Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to Connections with an inner moral conflict. I knew that I would consider the experience something new with a positive mentality, but I was conflicted with the possibility that it might just be a social experience reminding me of my "lack of a better word" strangeness. Through simple activities and mind-opening workshops, my perspective on life changed. Connections will always be considered one of the happiest moments of my life, and I consider Connections in high regard. I love what they did for me and my happiness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

I had an opportunity to participate in a program created for people at my college. I had doubts that I would learn anything new about diversity, but I was very surprised. I bonded with people that I would have typically assumed I shared nothing in common with me. Years after participating, those people are my closest friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

VCIC is a valuable organization that is doing such important work related to respect and civility, particularly in an educational setting. The "Break the Cycle: Be the Change" program was very well-received by Sweet Briar students--it both promoted thinking and conversations and helped us to further develop programs and efforts to continue and deepen the conversation. We are in the process of exploring other program possibilities for student staff training and for faculty/staff development. Jonathan and Alison are also a delight to work with!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

When I went to project I was lost as what I was going for. When I got there the teachers were full of excitement and ready to create a bond with us. During the time I was there I learned many problems that we face in everyday life. Some that I didn't notice. I met new people and built relationships with them. We had fun but at the same time we learned. We grew not obly as friends but as a family of all different kinds of shapes,races,colors and personalities . No one felt left alone or left behind. There were moments where we laugh but also cried together. Learning others backgrounds about what they have been through was amazing. Some people you can't even tell what they've been through until they said it. We learned about sexuality ,faces,bullying,suicide & understanding. Project inclusion was a very helpful and wonderful learning experience. Made me look at life,people and things different. I loves it

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2012

more

July 21, 2012

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has served as an invaluable consultant in helping us as a school with our diversity and inclusion efforts around policy, admissions, faculty recruitment and retention, professional development, curriculum, and programs. In addition, for years our students have benefited from attending the Prejudice Awareness Summit and bringing back a plan to eliminate discrimination and to promote understanding of multiple perspectives.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

I went to VCIC's Connections summer camp and that experience has absolutely changed my life. I've made lifelong friends with all of the other kids and also the "camp counselors" which can't even be described with a title. VCIC helped to unwrap who I was hiding inside of my skin. I've had so much support even after I left at the end of the week. I will never forget all of the perfect memories, how much I cried of happiness every day, and how I was finally comfortable enough to say anything and everything about myself and my life. Everyone cared and everyone listened to each other. There is nothing else like what VCIC can offer. This is the best nonprofit organization out there.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

too many ways to express. I've gained so much confidence with who I am and have been able to express my feelings to others and help those that need it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

grant them more money to be able to expand and reach as many people as possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

through school. Past students had gone, but I had no idea that it would effect me this greatly.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

EVERYTHING. My life will never be the same again, which is a good thing. I'll always know that I can go back to anyone from that week, kid or adult, and know that I'll be supported.

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

In February, some of my classmates and I went to a retreat that the vcic hosted, and all of learned so much and are still applying it all in our daily lives!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

Our school system hired VCIC to teach the staff the importance of understanding others. The idea that echoed was "You don't know what you don't know." At first many of us were frustrated and said, "Just tell us what we need to know." As the VCIC continued their program, we realized that we can only find out what we don't know by being patient and communicating with others--faculty and students alike. The VCIC's program catapulted our countywide coalition for inclusive communities, which focuses on bridging the gap by making all students feel included. Our coalition facilitated religious tolerance education, an anti-bullying campaign, and a behavior modification program. The VCIC taught us to convey inclusiveness and tolerance in out-of-the-box, creative activities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has truly changed my view on life, it made me realize how society affects peoples' actions, ideas, and opinions on things. This is a great program not just for me, but for everyone because it made me more of an optimistic person and made me want to take a huge part in making the world a better place and destroying prejudice. This program brought together complete strangers, who days later became a huge family. I truly loved this program and shall continue to support it.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Project Inclusion, which is a three day program. I went during the summer and was introduced to it by people who previously participated in it and my counselors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it longer because I enjoyed it so much that I couldn't wait to learn more, and i didn't mind waking up early in the morning just to participate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Teachers and counselors recommended me, and students who previously participated also encouraged me to go.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

This group encouraged me to be optimistic at all times, try to influence people to think about what they say before they speak, and made me want to end all types of prejudice permanently.

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

Before I joined Project Inclusion I was blinded to the problems faced in the world. It was brought clear to me that these problems were so closely dealt with that the main setting was rite in my high school. It gave me great amount of information on problems like prejudice, bias, and the cycle that creates it. Being in Project Inclusion it made me aware of everyday problems that I can help prevent or stop at the core. Everyone in my community should be apart of Project Inclusion because it will bring a drastic change to the community and our schools. I am extremely blessed that I was apart of Project Inclusion and can truthfully say that it has changed me to become a better person.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers