Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 20, 2012

I became aware of the VCIC by accident, but it has become a major part of my life. As well as being a board member, I volunteer to help facilitate programs several times a year. The only thing that ... more

September 19, 2013

The VCIC is a unique organization in that we work to bring about real change and not just grab headlines for our glory. Although we do address issues taking place in our communities, our focus is on reaching the people involved and helping them understand the underlying problems through dialog and discussion and then develop realistic solutions to those problems.

We are blessed to have a staff that is passionate about the mission and routinely goes above and beyond to meet the needs of the communities that we serve.

Although I serve on the board, I also volunteer as a staff member and facilitator for many of the VCIC programs during the year. It gives me an up-close view of what we’re providing and how our services are being received. I know of no other organization and programs that have this type of significant, life-changing affect on people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes, unless it was to expand the organization's reach accross the state.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2012

I became aware of the VCIC by accident, but it has become a major part of my life. As well as being a board member, I volunteer to help facilitate programs several times a year. The only thing that limits my volunteer opportunities is the amount of vacation I get from my company. I believe in the mission of the VCIC and the methods that they utilize to achieve them. It is the most effective programming that I have ever encountered to improve inclusivity and acceptance in a community. As a father, I made sure all three of my children attended our showcase program, Connections, when they were old enough. I actually scaled back my involvement in other non-profits to maximize the time I had for the VCIC.
I think an example of the organization and its impact is when my youngest daughter met a young lady and former delegate of our college level program called, Allies Institute. After talking a while and getting to know each other the former delegate realized that she was my daughter. She looked at my daughter and exclaimed, “Do you know that your father changes lives?” I was touched to hear this, but I realize that I don’t change lives, the VCIC and its programs are the real agents of change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

It was a great gift to see the impact that VCIC's Project Inclusion had on our older daughter when she participated in the program through Lynchburg City Schools. Her experience empowered her to become more involved in student groups working for greater tolerance and inclusivity within the school and community. Now studying abroad, she carries with her the increased awareness and sensitivity that such excellent VCIC programs offer to participants. The good work that VCIC does here in the Commonwealth can make our world a better place for all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

VCIC is the pre-eminent organization addressing issues of inclusiveness in our region. The Executive Director and his team are extremely effective in making the most of limited resources. I frankly am amazed they can accomplish as much as they do, all while maintaining the highest level of quality and acountability in the programming. VCIC addresses a very important set of issues and is a very valuable asset to our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities is run by an incredibly professional and caring staff. Through its numerous programs and commitment to inclusivenes it inspires and touhes our youth in such positive and life changing ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013

more

April 21, 2013

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has incredible professional leadership and effciently applies resources with great community impact. Participants routinely emerge from VCIC programs with life changing experiences and an eagerness to positively change their communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 17, 2012

I joined the board of The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities (VCIC) because the mission of the organization resonated with my own beliefs to address prejudice, encourage leadership skills, work... more

April 16, 2013

I have been a board member of the Tidewater chapter for a number of years and have a great appreciation for the important work that is done to address the issues of race relations, inclusion and diversity. The dramatic increase in programming throughout the state and the excellent leadership of the CEO have raised the awareness of the organization and its mission. The staff is open to initiatives from the board and encourages collaboration to implement new ideas.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2012

I joined the board of The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities (VCIC) because the mission of the organization resonated with my own beliefs to address prejudice, encourage leadership skills, work on issues related to inclusion and race relations as well as bullying, an increasing problem for our youth. I have heard testimony from prior participants that relayed experiences while attending programs and how it changed their view of the world as adults. I believe that the mission of the organization is more important than ever to foster positive interactions with people of all races, religions and creeds and we need to find ways and funding to expose more individuals to these positive programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

The mission of this organization is to promote understanding and respect on ALL issues of diversity, for ALL age groups, ALL across Virginia- To not only notice differences, but also to respect variety in race, religion and culture. It does a fabulous job of implementing these programs and making them effective-

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

In February 2013 I had the opportunity, as a board member, to sit in on a training session for local college students run by the VCIC. This was a three-day retreat; I attended one morning. I was struck by the professionalism of the staff and by the collaborative approach that this organization encourages to address a major social problem--discrimination. Even though I have heard about this organization for years, I was invited to join the board only last year and this was the first time I had seen it in operation. To say that I was impressed would be a gross understatement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I began serving on the Board of VCIC roughly 12 years ago as a non paid volunteer. I devote a lot of time and other resources to this organization, and would not do so if I didn't believe in it. VCIC has improved drastically in the years that I have been a part of it, and I would attribute this to three things: 1. the leadership of our CEO and the staff 2. the diverse and dynamic group of people we have on our board 3. the mission and nature of the work that VCIC is involved in throughout the community. The number of lives that this organization touches keeps me committed to it, and I intend to remain so as long as I am able!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I have been a board member for almost 20 years, since my wife and I were honored by the Tidewater chapter. I have attended many workshops and youth activities over the years and personally spoken with young people who attended one of VCIC's training institutes. They always say that THE EXPERIENCE CHANGED THEIR LIVES. Since the organization became independent it's activities have expanded to include workplace seminars. VCIC strives to make this an" inclusive" world. The staff is dedicated to the concept of inclusion and is supported by a board that is equally committed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers