Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

The Volunteer League of the San Fernando Valley has several opportunities for energetic women to share their time with giving youngsters new clothes, singing to elders or teaching children via puppets about the disabled and what they can do. All of the League's involvements are highly regarded and very successful.
As a past President, I was continually learning about the community, out reach programs and creative ways to fund raise. There are limitless experiences to become involved and meet and make lasting friendships while helping others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be wonderful to have more ladies volunteer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I started with the Volunteer League over 12 years ago. I loved clothing the children and watching their faces as they got all new clothes to go to school in. Clothing can help you fit in . It also helps your self esteem when you feel good about yourself.
I can honestly say I got more out of the
volunteering. The more jobs I volunteered for the more confidence I felt. I took on jobs I never knew I could do but I learned every person can make a difference. It is a win win. You do something for someone else and you reap the benefits.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only thing I would ever change is to make people more aware it exists.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

As a Board Member AND Volunteer with the Volunteer League it is a pleasure to write a most positive review of this unique and wonderful organization. When children leave our Clothes Corner with new
clothing, new shoes, gently used clothing, school supplies, toiletries, books and a toy , their
smiles say
it all! Each year the need is greater for these children and their families. Our volunteer hours spent with them and assisting the directors at the League House are extremely rewarding. The hugs of thanks from these needy and appreciative families, often in desperate situations, show us how important the VLSFV is to the community and the valley! One day when I was volunteering , a nice man came to our front door. He explained, that when he was a child , many years ago. he and his siblings had been clothed and helped at our Clothes Corner. He stopped on his way to work to say "thanks for making a difference." It happens often. The service provided is life changing for many.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Our League would love to hear of other ways to reach out to interested women who would like to become active members and give of their time to this fantastic organization. Our main financial support has been childrens charities golf tournaments each year. We always are in search of financial support for our League to be able to continue what we do...... helping children and families of the San Fernando Valley.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

For over twenty-five years I have been a volunteer and donor to the Volunteer League of the San Fernando Valley. Not only are the people of the organization professional and energetic, they contribute to the whole community of the San Fernando Valley, not just a small part of it. Providing clothes, books, and bathroom supplies to the children of the valley, they allow less fortunate children the ability to attend school and be just like everyone else. From this one spectrum of the young the Volunteer League members attend to the elderly too. The Choral Music program provides entertainment for nursing/retirement homes and brings smiles to all of our older valley residents. In addition as a teacher, it was always a treat when KIDS ON THE BLOCK group visited my school and performed their educational programs which introduced the students to the handicapped using all of their wonderful puppets. These three segments are just a small part of the Volunteer League. Our hundreds of members also provide time and energy to many other areas of the San Fernando Valley. Give them a call to find out more information or how you can make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to find a way to widen the knowledge to everyone who lives in the San Fernando Valley about this number one volunteer group. With so many groups out there asking for help and money, it would be important to me to pass the word along and request everyone's help for this great group of women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for several organizations, and I believe the Volunteer League of the San Fernando Valley was the most rewarding by far. Their wide range of projects are stimulating and very helpful for recipients and volunteers alike. I recommend this fine group wholeheartedly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

October 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 27, 2012

I have been a member of the Volunteer League for 17 years and help mostly with the children. Once when I was helping a young boy with brand new school clothes he was able to find some of our "gently"... more

October 5, 2013

The student continue to come to the Volunteer League's Clothes Corner for much needed school uniforms. Once in their new clothes, and gently used clothes, they do better in school and attend more school.....it just makes their self esteem soar! What a great project to be a part of. Come join us....we volunteers have fun with the students and we have a fun time with each other.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make out numbers of volunteers GROW.....many willing hands are always needed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 27, 2012

I have been a member of the Volunteer League for 17 years and help mostly with the children. Once when I was helping a young boy with brand new school clothes he was able to find some of our "gently" used clothing. He found a leather jacket. He tried it on and looked in the mirror and said, "lady, this is the best day of my life!" He made my day too!! Great knowing I am part of this 61 year old organization! Come join us and see what we are all about....we help clothe school kids, puppet show about disabilities performed in schools and a choral group that sings to seniors in nursing homes. Lots of possibilities!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

As part of the Troupers of the Volunteer League of the San Fernando Valley, we sing and entertain approximately 1200 Seniors in nursing homes and retirement centers each year. We bring joy and music into their lives. The Volunteer Leaague contributes so much to our community. Lives are lifted because of these wonderful ladies. Dorothy Much

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Volunteer League of the San Fernando Valley offers several unique opportunities for women to contribute to the well being of the community. The group's main mission is to clothe children in need with brand new clothing,shoes,underwear,hygiene products and books. For ladies who enjoy singing, there is a choral group which sings to Seniors in rehab and nursing homes. For gals with an acting flair, a wonderful puppet show called "Kids On The Block" perforrms at local schools and via skits using disabled and able bodied puppets, introduces elementary aged children to what the disabled can do. Volunteers not only feel joy by helping others but develop lasting friendships with like -minded women. This is a true "win/win" experience!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers