Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

I am so impressed with the leadership of this organization. I have witnessed their dedication and hard work. I am just so happy that a successful organization like this exists to improve the culture inside our schools while the school administrators focus on the academics.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 16, 2012

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has demonstrated a committment to bringing people together and delivering educational opportunities to make our state a better place. The feedback I have... more

April 17, 2013

Changing just a few lives can make a difference in a community, and VCIC has been impacting hundreds at a time, and thousands over the years. It is my experience that VCIC is making a difference in a palpable way and I am proud to be a volunteer and help the organizations in its mission. I have watched VCIC grow steadily over the last few years, reaching more and more people, especially students and teachers. And I have heard from many folks who say the programs have changes their perspective about diversity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 16, 2012

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has demonstrated a committment to bringing people together and delivering educational opportunities to make our state a better place. The feedback I have received from students who have been through its programs has demonstrated life-changing experiences that make me feel like there is hope. The staff is talented and committed to the cause of promoting inclusion. I am proud to share the VCIC story and support the organization with my time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

VCIC is doing a wonderful job to help students understand and respect each other regardless of their ethnic or religious background. They teach leadership skills to them to deal with bullying. They also work with teachers and administrators to help them build curriculums and class rooms to not be discriminatory.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 15, 2012

VCIC does the important work of helping to create safe and inclusive environments throughout Virginia. I have the distinct pleasure of working with the Connections youth leadership program. The progra... more

April 16, 2013

VCIC executes very well thought out youth programs on a wide array of topics related to diversity and inclusion. Strongly recommend the Connections Insititute for high school students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

VCIC does the important work of helping to create safe and inclusive environments throughout Virginia. I have the distinct pleasure of working with the Connections youth leadership program. The program allows for young people to develop skills that will last a lifetime. Students who participate focus on topics related to racism, sexism, homophobia, body image and religious bias. Students take away critical skills in developing empathy and in serving as an ally to others. Students have expressed how the program has given them the opportunity to look at the world through a new lens. I believe strongly in the work of VCIC and travel from NJ to VA each year to serve alongside a dedicated staff committed to making Virginia a better, safer place for all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

The VCIC is such a wonderful organization with which to be affiliated. I participated in a program run by this organization under a previous name in 1996 and have been PROUDLY affiliated with them ever since. The day I was old enough to sign up to volunteer, I submitted my application. I have volunteered for numerous camps and workshops and it was an honor just to be a part of the events. More often than not, there was an immediate and visible change in the participants. And in all cases there have been eventual positive effects to their participation. It's hard to really put into words or to capture what this organization does because of the experiential nature of the work, but it's clear when you go back to the communities who have worked with VCIC that VCIC is doing great things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 15, 2012

VCIC has expanded it's services to the workplace, the educational community and the general public far beyond expectations. From a program that ran just a few sessions per year to now facilitating hu... more

April 8, 2013

Outstanding statewide inclusion work through the sessions held with Middle, High School and College youth. Very well regarded for their work throughout the state. I am pleased to be a part of such an outstanding organization who really makes a difference for all who participate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2012

VCIC has expanded it's services to the workplace, the educational community and the general public far beyond expectations. From a program that ran just a few sessions per year to now facilitating hundreds of training opportunities throughout the state the message of inclusiveness has been expanded to youth and adults alike. VCIC is front and center in educating the community including through 'Unpacking the Census' which shared the results of the 2010 census in historical and laymens terms. I am thrilled to be a part of such an outstanding organization which has been recognized throughout the community (2011 awardee of the Valentine Richmond History Makers Award.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 15, 2012

I have been volunteering with Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities (VCIC) for 3 years - the impact they have on the youth is so powerful! They have opened my eyes to the injustice in the world an... more

October 16, 2012

I have worked with VCIC for 4 years now doing workshops with my students. I have seen how my students have learned that they have been treating others in a prejudicial way - sometimes not even realizing it. VCIC has encouraged me to start a "Use Another Word" campaign at my high school where my club and I reduced the use of derogatory words and cursing. The work that VCIC does is so important to the world, they are fighting the battles that need to be fought and standing up for what is right. They truly are the "Being the change {I} wish to see in the world"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

I have been volunteering with Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities (VCIC) for 3 years - the impact they have on the youth is so powerful! They have opened my eyes to the injustice in the world and I continue to share that with my students. All of my students who have completed programs with VCIC have only positive feedback and want to make a change in the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

I have been associated with this non profit for the past 10 years. Having served in the capacity as local board chair and then state board chair, I have observed our growth from a NATIONAL organization to one of the strongest and most respected STATE organizations in Virginia. Now we handle our own finances and we have been able to exponentially increase the work that we do . We have parleyed the "best kept secret" to the "go-to" organization for programs about anti-bullying, racial inequality, and social justice, to name a few, while promoting optimistic messages through the population that we serve. In our last fiscal year we serviced 7,500 individuals. Organizations served include secondary school systems, universities, and businesses alike. Our number of programs has increased 370% since 2006. In our 77 year history, we have made a difference in our communities, developing leaders who work together statewide to achieve success through inclusion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2012

more

August 21, 2012

This is a terrific organization which is very well run and tackles very difficult issues in trying to teach mutual respect and compassion for all people- I feel very proud to be involved as a volunteer to try to help their causes-

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

My first experience with VCIC was in January of 2011 where I was a delegate in the Allies institute with Lynchburg College. I had an amazingly rewarding and eye-opening experience during my five days at the retreat and decided then that I did not want my time with VCIC to come to an end after those five days. I immediately asked to be placed on the volunteer list and started participating in facilitating shorter VCIC events and ultimately facilitating at Connections, the week long high school version of the retreat I participated in as a delegate. As a facilitator I experienced the effect of the retreat from a completely different perspective. One thing that Jonathan Zur and the staff at VCIC truly do well is ask for constant feedback and actually implement suggestions for improvement. Personally, I feel as though they are constantly growing and evolving into an organization that has a positive impact on making a difference in the lives of children, college students, faculty and staff at these schools, and the families and friends that receive the messages taken home from VCIC programs. VCIC has a wonderful set of programs and I look forward to continuing my volunteer time with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers