Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Let's Get Ready helps low income students through the college admissions process. Every October we hold an annual "College Application Day" where adult volunteers work with students on their college applications. Just 3 days prior to the event we were connected to the Volunteer Center as a way to secure more volunteers. The Volunteer Center immediately sent out a blast to their volunteer list and 3 dedicated and energetic volunteers came to the event providing invaluable assistance to our students. The Volunteer Center is a wonderful way to secure talented and caring volunteers without having to go through a lengthy recruitment process.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I had the opportunity to meet Alisa Kesten the Executive Director at the Volunteer Center at a networking event, and then through other meetings got to know her. When I expressed my interested in joining a local board that would match my skill set, she kept her eyes open, and passed information on to me on a regular basis. I have recently joined a board that seems like a good fit. The volunteer center worked hard to make matches that will work for all and I applaud them for that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more

August 21, 2013

My name is Ann-Marie Smith and I am from the Westchester/Hudson Valley chapter of The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. I just wanted to personally let you know what a great employee you have in Zachary Swierat from The Volunteer Service Bureau of Westchester In. The second I signed up to make a profile on Volunteer-Center.org, I immediately received a welcome email from Zachary. I have sent him many emails asking for help and he has walked me through everything I needed to know and even helped me create my volunteer events. He was so helpful and very nice! I really felt like he was going above and beyond to help me figure out how to use the site. I hope he gets some kind of acknowledgement for his amazing customer service!

Warm regards,
Ann-Marie Smith

:: Ann-Marie Smith | Campaign Assistant, Team In Training
:: The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society | 1311 Mamaroneck Ave. Ste. 130, White Plains NY 10605
:: 914.821.8993 |F: 914.949.0391 | www.lls.org/wch | Ann-Marie.Smith@lls.org


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

As a client of the Volunteer Center of the United Way, the Faculty Student Association of Westchester Community College has had the opportunity to engage several volunteers in management consulting roles in the areas of marketing and communication, social media, competitive benchmarking and process improvement. It has been a very rewarding experience for the volunteers and our organization. We are extremely appreciative of their time, expertise and commitment.

I would also like to thank the Volunteer Center for the great work they do in our community and express special thanks to Alisa Kesten and Judy Kadish. We look forward to a long term partnership.

David Sklar
Executive Director
Faculty Student Association
Westchester Community College

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2013

more

January 25, 2013

On behalf of the staff, parents and children of the Community YMCA Learning Center I want to thank the volunteers who showed up for the Day of Service coordinated by the Volunteer Center. This was an amazing group of hardworking, friendly people, well led by Zack, from the Volunteer Center.

This amazing group painted our entire learning center in just a few hours, cleaned up after them selves and were just the nicest group of people to be around.

Thank you to everyone involved!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2013

more

January 25, 2013

On behalf of our library and its patrons, I want like to thank the Volunteer Center of United Way for its recent volunteer effort at our Main and Huguenot Children's Library. Both projects (the search for "lost" books at Main and the painting of a variety of spaces at the Huguenot Children's Library) were successful and completely met our goals. The volunteers, our project coordinator, as well as other Volunteer Center staff were pleasant, hardworking and professional - a pleasure to work with in all respects. We certainly plan to continue this enriching partnership in future years.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

The Volunteer Center has been an invaluable resource for us at County Harvest. They have provided our food rescue organization with countless volunteers who have picked up and delivered thousands of pounds of excess food for soup kitchens, food pantries and homeless shelters in our area. Their staff are professional, courteous and extremely helpful. We are extremely grateful for their help and support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been on both ends of work with the Volunteer Center of the United Way and couldn't be happier or more excited with all of my experiences. Professional and courteous, they have been more than helpful when I have needed some volunteers for the various projects and committees I chair, such as the Southern Westchester Energy Action Consortium and the Eastchester Environmental Committee. I really like how they have automated the process to either sign up as a volunteer or as an organization that needs personnel and assistance. They are hands on and I have gotten to know several of the organization's personnel, from the Director on down. I can't recommend them enough, again for both sides of the ball.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

The Volunteer Center has been an invaluable resource to me as Recruiting Manager for JCY-Westchester Community Partners. We have an ongoing need for volunteers who can make a commitment of at least 1 hour, once a week (currently we're actively seeking 100 new volunteer mentors!) and the staff and management (Alisa, Rosie, Jeannette, Katie, Nathalie, and everyone else) of The Volunteer Center are very sensitive to and aware of our particular needs. Their counselors frequently refer people who are in their office directly to us so that I can conduct an interview and get the process going immediately. In addition Zach and the "tech" staff help us with our web postings which have been very successful. Their outreach programs get the message to so many people and save me many hours of research and "leg work". They allow me to concentrate on following up with people who have shown interest and getting them started in the program that suits them best. We simply could not accomplish our recruitment goals without the help of The Volunteer Center.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 14, 2012

The Volunteer Center has been a terrific resource for us at Leake & Watts. They have provided our social service organization with both skilled-based volunteers and corporate volunteers for days of service. One skills-based volunteer with expertise in branding and advertising has become an invaluable ad hoc consultant. As we look to re-brand ourselves, he has helped us figure out what to focus on, what is most important as we choose to allocate resources for this initiative, and has educated our Board of Directors on the process of re-branding an organization. We also love the corporate volunteers that we have been linked with for special projects, and our Manager of Volunteer Services continually utilizes the resources of the Volunteer Center to augment our program. In all, the Volunteer Center is a great asset to the community!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Use professional skills and personal passions to stretch ability of a nonprofit. Find choices from hundreds of opportunities within our online database of current needs. Volunteer