Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 19, 2013

more

March 19, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about my daughters experience with this choir! My oldest daughter has been with the choir 4 years, starting in Rising Notes at age 5 and now progressed to Intermediate choir. My younger daughter also started in Rising Notes at age 4 and is singing in Prep choir today. They have both progressed so wonderfully in their singing, and it is great to hear them wandering around the house singing new and old songs in all sorts of different languages. As a non-musical parent there is no burden on me to work with them outside of rehearsals and at a price my family finds affordable.

Summer camp is not to be missed. The directors drop all attempts at seriousness and work hard to make everything FUN; ice sculptures, giant bubbles, glove-a-phones, painting, and so much more. This summer camp is artistic, educational, fun, and Friday afternoon the camp puts on a sweet concert to show off what they learned and created.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2011

more

August 22, 2011

I just wanted to thank you and everyone else (Peggy, Jay, Mary Jo, Becca, Thea, Vishal, etc.) for running such a well-thought out and fun camp this past week. My daughter had a GREAT time and can't wait to do it again next year! not only did she enjoy the music part (we have so many microphones in our house - one for almost every room, just about), but she really enjoyed the art and how it got incorporated into the singing part! She said that everyone was really nice too. I was very impressed, too, with your aides...very professional and you could tell they enjoyed what they did!

I hope you offer priority enrollment for campers who were in attendance from the year prior so I can get a jump on enrolling for your camp next year! :-)

Thank you, again, for a great experience. Kudos to you all.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Music education.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer priority enrollment.

August 19, 2011

more

August 19, 2011

My son has been participating in Vivace Youth Chorus for 3 years. He started out in the Rising Notes class, which is a wonderful musical experience for young children ages 4-6yrs. Through musical games and songs, he developed his ear and learned rhythm sense. He was having so much fun he didn't even realize he was learning! When he was 6 he moved into the Preparatory Choir, where he began to learn repertoire for performance, as well as music theory. The music theory is taught through the use of games, so again, the kids aren't even aware they are learning. Peggy, the director of the Prep Choir is masterful at making learning really fun and interactive. The kids just love to sing with her, and she is extremely upbeat and positive, just the perfect set of skills for young children. At age 7, he moved into the Intermediate Choir, where the lessons were a little longer and expectations greater. My son now sings on key and is learning music notation and relative pitch. I've been so impressed with how rich this experience offers him. Now, my younger child is in Rising Notes and will begin Prep in January. I highly recommend Vivace Youth Chorus for children of all ages who are interested in a well-rounded and fun choral music experience.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My son's singing voice has matured and he is learning so much about music, rhythm, tone, etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of anything to change at the moment.

August 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I wanted my daughter to have a musical experience that wasn't being provided in elementary school. We didn't hear children's literature being performed in school any longer and so much in history and culture was lost to her generation.
If your child or youth loves to sing, Vivace will nurture
that passion. Vivace Youth Chorus is a music education program, with an emphasis in performance as well as education. Incorporating theory through song games and using the voice as the instrument, students are given musical literature that is both appropriate for their voices and is a mix of classical and folk music from all over the world. Music theory, vocal technique, performance skills and professional instrumental accompaniment are all a part of the music education curriculum.
In the years my daugher performed with the children and then the youth choirs, she sang in over 25 languages. This was certainly more than just music~it was also an experience that brought world cultures and traditions to her.
In college now, she still talks about the outstanding musical experience she shared with other singers. They still get together for informal reunions and attend and support Vivace events as they are able.
She even talks about the future possibility of having children who will one day attend Vivace's program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

bringing music to the community. Many lives have been touched through summer camps or during the school year in rehearsals. With concerts and other collaborative works with other arts organizations, our children have grown as performers, instilling confidence and poise in each one.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring in more funding sources so that we could offer more scholarships to children and youth in our community.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers