Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.745
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I have had the pleasure of getting to know VGIF through our supported project of gender equality and women empowerment. I have come to appreciate that VGIF is the best women fund in the world, They are always in contact with their grantees to know how the projects are moving,They always offer suportive advise when called upon, and above all they understand the different problems their memebrs are going through and always find a way to solve them.
Their love for women is just wonderful, you can always count on VGIF and its team when you need anyhelp.
We are really grateful of the work being done.

I believe that VGIF has always made this quotation true "No one is too rich ,not to receive anything and no one is too poor,not to give out something."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide the Organisation with more resouces so that many women would be reached.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Virginia Gildersleeve International Fund was created by women from all over the world to support women and girls through both economic development, social justice and education grants. Coming up on 45 years of giving, the work of the foundation has been lead by volunteers for the majority of that time. I have had the opportunity to be one of those volunteers who has chaired the grants committee and am now the convener of the development committee. I first became involved because someone asked me personally nearly 30 years ago.

We wish every donor could be directly involved as it is reading the grant applications or visiting the sites that touches one heart.

We have always been about making a difference for women and girls.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work to increase the number of donors for a very important cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 12, 2011

VGIF is supporting projects which improve women’s condition and help women’s organizations to solve problems which are crucial for their society. Women’s Center ( www.womancenter.org.ge) is one... more

June 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

VGIF supporting projects which improve women’s condition and help women’s organization around the world to solve problems which is crucial for their society. One of such organization Women’s Center ( www.womancenter.org.ge )from country Georgia which from 1996 works on the protection of women’s rights
We would like to appreciate greatly VGIF’s multi-year support in the development and introduction of the program. . Thanks to VGIF, health care providers of our country has been involved in the work of solution of the problem of domestic violence and trafficking.
The support of VGIF we were able to provide better assistance and rehabilitation of the victims of domestic violence. We created a new course of special program for licensing and re-certification of health care providers”. We develop and implement trafficking prevention program in IDP’ camps .We begin work on awareness on the phenomenon of human trafficking among the schoolchildren and IDP community. Involved journalists on trafficking awareness “Establish coordination among community, NGO and governmental representatives. Beneficiaries were more than 1,000 people helping to address the issue of trafficking and advocating for change in IDP camps
Also I want pay your attention on the contribution of VGIF on ,promotion gender equality and legal rights of minority women ,law and legal reform in country Establishment of Consulting Center with hot-line, judicial consultation was fundamental for building the national minority women legal right protection system
It was our please to work with this organization , they have high qualification staff which in reality understand problem which is special in each country

I urge all of your support VGIF to strong their activities through increasing donations as their work fundamental stone for building gender equality society and peace full world

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

support VGIF to strong their activities through increasing donations as their work fundamental stone for building gender equality society and peace full world

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 12, 2011

VGIF is supporting projects which improve women’s condition and help women’s organizations to solve problems which are crucial for their society.

Women’s Center ( www.womancenter.org.ge) is one of such organizations which VGIF funded for implementation of projects on GBV in Georgia.
It gave us possibility to protect women’s rights and health through raising awareness on GBV among university students , creating network, preparing community educators, training health care professionals on yearly reveal cases, implementing screening of pregnant women on domestic violence, which contribute in the rehabilitation of national health system

It was our please to work with this organization. They have highly qualified staff who in reality understand problem which is specific to each country. Unfortunately VGIF can give small grants which are not enough for implementation of projects independently and always we are looking for other donor which cover salaries, office expenses and etc.

I kindly ask US philanthropy community to support VGIF in increasing donations as their marvelous work has direct impact on women’s organization in the world.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By the support of VGIF were created screening tools for pregnant women on domestic violence and implemented them in medical settings. Also, awareness on gender based violence among youth was raised.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the budget of this organizations.

May 26, 2013

more

May 26, 2013

The members of the Virginia Gildersleeve International Fund (VGIF) pride themselves on over 45 years of support for women and girls. While many of the groups receiving funding are involved in education, health and income generating grants are also awarded. Reviewers check references very carefully and grantees must have recieved some local support before receiving VGIF funding. The Fund also make a major effort to have a member or associate visit the sites of the fund grants whether they be in Asia, Africa or South America.

VGIF is truly a magnificent example of women helping women. Members are very devoted to the work of the Fund and come from several different countries. Their philantropic skills and enthusiasm have always impressed me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help the members of VGIF recruit more donor/members from outside North America.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 15, 2011

Because of the continued support of donors, VGIF has been able to fund a variety of interesting and worthwhile grants over the last several years. These grants seem to be so small compared to broader... more

May 25, 2013

I have been a Board member of VGIF for almost six years. During that time, we have been through a significant number of changes with our office and our financial structure, but the Board and committee members have never lost the focus on our primary purpose, which is to provide funding for grassroots projects that change the lives of women and children. Our projects are exciting and fulfilling - and the funds do change lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help people understand why their donations are so important to the future of women everywhere.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 15, 2011

Because of the continued support of donors, VGIF has been able to fund a variety of interesting and worthwhile grants over the last several years. These grants seem to be so small compared to broader needs, but they are focused on the communities from which they come. The programs that VGIF supports are well received and have a positive impact on the lives of women and children in the community. We are made aware of how important our support is to helping people in the way that will help them the most.
My eyeopening grant was one that supporting building a bathroom and wash area at a school in Cameroon. Every detail had been thought through so that lessons about hygiene, keeping costs down and providing further support to the larger community could be conveyed. It was not about the grant - it was about the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The Board is more involved in increasing our visibility and in building our organization for the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We need wider support from people who can give time and money for our grants. I hope we can expand our visibility so more people will know the good that is done through VGIF and help us with that work.

May 25, 2013

more

May 25, 2013

I have been impressed by the dedication and seriousness of the members of this organization in its efforts to make a positive difference in the lives of women in difficult circumstances. I have had occasion to visit some of the grant recipients and seen the results of their work first hand, and been most favorably impressed by what a modest helping hand can do in support of their efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 15, 2012

The VGiF specializes in giving small grants to women's grassroots organizations in developing nations. The members of the board are hardworking individuals, very devoted to providing aid for women's g... more

May 24, 2013

VGIF provides grants for projects to improve the lives of women and girls in developing countries. I have traveled to India, Nepal, and Rwanda where I observed the positive effects these small grants are having on the lives of women.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

VGIF needs more member/donors to increase its good work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2012

The VGiF specializes in giving small grants to women's grassroots organizations in developing nations. The members of the board are hardworking individuals, very devoted to providing aid for women's groups to work on projects which they have designed and which they lead.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 16, 2011

As a board member and committee member over several years, I have seen how the Virginia Gildersleeve is dedicated to improving the lives of women and children around the globe.
Several years ago I traveled to Ecuador with a friend. She introduced me to a group of women doctors who were
setting up educational health services and training programs for young women in Quito. They needed funding, and I suggested they apply for a VGIF grant. It was exciting to see that their grant received funding, and these very dedicated doctors were able to carry out the good work they had planned.
I was also able to visit grant recipients and hear their stories in Nepal and India. Watching children studying in a school in Kolkata, which VGIF helped to build, was heartwarming. In Nepal, the Nepalese Women's Association invited us to their meeting place to hear how VGIF grants enabled projects in farflung villages. Meeting grant recipients adds a unique dimension to the reports filed to update VGIF on projects in process.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting and talking with grant recipients in a variety of countries encourages me to help spread the word of the good work of VGIF. Telling others about the projects, and showing slides of some of the projects generates enthusiasm in others to help with the VGIF mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more donor/members! VGIF has members from around the world, but more countries should be represented. Similarly, there are many underserved countries who could learn about the grants available, in order to apply for help in their projects to aid the lives of women and children.

May 24, 2013

more

May 24, 2013

As a member of the Board for the last two years, I have been able to see first hand how the funds we are able to disperse have helped women in countries and communities where they have had little opportunity to use their skills to assist their family financially. These funds have also been used to educate women to take leadership roles in their ommunities on issues related to health and the well being of their children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 21, 2013

more

May 21, 2013

I became aware of this wonderful organization many years ago when one of their spokeswomen told my group about their work and how they help women in creative and positive ways - they are dedicated and inspiring in the work that they do

Susan

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to make sure that more people know about the work that it does

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 19, 2013

more

May 19, 2013

I first became aware of this organization through several friends who are on the board. Although I am not active like they are, I am amazed at how many people have benefited from all over the world. Their micro loans have gone to so many women to so many countries and the long term results coming just from an initial loan are fantastic. This is not money going down the drain. This is start up money for successful long term businesses.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers