Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.85
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended a workshop on skills-based volunteering given by the Volunteer Center of United Way (Westchester). I had been unemployed for 18 months at the time and decided that since I wanted to look for a job in the non-profit sector, the best way to do that would be to gain some experience as a volunteer - my previous jobs were all in Corporate America. The workshop helped me to understand what kind of a volunteer that I would be - programmatic or operational and what types of opportunities were associated with each. I took the advice of Judy Douglas who recommended meeting with a Volunteer Specialist at the Volunteer Center. I had identified a couple of places that I was interested in on their web site and at the meeting the specialist called those organizations on my behalf. I interviewed with 2 and spent all of last summer volunteering for both of them. By the end of the summer, one had offered me a full-time job! I can't say that would have happened had I not connected with the Volunteer Center and their very determined staff.
December 23, 2013

more

December 23, 2013

Hello, I am Ann Frey the Director of Volunteers at the Wartburg, a senior facility located in Mt Vernon. I have posted many opportunities on the Volunteer Center website. Also, if I ever have any questions regarding my site Zachary Zwiert has always been so helpful and patient explaining how to best utilize the website. Every staff member associated with the Volunteer Center that I have met have been very helpful and great resources connecting me to groups that they think our organization will benefit from. Thank you to Alisa Kesten and your great staff for all you do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

In the initial stages of trying to find a board position that was a fit for what I valued, I was lucky enough to meet Alisa Kesten at a year end Holiday Party. She spoke with me at length regarding what I wanted to do and kept in touch with me for a few months. She included me in a Leadership Westchester event and ultimately introduced me the Executive Director of a not for profit that I was very interested in joining. I have since become a Board Member and am certain that I would not had it not been for Alisa's help.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I post my pressing volunteer opportunities from Westchester Jewish Community Services at the Volunteer Center's website. People can find out and be in touch with me about our current volunteer opportunities as well as see the location, qualifications, and time commitment all online.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people to visit the site so we can get more volunteers for the opportunities! Also, make the intake form for opportunities more user friendly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

The volunteer center has helped our not for profit
Greatly increase the numer of volunteers this year.
We have even had many corporations hold collection
Drives at their workplace as a result of the
Publicity we have received from The Volunteer center of the United way.


We also participated in this years serve and remember at the
kensico dam on 9/11. We made flash cards for an elementary schools use.
There were so many volunteers helping throughout the day.
It was truly and amazing event. The Staff at the Volunteer Center are ao passionate about their work.
We thank them for everything they do for all of us.
Teresa LPIF

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I am currently a Leadership for Westchester graduate, the Volunteer Center has been a a great resource for me in getting involved with Non-profits in the community. I am currently a Board Member of a Non-profit organization in New Rochelle and the Volunteer Center helped me find a organization that I'm passionate about. They also introduced me to other people that helped me with the organization I am part of now. The Volunteer Center is a great resource for individuals and Non-profits.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Let's Get Ready helps low income students through the college admissions process. Every October we hold an annual "College Application Day" where adult volunteers work with students on their college applications. Just 3 days prior to the event we were connected to the Volunteer Center as a way to secure more volunteers. The Volunteer Center immediately sent out a blast to their volunteer list and 3 dedicated and energetic volunteers came to the event providing invaluable assistance to our students. The Volunteer Center is a wonderful way to secure talented and caring volunteers without having to go through a lengthy recruitment process.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013

more

September 29, 2013

I've had the pleasure of working with the Volunteer Center for many years. In my capacity as a Program Manager for 2 local non profits I have taken advantage of many of their services including using large numbers of volunteers recommended by them and participating in their Annual Recognition event. All of the staff is top notch!! Recently I found an outstanding volunteer opportunity through them. I mentored a High School student for College Application Day through Let's Get Ready. It was a fabulous experience and I was happy to give my time and expertise to make a difference in the life of a student. Thanks Alisa for posting this on Linkedin!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I had the opportunity to meet Alisa Kesten the Executive Director at the Volunteer Center at a networking event, and then through other meetings got to know her. When I expressed my interested in joining a local board that would match my skill set, she kept her eyes open, and passed information on to me on a regular basis. I have recently joined a board that seems like a good fit. The volunteer center worked hard to make matches that will work for all and I applaud them for that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

I always look to the Westchester Volunteer Center for the latest in volunteer programming. Their staff is expertly led by an amazing executive director, Alisa Kesten, who has a cadre of professional volunteer administrators, including two of my very favorite people in the industry, Judy Douglas and Jeanette Ginsbert. They lead the NYS Regional Volunteer Center network and have my highest respect and appreciation for all they do to advance the human condition and improve life circumstances of society as a whole through the impact and power of volunteerism! Diana O'Neill, Executive Director, Long Island Volunteer Center, an affiliate of HandsOn Network

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money to do more good!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Use professional skills and personal passions to stretch ability of a nonprofit. Find choices from hundreds of opportunities within our online database of current needs. Volunteer