Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Our group was already a well oiled machine, thanks to strong and dedicated local leadership. The team had been serving in various areas across the US for a decade. Volunteer Expeditions connected us with amazing programs in New Orleans this year and allowed our students to have exposure to very strong leaders making a great impact. This partnership also benefitted us when we had to make unplanned adjustments during the week. Those quick adjustments allowed our students to stay engaged with real needs each day. We were privileged to participate in community transformation, but our work also allowed us to experience life transformation not only in NOLA, but in our personal lives as well. We are eternally grateful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 4, 2012

more

April 4, 2012

what a great adventure for me to meet other people and to help also.The strength I got from this is remarkable life have been change who better out look on life since I join this nonprofits todo volunteer and to work with other but now I have learn so much that I did not know about LOVE for others

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I went to new Orleans to work as a volunteer helping people who had been impacted by Hurricane Katrina. I did not know what to expect but my experience overwhelmed me. I had the opportunity to clear a field on which a building had stood. As a 65 year old this was not easy but I worked right along with the teenagers. I enjoyed mot only the physical work which I rarely do since I have a desk job, but listening to the people's personal experiences made all the difference. I think what impressed me the most was the true love and admiration that the key people who help direct the programs in new Orleans had for Patti Vile who leads the groups. We worked with various church groups in the community. I watched teens from an upscale community in New York mingle easily with other teens living in poverty. This had a significant impact on me. I believe the experience also had a significantz impact on the teenagers. Many indicated theY wanted to go back to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Every once in a while, when you donate your time, you receive back far more than you've given. That was the case on my first trip to New Orleans with Patti Vile and Volunteer Expeditions. Our adventure began when the plane landed in New Orleans and the 25 of us hit the ground running. Each day startedbwith a stimulating motivational speaker who energized us for our day's work. From dry walling to painting to packing food in a food dispensary and back to the houses,we were all exhillerated with our hands on ability to help. In the evening, after the day's work was completed, the group would discuss our personal experiences of the day with most agreeing the higlight was working next to and with the people whose lives were so devastated by Hurricane Katrina. Their faith in God and humanity, their appreciation of our work and their joy in rebuilding their homes with us made the venture exceptional. However, the greatest experience was seeing the people with whom we worked express their gratitude to Patti for bringing her group, Volunteer Expeditions, to New Orleans. This trip was definitely a highlight and one of the most moving experience I have yet to encounter. The bottom line from this trip is simple to state: We gave of our time and effort and came home much the richer for it. Join one of Patti's trips. You won't be disappointed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was a member of the first Volunteer Expedition to New Orleans. Our group helped a family in the ninth ward reclaim their home after Katrina. The work was very hard and provided me with one of the most rewarding experiences of my life. The trip was organized very well and brought us into contact with many wonderful people in New Orleans. I highly recommend Volunteer Expeditions to anyone interested in a service project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2010 my daughter and I looked around for a "vacation" that would combine visiting a "new" place and being of service to that community, and we had the great good luck of finding Patti Vile and Volunteer Expeditions. Several years after Katrina, the city was showing both heart and heart-rending conditions. We worked with homeless families, at food depositories, and expanding schools; visited churches, helped rehab community centers, and learned much more about the different aspects of the city through morning speakers that Patti arranged for us...from civil servants to Pulitzer-prize winning journalists, a Moishe House representative, and several others ... The thought that Patti put into our trip, complete with histories and pertinent articles, with information to enlighten us along the day - PLUS the wonderful community meals we were invited to, not to mention the restaurants and music and bowling fun we had access to in the evening - made the trip quite a moving one. It helped open our eyes to the needs that we can help fill, as well as familiarizing us first hand with a culture that is as resilient as it is rich. Kudos to Volunteer Expeditions!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Volunteer Expeditions in New Orleans and have spoken with others who have gone on their programs. They are outstanding in both providing great assistance to those who need it and in giving the participant an outstanding and very meaningful experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Eighteen months post-Katrina, I was privileged to be part of Volunteer Expedition's first trip to NOLA. The ability to reach out and embrace a city that was showing such resilience had a profound and long-lasting effect on me. Through the compassion, commitment, and leadership of Patti Vile and Volunteer Expeditions, what began as a simple trip became a vision for change and one of the most powerful experiences of my life. Patti Vile has gone on to create an environment for learning, growing, and building that is my pleasure to recommend to others looking to make a difference. -Gail Glickman, volunteer and educator

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It changed my life. After the volunteer experience, I moved to New Orleans to teach school

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

let more people know about it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

have more groups going to rebuild New Orleans

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have never forgotten the people I met and the work I did

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

wonderful

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers