Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Write A Review
July 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter got the chance to participate in Project Inclusion, and I have to say that she has truly become more positive and she came back everyday with a big smile on her face. She was extremely excited to go and learn more. She told me that program changed her views on life and how she wants to make the world void of prejudice and i believe her.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has truly changed my view on life, it made me realize how society affects peoples' actions, ideas, and opinions on things. This is a great program not just for me, but for everyone because it made me more of an optimistic person and made me want to take a huge part in making the world a better place and destroying prejudice. This program brought together complete strangers, who days later became a huge family. I truly loved this program and shall continue to support it.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Project Inclusion, which is a three day program. I went during the summer and was introduced to it by people who previously participated in it and my counselors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it longer because I enjoyed it so much that I couldn't wait to learn more, and i didn't mind waking up early in the morning just to participate.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Teachers and counselors recommended me, and students who previously participated also encouraged me to go.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

This group encouraged me to be optimistic at all times, try to influence people to think about what they say before they speak, and made me want to end all types of prejudice permanently.

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

Before I joined Project Inclusion I was blinded to the problems faced in the world. It was brought clear to me that these problems were so closely dealt with that the main setting was rite in my high school. It gave me great amount of information on problems like prejudice, bias, and the cycle that creates it. Being in Project Inclusion it made me aware of everyday problems that I can help prevent or stop at the core. Everyone in my community should be apart of Project Inclusion because it will bring a drastic change to the community and our schools. I am extremely blessed that I was apart of Project Inclusion and can truthfully say that it has changed me to become a better person.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

I attended Allies Institute through my Lynchburg College, sponsored and run by VCIC. It was a completely life changing experience. I learned and experienced things I never would have thought of. This organization helps spread knowledge and awareness and they do an amazing job.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities hosted a camp last summer called Connections which brought high school students of all different races, backgrounds and cultures together to learn about each other. I met people from different parts of Virginia and had a chance to interact with each person individually to learn more about them and their life experiences. Going into this camp I expected to meet new people and learn a little about lifestyles that I did not understand, but when i came out of this week journey not only had I learned so much from my counselors but now have amazing friends that I probably would have never spoken to because of different beliefs. I was able to bring everything I learned back to my school and keep in touch with the people who changed my life. I see myself as a better person who met people who saw more to me than what people usually see and I learned how to see others in that same way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

VCIC helps people from all across Virginia to understand more about how prejudice affects our daily lives, not only in history but in the present. Through engaging, interactive programs and discussions youth and adults are able to explore their own biases and the presence of different forms of injustice in the world around us. VCIC works with schools, workplaces, and community groups to spread their message. More recently, VCIC has partnered with school districts from Newport News and Richmond to address some of the issues surrounding the achievement gap in in schools. Specifically, educators discuss how issues of race and socioeconomic class play into the success of their students and explore ways to address the factors that cause differences in achievement. VCIC is truly a needed and valuable resource in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

Its a program to help dismiss all forms of prejudice within yourself and others around you.It is lifechanging and eye-opening i recomend it to everyone of all ages and it is very relevant and i believe it will stay relevant for a long time to come.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

VCIC provides amazing services to the community. I volunteer with the high school age Connections Institute and the programming given is extremely important, relevant, and powerful. I am proud to be a part of the experience for the students and am always touched to see them grow in their acceptance and understanding of diverse groups of people, religions, cultures, and communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

I've had the privilege of working with the Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities for the past several years and have been nothing but impressed by their services and deep dedication to progressive social change. As a professional in the field of global studies and diversity education, I have been witness to extraordinary growth and awareness development in my students, colleagues and administrators as a result of workshops and facilitation services offered by Jonathan Zur and his team. In my own work, I have found VCIC to be an invaluable resource, providing a complete toolkit for multicultural education - professional development training, curricular development, consultation services, print/media/internet resources, event notices and invitations, etc. Margaret Mead's quote about a "small group of thoughtful, committed people" making change in this world is embodied by the VCIC. I cannot recommend them highly enough and encourage anyone in need of support in the area of social justice and diversity education to contact them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

VCIC is a great nonprofit organization. As a teacher from Newport News I try and help with this organization whenever I can. My students that attend leave with a new outlook on life and greater respect for others and themselves. I know I have also left as an adult with a greater appreciation of everyone around me and my personal struggles. This organization is what every great nonprofit should be modeled after. Organization, training, planning, etc for the time I was helping them was superb! I can't wait for my next opportunity to help VCIC!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers