Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.692315
Write A Review
August 26, 2012

more

August 26, 2012

As a pioneer in the field of teledermatology (remote diagnosis and treatment of skin disorders) I am pleased to offer my services to the healthcare professionals associated with VIM. The prototype that we established in the Wilkes Barre clinic will hopefully be replicated nationwide providing patients with direct access to dermatologists.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2012

more

August 26, 2012

I am lucky enough to live on Hilton Head Island, the place where Volunteers in Medicine was originally conceived of and implemented. Dr. Jack McConnell retired to our community and saw a need for medical care for many in the local population who, while often employed, did not have basic medical care. In our community there is a wealth of expertise and knowledge in the medical field, derived from those who have retired here. Dr. McConnell motivated these wonderful people to donate their time to those in need. Having been in this clinic and worked with Dr. McConnell and the volunteers there, I can attest that this is a special place where those who volunteer have no agendas, but simply a passion for service. It is no wonder that this idea has grown and expanded to serve so many communities across the country. Some clinics are supported by religious organizations, some by local hospitals and some by retired medical professionals. This is a concept that bypasses political and religious agendas and simply seeks to fill a void - both for those served as well as those who volunteer to serve. The Volunteers in Medicine Institute and its staff are committed to replicating this model in as many communities that wish to embrace it. They are a highly motivated team compelled by an admirable cause that is based on a simple framework that successfully serves those who are truly in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 25, 2012

more

August 25, 2012

Working with LVIM has been the most rewarding volunteer job of my life. After years of volunteering on various boards I have moved into a very hands-on job at LVIM and work directly with patients. Between interacting with patients, working with the staff and dealing with drug companies there is never a dull moment. It is always good to leave at the end of the day feeling your time has been well spent and you have actually made a difference in people's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2012

more

August 23, 2012

Vim-Jax is a beehive of activity. It’s an exciting place to be. I myself have watched from the inside as this amazingly efficient organization has evolved from a small clinic to a complex operation.

When I walk in a little before 1:00 on a Tuesday (my usual time to work there), even
though I am arriving at a non-peak time, there is nonetheless quite a bit of activity. In a small room off the waiting area, a woman sits in front of a computer, a file open before her, the telephone receiver to her ear. She is there every Tuesday making certain that upcoming patients still meet the clinic’s financial and employment requirements. In the front office a volunteer is tidying up charts from the morning’s patients; another is dealing with a patient who is picking up her prescriptions. A nurse squeezes into the small office needing to print a copy of the afternoon patient schedule.

I walk past the pharmacy where a volunteer pharmacist, a pile of charts beside her, is filling prescriptions. Tucked away upstairs, yet another volunteer sits at a piled desk pouring over the data she needs for the grant she is writing.

Back downstairs, the phones begin to ring, the patients sign in, charts begin to move. Across the hall, two young women begin readying the charts for the next day’s patients. Volunteers leave, replaced by others, each with very specialized tasks. Somehow, this medical beehive functions, each individual performing his specific job and then moving on.

Who, I often wonder, would not want to be a part of such a dynamic force as this.

-written by Sharon at VIM-JAX

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012

more

August 22, 2012

I was blessed with being able to retire on the early side but was worried I would miss being active in my beloved profession. Frankly, the fight with 3rd party payors, administrative burdens, and mounting frustrations created what I now recognize as burnout. VIM (Volunteers in Medicine) in Hilton Head Island, SC, my chosen retirement destination fulfilled, all my criteria for a happy retirement and I now realized twelve years later, practicing there on a regular basis was one of my life's best decisions! Such volunteerism became an attractant and an enabler of an early retirement. Charles P. Duvall MD MACP

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

I was shown the need and with another physician have founded a VIM (Barrier Island Free Medical Clinic) clinic to serve the working poor on Johns and adjacent islands in SC.With Divine Guidance and the generous support of our professionals and our community ,we have been able to see over 14,000 patient visits and have 2,550 patients who call us their " medical home"(in the first 41/2 years). We have partnered with Roper/St Francis Hospital System of Charleston which benefits all. After 30 years of surgical practice nothing has given me more gratification .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

BVMI has been up and running for 2 1/2 years, and we are now seeing patients 5 days a week, about 5,000 visits a year. There is no doubt about the "joy" expressed by John McConnel MD that both we and the patients experience. What is remarkable is how attractive the VIM concept is to all who volunteer and by those who are employed. Furthermore, as the original founder, I find I am no longer needed, as all involved have incor-porated the mission within themselves; except for fundraising, BVMI is self sustaining. Our goal should be one VIM in every county in every state.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

Volunteering as a clinical and triage RN with VIM-Jacksonville is categorized as the most rewarding role within my 34 years of nursing. The patients are appreciative and acknowledge the excellent level of free medical care they receive. The Medical Community in Jacksonville have shown remarkable insight as they make major contributions to this worthy non-profit. This demonstrates their knowledge of the effectiveness of the VIM mission, and the follow through of the daily operations. All volunteers are treated with respect and thankfulness for whatever talents they bring to the Clinic. This opportunity to volunteer at VIM-Jacksonville, is more rewarding to me, than I can possibly give in return.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 16, 2012

more

August 16, 2012

Volunteering is the right way to spend retirement. The work that I do at the Jacksonville VIM gives me joy and self-fulfillment. Being of service to those who need help is an experience that no one can put a price on. Our patients are always appreciative of what we do for them; the staff works hard and they always make our patients know that the number one reason why we're there is to provide the best care possible for them. I am glad to be a part of this wonderful and well-managed community clinic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 14, 2012

more

August 14, 2012

Our county in Washington State has no free medical clinic for the uninsured and under insured. Several providers had met to consider meeting the county needs, so we looked for experience from other free medical clinics. We were pleasantly surprised to find among the resources available was the national office of Volunteers in Medicine (VIM). This group was established in 1994 to provide assistance to start up free medical clinics, the success of which is indicated by the fact that now there are 84 VIM clinics across the US including two in Washington State. I visited one in Port Angeles, Washington that provides care to 1,400 individuals. The VIM national office has many resources with which to help at each stage of development and all free of charge except to pay for travel expenses for one of their advisers to make a site visit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Telephone discussions, exchange of emails and reception of documents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

As far as I know, they are the only organization of their kind supplying advice on starting free clinics to the entire United States.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers