Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 10, 2012

more

April 10, 2012

Our daughter, Kristin, was enroute to pick up her two small children when a vehicle traveling 85 mph pursued by the highway patrol crossed the median strip and crashed head-on into her automobile. She died at the scene. We did what we could to overcome our grief, but nothing really worked until we discovered Candy Priano and PursuitSAFETY on the internet. Candy contacted us almost immediately with e-mails and phone calls. She continues to encourage us, and we try to support PursuitSAFETY endeavors. From time to time we see and hear from Candy Priano. About one and a half years ago PursuitSAFETY sponsored an uplifting conference in St. Louis, and last fall we met Candy to lend support at a police-chase victim's hearing in Independence, Missouri. We will always be thankful for PursuitSAFETY.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2012

more

April 8, 2012

My 17 year old son Christopher was killed on November 8, 2007 during a police chase that was extremely violent and out of control. In the weeks following, I felt lost and alone with nowhere to turn. One day while researching police chases, I came upon a website called Pursuit Watch that was filled with information on this issue. It was started by Jim Phillips, whose daughter Sarah had been killed by an individual running from police. I was shocked to learn how many innocent people lose their lives from police pursuits in which they had no role. It was there that I found Candy Priano in December 2007. I wrote to her immediately, and she wrote back within days. Since then, she and the members of Pursuit Safety have helped advise and guide me through the most devastating times of my life since losing my son. This organization is filled with compassionate and loving people, all having suffered either injuries or the loss of a loved one from a pursuit or emergency response call. I truly don't believe I would have gotten this far without them. The support and understanding of this exceptional group of people is unparalleled and so needed. I have learned so much from being a part of Pursuit Safety, and will remain committed to this issue throughout the rest of my life, in the hopes that, although I cannot save my son, I can bring awareness and illumination of the dangers of police pursuits. This is a life saving endeavor for all of us affected by this devastating loss. Cheryl Cooper

Photos

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

My son Brian was killed a year and a half ago by a police officer traveling over 90 miles an hour in a 30mph speed zone for a traffic stop. It makes no sense and I can't sleep a lot and spend days in bed crying about it. On one of my sleepless nights I wrote about my experience on the Pursuit Safety site and it happened to be a week before Candy Priano, the head of PursuitSAFETY, was coming to my town to speak about the Safer Way Award. Candy and her husband Mark stopped by my house to meet me and my husband and daughter. It was so nice to meet such wonderful compassionate people. The hugs we shared were genuine and the meeting in general was uplifting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2012

more

April 5, 2012

When my son was tragically killed at the age of 20, I felt that I had no where to turn for help until I found PursuitSAFETY. The support and care that this organization provides to victims and their families cannot be found anywhere else. The organiztion provides a vehicle through whicm many can turn their grief into action and partner with law envorcement to make our roadways a safet place for all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Computer work involving a database to help us track injuries and fatalities as a result of police chases and police response calls. The lack of mandatory reporting hapers our government's ability to track the actual number of deaths. Voluntary data shows that on average, five innocent bystanders are killed every week.