Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.745
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

I have been a member of the Non Profits Organization, the Virginia Gildersleeve International Fund, a Project Grant funding body based in New York, with members across the globe, who volunteer their time and services towards its vision and mission, to empower women in the grassroots section of society, underprivileged, victims of conflict zones, disease and poverty. Applications for grants start coming in through the post or through our website from the month of May until end August. The two tier system both in the application, and reading/reviewing the grant applications is spread thereafter until the end of March the next year.With our funds not exceeding 150,000 dollars for disbursement, we are not a huge grant providing organization, but the $7500 we give at the maximum to any of the grantees provides the kick start for the women-based organization get going into programs towards literacy and computer education, providing water and toilets for girls in schools, animal husbandry, kitchen gardens, skill learning for self employment for teenage girls, empowering women through knowing their legal rights in countries where patriarchal laws deny them rights towards inheritance or maintenance after divorce although their government's conbstitution would have these rights in the llaw courts. Ignorance proves to be a great stumbling block for women in several developing countries across the world.For the Grant Readers which I was for several early years at VGIF, it was a self-education for myself, getting to know the plight of women in countries of which I knew very little inspite of various advanced degrees at the University.Reading over a 100 applications is a long and slow process , very intense in concentration is required to do justice to each application, and then when your work is done and you post your reviews, you wait anxiously to await the Board's final verdict after a marathon 3 days of discussions at the AGM in April in New York.I have travelled from India to New York to be present at these Project Grants Committees Review sessions when the reading from several members from across the world is assessed for its value, and taken seriously for a Yes or No.The satisfaction on the final day of the Board meeting when the final 20 or so Grants make the Grade to receive the Funds is one of great satisfaction, when over the years one's grading and reviewing also mproves in its quality, and you find more and more of your own selected applicants having received the Final Grant money that will give them the power to improve their lives towards a better future. Monitoring the grantees over the years through Site visits by VGIF members who are travelling through that region gives us the Feed back to our own insight of having chosen a deserving group of women who just need that slight help forwards to give them an edge to a better dignity in life.For the VGIF member nothing could give greater satisfaction than that little information that in some corner of the world women and children are doing well through their reading and approving a Grant Application. VIVA VGIF!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

Before I became a Board member, I was a donor. I have always believed in the mission and work of VGIF - providing grants to grassroots projects created and run by women. These grants offer opportunities for women's empowerment, chances for girls to have a different life and community transformation. The project areas in which VGIF funds, are so varied and the locations are across the globe. I know that by being a member of VGIF, I am making a difference in the world today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

I believe very strongly in women helping women achieve their greatest potential. The Virginia Gildersleeve International Fund does this by giving grants to projects which reflect the needs of women to learn and to provide for their families. Most important is the fact that these projects use the talent and resources available to women to also help other women and families. The projects have assisted in improving health, increasing family income and in providing education in the most needy of situations. Projects submitted for a grant are carefully screened to assist those most greatly needed and that have the greatest potential to achieve their goals. Increased funding will help to benefit even more women.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

VGIF gives grants directly to women learning new skills and trying for the first time to support themselves and their families often in very rural and dire circumstances worldwide. All money raised goes directly to these women. I can think of no better way to improve women's lives across the world than to empower them in this way with knowledge and ability. Their newsletters show the work that is being done and give updates on past recipients. I willingly contribute every year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 9, 2011

For the past six years I have served on the Project Grants Committee of VGIF which has given me the opportunity to read proposals for VGIF funding from women in the developing world. I particulary ap... more

May 11, 2012

I served on the VGIF Board for six years--for three of those years as Convener (chair) of the Project Grants Committee. In that role I had the opportunity of seeing all of the proposals that came to the VGIF. It was inspiring to discover how women around the world are shaping their own destinies and how a small grant can make a big difference in the lives of women in the developing world. I believe that the work of VGIF is important and deserves support from women throughout the "developed" world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 9, 2011

For the past six years I have served on the Project Grants Committee of VGIF which has given me the opportunity to read proposals for VGIF funding from women in the developing world. I particulary appreciate learning about the issues that women confront in seeking to improve their own lives, their families' well-being and their communities. Although VGIF grants are small, they can have significant impact on women's empowerment.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reading the feedback from onsite visitors and the reports that grantees make.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer more workshops for potential applicants to enhance their grant writing skills.

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

For several years I edited their newsletter. I was VERY impressed with how much good can be done in small villages with very small amounts of money! VG helps women improve the standard of living for their families - and often for their entire village.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

I have traveled all over the world and seen how difficult life is for women in third world countries or even in highly developed countries. VGIF provides small grants that help to change women's lives for the better. I think that making things better for women is the catalyst for improving life for everyone. I strongly support the work the organization is doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

This org. empowers women all over the world -IT's part of the AMerican Assn. of University Women whose mission is to strengthen the prospects for women and girls thru education, civil rights and advocacy.I have been a donor and supporter for many years.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became aware of VGIF through UN over a year ago. First I met their UN representative Leslie Wright who is as passionate as she informed on women's rights and how to go about empowering them. Then I met Executive Director Fay Kittelson at some UN panel where I learned how much effort and time VGIF puts in to train and help non-profits apply and get funding needed. I applaud their commitment in helping advance women's causes. Keep up your great work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

I have noted the live-changing work of VGIF for nearly 10 years. They are very consistent and dedicated to their mission of changing the lives of destitute, but determined to succeed, women and children. Consistency in vision and mission are factors that make a charitable organization stand out and VGIF has over-delivered on this and continues to do so.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers