Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.745
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 19, 2013

more

May 19, 2013

I first became aware of this organization through several friends who are on the board. Although I am not active like they are, I am amazed at how many people have benefited from all over the world. Their micro loans have gone to so many women to so many countries and the long term results coming just from an initial loan are fantastic. This is not money going down the drain. This is start up money for successful long term businesses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 13, 2012

more

May 13, 2012

VGI empowers women by providiing them with the start-up money to become self-sufficient (micro-loans). It is a formula that has been very sucessful around the world in making women and their families stronger and healthier. I was given a membership several years ago, and became interested in their work. They send women to their projects all over the world to mentor and monitor them. Their newsletter is very informative, describing the varous projects they support. As a woman, I am proud to support VGI and its important work to raise the status of women, particularly in developing countries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

VGIF has helped many women attend and benefit from international conferences where they have shared experiences and learned from their colleagues. My experience of this was in helping IFUW organise its 2007 conference where a number of women were only able to join us because of the generosity of VGIF in providing travel grants. Their inclusion provided inspiration not only for them on returning to their own countries but also to the rest of us - we would have been the poorer for not meeting them all!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

I believe very strongly in women helping women achieve their greatest potential. The Virginia Gildersleeve International Fund does this by giving grants to projects which reflect the needs of women to learn and to provide for their families. Most important is the fact that these projects use the talent and resources available to women to also help other women and families. The projects have assisted in improving health, increasing family income and in providing education in the most needy of situations. Projects submitted for a grant are carefully screened to assist those most greatly needed and that have the greatest potential to achieve their goals. Increased funding will help to benefit even more women.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

I have traveled all over the world and seen how difficult life is for women in third world countries or even in highly developed countries. VGIF provides small grants that help to change women's lives for the better. I think that making things better for women is the catalyst for improving life for everyone. I strongly support the work the organization is doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 16, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
March 16, 2011

I am a volunteer, donor and Board member of what I consider one of the best run organizations based in the US. In its 40-year history VGIF has given over $1 million US dollars to projects empowering women and girls in developing countries -- all from large and small donations given by ordinary ciizens. It is quite an accomplishment.

I am impressed to see how small sums of $5000 can make a difference in women's lives. Most of the projects help women and girls to learn how to help themselves in a world that is not always receptive to them. When I hear and see the successes created by these small grants I know my enery is in the right place!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I met one of our site managers who we invited to come to the UN for the Commission on the Status of Women's 55th session, dealing with women in technology. She brought girls and their teachers to Suva (Fiji) three times to help eliminate the three times. Her impact has changed the face of the University student body to include many more girls in these fields and raised their expectations of their futures. If all our projects are as successful we have achieved a lot.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add more staff to make more things possible.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers