Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

In 2010 my daughter and I looked around for a "vacation" that would combine visiting a "new" place and being of service to that community, and we had the great good luck of finding Patti Vile and Volunteer Expeditions. Several years after Katrina, the city was showing both heart and heart-rending conditions. We worked with homeless families, at food depositories, and expanding schools; visited churches, helped rehab community centers, and learned much more about the different aspects of the city through morning speakers that Patti arranged for us...from civil servants to Pulitzer-prize winning journalists, a Moishe House representative, and several others ... The thought that Patti put into our trip, complete with histories and pertinent articles, with information to enlighten us along the day - PLUS the wonderful community meals we were invited to, not to mention the restaurants and music and bowling fun we had access to in the evening - made the trip quite a moving one. It helped open our eyes to the needs that we can help fill, as well as familiarizing us first hand with a culture that is as resilient as it is rich. Kudos to Volunteer Expeditions!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My time was spent with a key member of Volunteer Expeditions. This organization wants to contribute to meaningful service projects that are needed while still having each volunteer understand community needs and be forever changed by their experience. I'm proud and excited to work with the staff of Volunteer Expeditions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Volunteer Expeditions in New Orleans and have spoken with others who have gone on their programs. They are outstanding in both providing great assistance to those who need it and in giving the participant an outstanding and very meaningful experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Eighteen months post-Katrina, I was privileged to be part of Volunteer Expedition's first trip to NOLA. The ability to reach out and embrace a city that was showing such resilience had a profound and long-lasting effect on me. Through the compassion, commitment, and leadership of Patti Vile and Volunteer Expeditions, what began as a simple trip became a vision for change and one of the most powerful experiences of my life. Patti Vile has gone on to create an environment for learning, growing, and building that is my pleasure to recommend to others looking to make a difference. -Gail Glickman, volunteer and educator

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It changed my life. After the volunteer experience, I moved to New Orleans to teach school

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

let more people know about it

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

have more groups going to rebuild New Orleans

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have never forgotten the people I met and the work I did

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

wonderful

November 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Great small organization that has brought 35+ groups to new orleans since katrina. Can't recommend them highly enough!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

southern Louisiana

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wouldn't

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

referral

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers