Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2013

I am a Tidewater Board member and have served in this capacity for several years. This organization does wonderful programming all across the state of Virginia to promote inclusiveness, stamp out bul... more

June 26, 2014

Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities is a state wide organization providing programming around inclusiveness and tolerance for others. The programs vary in their content including anti-bullying targeted to school age children, inclusiveness and tolerance training for companies, leadership programming focused on the power of inclusiveness in groups, etc. I have personally spoken with many individuals who have participated in these various programs and many of them say they were so well facilitated and effective that they completely altered their perspective on life and those around them.
The staff of the organization is very professional and a pleasure to work with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Figure out a way to provide them additional funding so they can expand their programming to reach more citizens and children around the state of Virginia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2013

I am a Tidewater Board member and have served in this capacity for several years. This organization does wonderful programming all across the state of Virginia to promote inclusiveness, stamp out bullying and educate our school children and others in our communities on the great advantages gained by diversity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2013

I have been a board member for almost 20 years, since my wife and I were honored by the Tidewater chapter. I have attended many workshops and youth activities over the years and personally spoken with... more

June 24, 2014

Virginia Center for Inclusive communities provides valuable services to the entire range of citizens in Virginia. From youth programs which teach tolerance, understanding and fairness to antibullying to programs for adults in the workplace that combat racism ,gender bias and economic inequality.
This is all done with a very small and dedicated staff who performs at the highest level of. professionalism.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase their programming staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2013

I have been a board member for almost 20 years, since my wife and I were honored by the Tidewater chapter. I have attended many workshops and youth activities over the years and personally spoken with young people who attended one of VCIC's training institutes. They always say that THE EXPERIENCE CHANGED THEIR LIVES. Since the organization became independent it's activities have expanded to include workplace seminars. VCIC strives to make this an" inclusive" world. The staff is dedicated to the concept of inclusion and is supported by a board that is equally committed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2014

more

June 24, 2014

I've seen this organization's positive impact on young people time and time again. I've never seen another organization conduct programming that so successfully engages youth in conversations about difficult topics.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it more widely available across the Commonwealth of Virginia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 17, 2013

Changing just a few lives can make a difference in a community, and VCIC has been impacting hundreds at a time, and thousands over the years. It is my experience that VCIC is making a difference in a... more

June 23, 2014

I have had the opportuninty to speak with students who have been through VCIC programs and seen first hand the transformative nature of the experiences the organization delivers. Sitting with young people and hearing them talk with passion and an unexpected level of maturity gives you a feeling that they are going back to their schools to change attitudes and make a diffeerence. VCIC does much more, but meeting the young people who uave been to leadership programs renews my desire to help VCIC in its work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage the organization to share its message to a larger audience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2013

Changing just a few lives can make a difference in a community, and VCIC has been impacting hundreds at a time, and thousands over the years. It is my experience that VCIC is making a difference in a palpable way and I am proud to be a volunteer and help the organizations in its mission. I have watched VCIC grow steadily over the last few years, reaching more and more people, especially students and teachers. And I have heard from many folks who say the programs have changes their perspective about diversity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 16, 2012

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has demonstrated a committment to bringing people together and delivering educational opportunities to make our state a better place. The feedback I have received from students who have been through its programs has demonstrated life-changing experiences that make me feel like there is hope. The staff is talented and committed to the cause of promoting inclusion. I am proud to share the VCIC story and support the organization with my time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

This is a top-notch organization with an incredible understanding of inclusion. Personally, I am a different person because of my exposure to the VCIC's programming and employees. I celebrate individuality, and I no longer overlook differences - I embrace them. I've seen this program figuratively and literally change lives of the students who participate and I strongly believe that this is the way to change the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...If I had to make changes, I would want to see more of it. More funding, more staff, more scholarships for students to attend, just more. There is never enough of an organization like this.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 20, 2012

VCIC has played a significant role in my life and the lives of students across the state of Virginia. I first got involved in VCIC when I traveled with a group of students to a 5-day conference addre... more

June 23, 2014

I have been volunteering with the Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities for about 8 years and I will continue volunteering with this organization as long as I am able. I was introduced to the organization when the high school at which I teach participated in a 5-day program in order to learn about diversity and inclusion; I have kept coming back ever since. I have experienced personal growth as an educator and I have witnessed growth in students, other teachers, and my school community, because of programs that VCIC has conducted. Their programs are the perfect recipe of content learning and the sharing of personal experiences. The people in this organization are passionate about what they do are incredibly professional in their delivery of life-changing programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the number of people on the staff so that they could offer more programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 20, 2012

VCIC has played a significant role in my life and the lives of students across the state of Virginia. I first got involved in VCIC when I traveled with a group of students to a 5-day conference addressing issues of diversity. The conference used both large and small-group activities and discussion to help foster understanding on issues surrounding race, gender, religious bias, sexual orientation, ability status, and body image. After the conference was over, I observed positive changes in the students who participated; they gained understanding of the issues, became better communicators, and developed conflict management and leadership skills. The semester after students attended the conference, our school experienced some racial tension that had the potential to escalate into violence. In response, the key players in the dispute were invited to dialogue about the issues and several students who had attended VCIC mediated the conversation. A source of conflict in our school was addressed in a positive way, which diffused the conflict, and allowed for the parties involved to reach common ground. In addition, students initiated programs and events to promote the principles that they learned during the conference. As an educator, it is incredibly rewarding to witness these positive changes in students and it gives me a renewed hope for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 23, 2014

more

June 23, 2014

I have spoken with both E.C. Glass High School and Lynchburg College students who have been in VCIC-sponsored programs. All of them have told me what a difference the programming made in how they perceive people who are "different" from themselves. Without exception, they view their VCIC program experience life-changing.

VCIC has truly mad a difference in my community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes that I can think of. I take pride in their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2014

more

June 21, 2014

This organization changed my life in one of the most intense programs I have participated in. I learned so much through their work about the world around me and how to solve real problems. The lessons learned and the emotions I experienced were truly eye opening and ever-lasting. I made new relationships that will benefit me for years to come and I would participate in the program again and again given the opportunity. VCIC is a leader in educating people about the world and I encourage as many people as possible to participate in their programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the center to encompass more of the US as I am not a Virginia resident.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 21, 2014

more

June 21, 2014

Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities is all about people bringing their life experiences to teach, and humanize topics that are often hard to talk about. They create opportunities to dialogue about tough issues in a safe open place. Having had the opportunity to volunteer with many different organizations the way VCIC allows people to connect to one another is rare and highly impactful. I'm honored and always excited for opportunities to volunteer with VCIC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more offline spaces where people can connect monthly or even weekly to support each other in creating and strengthening our inclusive communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

I am so impressed with the leadership of this organization. I have witnessed their dedication and hard work. I am just so happy that a successful organization like this exists to improve the culture inside our schools while the school administrators focus on the academics.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers