Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.786895
Write A Review
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

VGIF is the premier institution committed to the advancement of international women-led grassroots organizations. Under the leadership of Elisabet Eklind, VGIF's dedicated staff all work from a place of passion, expertise, and sincerity. Supporting VGIF means that you are supporting thousands of women and their communities all over the world.
May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

The Virginia Gildersleeve International has been in the forefront in giving grants to help people particularly in the grassroots. The organisation also does all in its powers to make sure that the grassroots actually do benefit from the grants. I have had to be involved in contacting people even in war torn areas for the assessment of such projects.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

I have noted the live-changing work of VGIF for nearly 10 years. They are very consistent and dedicated to their mission of changing the lives of destitute, but determined to succeed, women and children. Consistency in vision and mission are factors that make a charitable organization stand out and VGIF has over-delivered on this and continues to do so.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

I began my VGIF work experience almost 20 years ago starting as Grants Secretary and moving up to my current position as the Executive Director. I have been continually inspired by the committed volunteer Board and leadership that carry out the mission of VGIF to provide small grants for grassroots projects to empower women and girls around the world. Grants, typically in the amount of $5,000, annually go to projects created, designed, and implemented by women-led organizations in developing countries based on local need. The direct way in which VGIF supports a variety of projects, often in rural areas, provides compelling and inspiring stories of women’s empowerment through initiatives in literacy, income generation, improved maternal and reproductive health rights, and addressing issues surrounding HIV/AIDS, FGM, domestic violence, and trafficking. The amazing dedication and hard work of these women leaders in the face of significant challenges makes the positive impact of these small grants all the more impressive in uplifting and improving the lives of women, their families, and the larger community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my work as a member of the VGIF staff

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to help increase the visibility and name recognition of VGIF in order to expand our membership and increase contributions and the number of projects VGIF is able to fund.

March 31, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
March 31, 2011

VGIF is an international organization serving women and children by supporting small grants in developing countries. Funding at the grassroots level affords smaller organizations in need an opportunity to be financially supported.

I work with current and former grantees and see the large
impact small grants have on projects every day. The beauty of VGIF is that we fund based on local need and no two projects are alike. Recently we were sent a video documentation on the impact of a project we funded in Uganda. It was amazing to watch that with a small grant they were able to teach women how to properly care for and breed pigs and use pig manure as organic fertilizer to enhance their vegetable gardens. Every small grant impacts in a large way.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

employment

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand our capacity on the ground level

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers