Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.786895
Write A Review
November 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I got to know VGIF through my accounting firm. I went to their office regularly to complete monthly and year end closes. I also got to see how well the staff worked together to accomplish their goals. I also had the pleasure of attending the 45th Anniversary luncheon where I got to see the result of all that hard work in the office. They do a fantastic job helping women in developing countries, and I believe that will be the case for many years to come.
May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

As a long-time member of and donator to the Virginia Gildersleeve, I am a strong supporter of their goals to improve Women's lives throughout the world - solutions, not short-term remedies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

VGIF gives grants directly to women learning new skills and trying for the first time to support themselves and their families often in very rural and dire circumstances worldwide. All money raised goes directly to these women. I can think of no better way to improve women's lives across the world than to empower them in this way with knowledge and ability. Their newsletters show the work that is being done and give updates on past recipients. I willingly contribute every year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

For several years I edited their newsletter. I was VERY impressed with how much good can be done in small villages with very small amounts of money! VG helps women improve the standard of living for their families - and often for their entire village.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of VGIF through UN over a year ago. First I met their UN representative Leslie Wright who is as passionate as she informed on women's rights and how to go about empowering them. Then I met Executive Director Fay Kittelson at some UN panel where I learned how much effort and time VGIF puts in to train and help non-profits apply and get funding needed. I applaud their commitment in helping advance women's causes. Keep up your great work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2010

more

May 25, 2010

In the fall of 2008 I began volunteering at VGIF. After discovering the wonderful work this mainly volunteer organization does, I became more invested in the empowerment of women and girls in developing countries. Currently I work as Grants Assistant and correspond with current, past and prospective grantees. This job gives me a vision of how funding at the grassroots level can truly impact a whole village. VGIF funds remote, often tiny organizations but the impact is anything but. Each day I smile from reading about a successful health seminar, textile workshop, installation of a water well, etc.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

their continued encouragement for me to grow and explore in the NGO sect!

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers