Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

VCIC has increased its capacity to serve students, teachers and business personnel to help them reach their goals through inclusiveness. Yearly, VCIC conducts over 125 programs for 7,000+ participants who return to their community to effect change. The core values of Inclusion, Integrity, Effectiveness, Relevance and Openess make this a truly special organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

VCIC is an amazing organization that illuminates the diversity in our lives (at schools, in the workplace etc.) and guides us all to embrace that diversity for more successful and positive experiences. I have had the pleasure of volunteering at both their Prejudice Awareness Summit and Diversity Dialogue Day and was amazed at the issues young people face today and their capacity to make change if they have the right support from adults. VCIC truly touches and changes lives for the better!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 22, 2014

more

June 22, 2014

VCIC is a wonderful organization, dedicated to really impacting the community through amazing programs. I personally attended a program as a child and now to be able to be a part of the board is such an honor. Achieving success through inclusion is something very near and dear to me with ensuring that our programs reach schools and also that we are able to impact the workplace too. I know that this organization is making a difference and I can't think of a better non-profit organization!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2013

In February 2013 I had the opportunity, as a board member, to sit in on a training session for local college students run by the VCIC. This was a three-day retreat; I attended one morning. I was str... more

June 22, 2014

No other organization in our state does what theVCIC does. It is a non-religiously affiliated organization that strengthens communities by helping people to understand how religious, racial and cultural diversity helps us build a stronger, more nurturing and more peaceful society. They work through schools, businesses and governmental institutions to train individuals to identify problems and devise concrete plans to address the problems. My daughter attended a VCIC three-day program while in high school and it was a life-changing event. I have observed the VCIC in action at a retreat for college students and was impressed by the emphasis on problem identification and the development of detailed, long-range plans to address the problems, and the plans for follow-up to assure implementation. This organization is about dealing in rigorously effective ways with real-world prejudice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

triple the budget so the organization could triple its reach within Virginia. I already know that programs it has developed are being used in other parts of the United States. If it had the means, its effect would be even more national in scope.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2013

In February 2013 I had the opportunity, as a board member, to sit in on a training session for local college students run by the VCIC. This was a three-day retreat; I attended one morning. I was struck by the professionalism of the staff and by the collaborative approach that this organization encourages to address a major social problem--discrimination. Even though I have heard about this organization for years, I was invited to join the board only last year and this was the first time I had seen it in operation. To say that I was impressed would be a gross understatement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 21, 2014

more

June 21, 2014

This organization truly makes a difference enabling people to take a stand, be more inclusive and accepting of the other. Their involvement trickles down to their organization or their school with real results showing - a more caring and considerate populace!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

June 21, 2014

more

June 21, 2014

This organization is a leader in educating all people throughout the community in diversity and tolerance on a person-to-person basis. Jonathan Zur, the Executive Director, is unparalleled in his extraordinary leadership, vision, and attainment of goals. The growth of the breadth of the organization over the past half century has risen steadily.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 12, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 19, 2013

The VCIC is a unique organization in that we work to bring about real change and not just grab headlines for our glory. Although we do address issues taking place in our communities, our focus is on ... more

May 12, 2014

This is a great organization that is deeply involved in developing solutions to difficult problems in the community. The staff and volunteers are dedicated and committed to providing life changing experiences to the delegates that attend the multiday programing. The VCIC is always striving to improve their programming and to operate as efficiently as possible.
September 19, 2013

The VCIC is a unique organization in that we work to bring about real change and not just grab headlines for our glory. Although we do address issues taking place in our communities, our focus is on reaching the people involved and helping them understand the underlying problems through dialog and discussion and then develop realistic solutions to those problems.

We are blessed to have a staff that is passionate about the mission and routinely goes above and beyond to meet the needs of the communities that we serve.

Although I serve on the board, I also volunteer as a staff member and facilitator for many of the VCIC programs during the year. It gives me an up-close view of what we’re providing and how our services are being received. I know of no other organization and programs that have this type of significant, life-changing affect on people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes, unless it was to expand the organization's reach accross the state.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2012

I became aware of the VCIC by accident, but it has become a major part of my life. As well as being a board member, I volunteer to help facilitate programs several times a year. The only thing that limits my volunteer opportunities is the amount of vacation I get from my company. I believe in the mission of the VCIC and the methods that they utilize to achieve them. It is the most effective programming that I have ever encountered to improve inclusivity and acceptance in a community. As a father, I made sure all three of my children attended our showcase program, Connections, when they were old enough. I actually scaled back my involvement in other non-profits to maximize the time I had for the VCIC.
I think an example of the organization and its impact is when my youngest daughter met a young lady and former delegate of our college level program called, Allies Institute. After talking a while and getting to know each other the former delegate realized that she was my daughter. She looked at my daughter and exclaimed, “Do you know that your father changes lives?” I was touched to hear this, but I realize that I don’t change lives, the VCIC and its programs are the real agents of change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

It was a great gift to see the impact that VCIC's Project Inclusion had on our older daughter when she participated in the program through Lynchburg City Schools. Her experience empowered her to become more involved in student groups working for greater tolerance and inclusivity within the school and community. Now studying abroad, she carries with her the increased awareness and sensitivity that such excellent VCIC programs offer to participants. The good work that VCIC does here in the Commonwealth can make our world a better place for all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

VCIC is the pre-eminent organization addressing issues of inclusiveness in our region. The Executive Director and his team are extremely effective in making the most of limited resources. I frankly am amazed they can accomplish as much as they do, all while maintaining the highest level of quality and acountability in the programming. VCIC addresses a very important set of issues and is a very valuable asset to our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities is run by an incredibly professional and caring staff. Through its numerous programs and commitment to inclusivenes it inspires and touhes our youth in such positive and life changing ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers