Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
35 Reviews
1234.942865
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 2, 2014

more

January 2, 2014

I am the Director of a 501c3 nonprofit operating services to help animals in Michigan (All Species Kinship), and have always received a prompt and helpful response from Voiceless-MI members when I have reached out to them for dog rescue assistance. A timely response can be essential in this field, and in our experience, many nonprofits struggle in their response times. Furthermore, Voiceless-MI takes the courtesy to extend their volunteer network to us when we have a dog needing rescue or transfer. We are grateful for the role they play in Michigan, and the emphasis they have on spay/neuter.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am co-owner of a dog day care, training, and grooming facility in downtown Lansing MI. I've worked with Voiceless-MI and many other rescues and animal welfare organizations for several years. I've helped raise funds for them, worked with their volunteers, and referred many adopters to them. Voiceless is both diligent and accepting. That is, they have great screening procedures for adopters, but are not so over-the-top with their requirements that they screen out most of the people sincerely looking to welcome an animal into their loving homes. The work they do in the community with spay/neuter and TNR is critical and makes an immense difference in our community. They have a plan and they execute it, without fail. This small organization makes a huge difference in our community. I highly recommend Voiceless-MI for anyone looking to adopt, to volunteer, to donate, and for an organization that will implement any grant to the fullest extent possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Beth and Holly!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I am a veterinary technician who has worked with many rescue groups over the years. I can honestly say that Voiceless is THE BEST rescue I've ever had the pleasure of working with. I think all rescues mean well. However, many take the wrong approach when it comes to helping animals and their people. Voiceless is a tight-knit community of volunteers who really care and are dedicated to protecting those animals that can't protect themselves. The volunteers constantly go out of their way to "make things happen" for the animals that find themselves in unfortunate situations. I've never seen them turn an animal away because of age, breed, size, medical condition or even distance. They routinely form bands of volunteers who will drive animals to check points where other volunteers are waiting to take over, just so they can get an animal where it needs to be. They frequently take in older animals who have multiple medical issues and they work and work until they can find that geriatric pet the perfect home where its needs will be met. They don't shy away from expensive treatments like Heartworm TReatment, Cruciate Surgery and other expensive therapies the foster animals need. They just roll up their sleeves, brain-storm ideas and find a way to raise the money needed. They are constantly running fundraisers to help earn the funds needed to help these struggling animals. Many rescues depend on their adoption fees alone to fund their organizations. Eventually those funds run out and then those other rescues can't provide the necessary care for the animals they are trying to help. Not Voiceless! They work hard to ensure that treatments are available, by constantly campaigning for their organization and those it serves. These people work so hard and give so much of themselves for the cause they believe in. I'm proud to be a small part of all the great work they continue to do. I am constantly surprised by their on-going efforts to educate the community on spay-neuter, the importance of preventative care and even behavior issues, which so often can lead to damage of the human-animal bond and eventually owner relinquishment or even euthanasia. They stand up for animal rights and frequently are found on the steps of our Capitol Building, speaking out for the millions of animals out there who need our help and protection. They are so generous with their services, that I've even seen them lend a helping hand to other rescue groups and organizations, creating a united front for pets everywhere. For such a small group they help an amazing number of pets and owners each year. I've dedicated the last 20 years of my life and my entire career to helping animals. However, I'll never come close to the dedication this group displays over and over again. They are the first call I make when I come across an animal in need, and they are the first place I go when I'm ready to adopt a pet myself. I just cannot say enough about this group, its volunteers, its mission and its great success in helping animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them all the funding they could ever need to keep serving the animals they help.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

I am a President of a cat rescue, but also the sole member. As such, my funds and abilities are very limited. I received a call from an elderly woman at a trailer park who had been feeding a small cloud of feral cats, yet the park was now telling her she had to stop. What would happen to the cats and kittens? We were able to trap the cats, but it was Voiceless who provided the much needed spaying and neutering for them. With that done, we were able to work with others to find barns for some and others went into socialization programs for adoption. It was Voiceless who prevented these cats from being euthanized and to safety.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2010

more

July 27, 2010

Voiceless is dedicated to helping all animals in Michigan, particularly shelter cats and dogs who reside in shelters that engage in pound seizure (giving cats and dogs to research) or that are euthanized by gas chamber. Voiceless os dedicated to end pound seizure and has assisted in taking action on the 2009-10 Michigan anti-pound seizure bill, motivating local advocates to support the bill, and educating others about the practice. Their advocacy efforts have helped, and will continue to help, countless shelter cats and dogs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Working directly with the volunteers of Voiceless.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers