Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.745
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
December 26, 2012

more

Review from JustGive
December 26, 2012

Virginia Gildersleeve helps many women across the globe. I wish to inform others about this organisation as it empowers many women across the globe., and I thank them very much as I am a member of Virginia gildersleeve, and I recommend others to join this very powerful organisation which helps women. I have volunteered my services in Sri Lanka.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2012

more

May 30, 2012

Absolutely courageous women changing the fate of other women around the world for the better!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

The virginis Gilldersleeve International Fund (Vgif) is a powerful force for change in the status of women and children through its activities which have impacted communities and brought smiles to faces, hope and changed lives through its humanitarian activities. It also provides privileged voluntary opportunities of service for those who have a passion for humanity and cannot get a chance to give back to society in their little ways. As a volunteer I came across people who vgif has funded to improve the lives of; street girls, girls in communities where FGM is practised as a cultural activity, widows, orphans and vulnarable children, small businesses and land rights. Through visits to these communities I came across faces of gratitude and love because vgif had revived their shattered dreams after some of their horrifying experiences among them the post election violence victims in Kenya. These women groups found hope and comfort in each other through their activities. I commend vgif for making a difference and being a light in the world with members who have hearts that are willing to serve. They need support in their tireless fundraising efforts to get donations from would be supporters to help them keep community projects running and sustainable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 19, 2011

I recently joined VGIF and had the privlege this year of reading grant proposals. This review opportunity gave me a first hand experience of the need for funding to enable opportunities for small gr... more

May 17, 2012

I am honored to be a Board member of VGIF an organization dedicated to the empowerment of women in under developed countries. This year we will be giving thirty some grants to enable women to support themselves in small vilages in countries like Africa and India. For instance they will be able to purchase goats, a cow or sewing machines which will enable them to be self suporting and to pass on new skills to their children..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 19, 2011

I recently joined VGIF and had the privlege this year of reading grant proposals. This review opportunity gave me a first hand experience of the need for funding to enable opportunities for small groups of women to get a chance to learns skills to enhance their chance for financial independence and to find avenues to sell their products.
I have been impressed with the mission, leadership and accomplishments of this organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

N/A

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

The Virginia Gildersleeve International has been in the forefront in giving grants to help people particularly in the grassroots. The organisation also does all in its powers to make sure that the grassroots actually do benefit from the grants. I have had to be involved in contacting people even in war torn areas for the assessment of such projects.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

As a long-time member of and donator to the Virginia Gildersleeve, I am a strong supporter of their goals to improve Women's lives throughout the world - solutions, not short-term remedies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2012

more

May 13, 2012

VGI empowers women by providiing them with the start-up money to become self-sufficient (micro-loans). It is a formula that has been very sucessful around the world in making women and their families stronger and healthier. I was given a membership several years ago, and became interested in their work. They send women to their projects all over the world to mentor and monitor them. Their newsletter is very informative, describing the varous projects they support. As a woman, I am proud to support VGI and its important work to raise the status of women, particularly in developing countries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 13, 2012

more

May 13, 2012

VGIF has helped me over the years by giving me confidence and encouragement to do the work, I'm doing in Sri Lanka. Since the tsunami of 2004 I have organized women at Hikkhaduwa, Dodanduwa to get their livelihoods on tract. Thay lost everything in the tsunami. Firstly, I had to help by making sure the families had food & water and medical care as most women and children were hit by the debris. Most of the houses in this are were intact but there was nothing inside the house as it got washed away. It wa sto the VGIF that I looked for my strength.These village people are fishermen and women. They catch fish or they sell it. My husband and I were holidaying in Sri lanka when the tsunami hit. With help from our family and friends in Western Australia we were able to get most of the fishing boats fixed very quickly as that was an important livelihood for that area. We then concentrated on the women as some of them lost their husbands , children in the tsunami. We supplied sewing machines, material for sewing, crochet thread, so that women can continue their crocheting and sell them to shops in the area as well as sell them at Colombo.We bought fridges, cook tops, for the women who had a shop and sold food as their livelihood. Most of all we gave them hope for the future by building a pre School for children. We had to rent a house at first, then we built a pre school on borrowed land. Now we have started building a Pre-School for the children of Galle, on the land that we have bought. We have3 trained teachers and 1 cook as we give these children a cup of milk when they arrive and give them lunch before they leave, as this will be their only meal sometimes. The Graduate Women of WA, gave a scholarship to the head teacher of the Pre school to follow a pre-school course here in Perth. She has finished it and gone back with new ideas she can do at the pre school. We had 4 teachers coming from Papua NewGuinea for the course as well. I managed to Promote VGIF at these functions by talking about the great work done by them in Asia as well as south America and other countries. I also had pamphlets about the VGIF which I had collected when I went for the IFUW conference in Mexico city. I learnt about the VGIF a lot as I saw videos about the work they do. We get help from St. Michael's Mt.Pleasant Perth, as the people drop a few coins into a bowl every week. Once a month we send this money to pay the salaries of the teachers. I organised a fund raising Sri Lankan Banquet recently catering for 110 people. We made $AUD 4,500 that night which we shared between Papua New Guinea and Sri Lanka Pre Schools. Please carry on the wonderful work you do all over the world. VGIF is a great inspiration to all of us who struggle to find donations.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Yes, I have at the IFUW conference in Mexico City.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

send out more information and videos to people who work in South Asia and South East Asia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

By encouragement and sending more flyers to people who work in these areas.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

My volunteer experience is helping me today to be confident with the work I do, as well as at the talks I give in West Australia. I have certainly made friends with VGIF members.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel I'm doing even a little thing to change the world they live in for women and children in this area.

May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

I served on the Board in the 1990's and saw first hand wgat a wondeful job Virginia Gildersleeve does in empowering women in the world. It helps women to establish businesses where this would otherwise be impossible . It has its donors women from many countries who help to keep an eye out for those who need our help. I have continued since my time on the Board to dupport the VGIF with contributions and voting by proxy at the annual meeting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012

more

May 12, 2012

VGIF has helped many women attend and benefit from international conferences where they have shared experiences and learned from their colleagues. My experience of this was in helping IFUW organise its 2007 conference where a number of women were only able to join us because of the generosity of VGIF in providing travel grants. Their inclusion provided inspiration not only for them on returning to their own countries but also to the rest of us - we would have been the poorer for not meeting them all!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers