my job of answering the phones and signing the patients in so much easier. I find it very rewarding work and enjoy my contact with the patients. We volunteers all work together very well and appreciate it when a patient says "thank you".

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

My name is Dr. Miguel Eisen and my wife, Jane and I have volunteered at the Lakeland Volunteer in Medicine location. We both love being able to donate our time to such a wonderful cause. Everyone at the LVIM is pleasant, happy, and work together. I have had significant health problems that is the only reason we are not at LVIM at the time. We both are looking forward to volunteering again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers