Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.692315
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 21, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 6, 2013

As a VIM clinic, we rely on the national office to be our resource for clinic related questions. The staff is always extremely helpful and very considerate. We would not function well without them! more

March 21, 2014

The list-serve established for VIM clinics is our go to place to connect with other VIMs to see how they handle the problems commom to all free clinics. It's a great resource for us and we are proud to be a VIM clinic.
August 6, 2013

As a VIM clinic, we rely on the national office to be our resource for clinic related questions. The staff is always extremely helpful and very considerate. We would not function well without them!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

more

September 12, 2013

The Heart of Virginia began it's journey towards opening a free medical clinic back in 2009. Our area is one of the poorest and least served in all of Virginia. I found Volunteers in Medicine doing a Google search, how to start a free clinic. I called and the folks at VIM have done a fantastic job helping us accomplish this mission. We were given step by step instruction and all the resources needed at no cost to us. Our clinic never would have been without VIM. We are the only VIM clinic is VA. HOVFC opened and began seeing patients in 2012. It was a long and sometimes not too easy process but with VIM's expertise, it all became possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed, they do it right.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

In 2008, we were exploring the possibilities of expanding a local free clinic, Christian Nursing Service, to better serve our community. We had no physician, a poor facility, and no apparent opportunities. We visited the Volunteers in Medicine Clinic of Bartholomew County and were impressed. We saw a path to developing a clinic for the uninsured in Montgomery County. We contacted Volunteers in Medicine and in 2010, Marjorie Hamrell became our advisor. She visited that fall and talked to the community about Volunteers in Medicine. Later, a group from the Columbus VIM clinic also came and talked to our local physicians and nurses about VIM and about their clinic. At the time, I was President of our Board, a real neophyte in healthcare. Marjorie became my guide and through weekly phone calls and several hundred email messages, she helped us formulate policies and plans for the future.
In 2011, we received a $900,000 3:1 challenge grant from North Central Health Service (NCHS) in Lafayette, In. We raised the additional 300,000 from the community in less than 6 months and started construction of our new clinic in the fall of 2012. On Monday, August 26, we saw our first patients in the Dr. Mary Ludwig Free Clinic.
Through our association with VIM, we also received a grant from American Academy of Family Physicians to purchase medical examination tables.
In 2012, I stepped down as President of the Board and became the first Executive Director of Montgomery County Free Clinic, Inc. So I am writing this as the Executive Director, but, I continue to be the primary contact with Marjorie. VIM provided us a viable model for a free clinic that focused on the patient; provided the necessary organizational support to focus our work; and linked us with other VIM clinics whio provided help. You can read more about our clinic at http://mcfreeclinic.org.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

In 1998, I was watching the television show, Hardball with Chris Matthews and saw an interview with John Kasich. Kasich was talking about his book, Courage is Contagious. The book was about ordinary people doing extraordinary things in their community. One of these people was Dr. Jack McConnell, who created Volunteers in Medicine and formed a fabulous free clinic in Hilton Head. I was so impressed that I called Dr. McConnell and scheduled a trip to Hilton Head to see firsthand what he was doing.

I fell in love with this program. I saw with my own eyes people helping others who had no health insurance or funding streams to provide for their medical care. I was surprised that all services were free and these friends and neighbors were being treated with dignity and respect. I have subsequently joined the board of Volunteers in Medicine and serve as its Vice Chair. On November 2010, I used the Volunteers in Medicine model to open Clinic by the Bay in San Francisco. I currently serve on the board as Vice President.

I am actively involved in numerous boards and commissions, but there is none I am more proud of than Volunteers in Medicine and Clinic by the Bay. Their credo below says it all.

May we have eyes to see those who are rendered invisible and excluded; Open arms and hearts to reach out and include them; Healing hands to touch their lives with love; And in the process heal ourselves.

Respectfully,
Scott Hauge

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
August 13, 2012

Volunteers in Medicine was right there with us from our beginning to even think about opening a free clinic. They gave us encouragement, support and suggestions every step of the way and have been a ... more

June 25, 2013

The People's City Mission Free Clinic opened it doors in July of 2009, in this short time we have grown to be one of the largest free clinics in the Nation, seeing 16,000 patient visits in 2012 and our growth continues. Volunteers in Medicine was a great help to us when we were in the planning stages of our clinic and they continue to be a valuable resource that we count on daily. I cant say enough about this organization, they were there for us every step of the way and when we hit road blocks they helped us see a way around. Anyone looking to open a free clinic needs to talk with these folks and learn from their experience and take advantage of the resources they have put together to help clinics operate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really cant think of anything I would change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2012

Volunteers in Medicine was right there with us from our beginning to even think about opening a free clinic. They gave us encouragement, support and suggestions every step of the way and have been a valuable resource to us as our clinic grows. We are currently seeing about 15,000 patient visits per year and without Volunteers in Medicine and their many resources, we not be able to do it. Thank you and many Blessings to Volunteers in Medicine, you have definately made my job much easier. Steve Uetrecht, Practice Manager, The People's City Mission Free Medical Clinic, Lincoln, NE

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

Southeast Indiana Health Center recently opend their doors on June 4, 2013 and this would not have been possible without VIM. When we began to investigate offerring medical services to those in need, we found VIM. We wanted a sound model to follow. We wanted our center to be a place where pople were comforatble coming. VIM was just the model we were looking for. We affliated with VIM and they have been a valuable resource. VIM has been onsite and has been avaialble with monthly conference calls. They have provided guidance, support, suggestions and has been able to come to our aid whenever needed. There resources saved us a great deal of time and energy. They also encourage our own individuality and promoted us developing the clinic that met our community needs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 19, 2013

more

June 19, 2013

Our free clinic just opened in March, 2013. We initially contacted Volunteers in Medicine a few months prior to that. The expertise, knowledge, and resources provided by them to us were instrumental in our successful opening. Any question I had (and there were a lot!) was promptly met with an informed, helpful response. It was great to know that when something was brought up that we didn't have an answer for, we had a quick and easy place to turn. Now, with several months under our belt, we continue to have new questions and the VIM forum has continued to be a fantastic resource. Our site visit from Marge Hamrell was very instructive ; she has an extremely helpful, pleasant manner , and her years of experience were a wonderful advantage for us. Volunteers in Medicine has truly guided us to a successful clinic opening this year.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

Although the behind-the-scenes activities of the national office cannot be possibly be missed, I would like to especially point out how wonderful Marge Hamrell, our coach has been in helping us launch Coastal VIM in New Jersey. It never ceases to amaze me how organized, kind, compassionate, thorough, and incredibly helpful she is! Shefacilitated each step of the way towards our opening day with unfailing commitment, and respect. Thank you all at the national office. And thank you to all the donors who make their invaluable work possible!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep Marge Hamrell forever!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

In the decade I have been on the Board of Volunteers In Medicine, I have been witness to dedication to excellence, professional standards and compassion week after week after week. Whether the energy is focused on helping patients, rebuilding a kitchen , or daunting fund raising necessities, the volunteers from all walks of life make the tiny building on Route 9 hum with skill and generosity of spirit.

Judith Coche, PhD, ABPP
Board Member, Volunteers in Medicine
Clinical Psychologist
Owner, The Coche Center, LLC, Rittenhouse Square and Stone Harbor, NJ

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We do have to make changes and we focus on fund raising and quality control.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

At our VIM clinic, we regularly hear "without VIM, I don't know what I would do or where I would go". Free clinics such as VIM are so vital to the woprking poor. Health Care and Health Insurance is far out of reach for the good hard working people earning too much for Medicaid but not enough to survive. It is intolerable that families should have to choose between putting food on their table or paying for medications.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers