Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 3 4 5 |
Write A Review
July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

I went to VCIC's Connections summer camp and that experience has absolutely changed my life. I've made lifelong friends with all of the other kids and also the "camp counselors" which can't even be described with a title. VCIC helped to unwrap who I was hiding inside of my skin. I've had so much support even after I left at the end of the week. I will never forget all of the perfect memories, how much I cried of happiness every day, and how I was finally comfortable enough to say anything and everything about myself and my life. Everyone cared and everyone listened to each other. There is nothing else like what VCIC can offer. This is the best nonprofit organization out there.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

too many ways to express. I've gained so much confidence with who I am and have been able to express my feelings to others and help those that need it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

grant them more money to be able to expand and reach as many people as possible.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

through school. Past students had gone, but I had no idea that it would effect me this greatly.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

EVERYTHING. My life will never be the same again, which is a good thing. I'll always know that I can go back to anyone from that week, kid or adult, and know that I'll be supported.

July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

VCIC has played a significant role in my life and the lives of students across the state of Virginia. I first got involved in VCIC when I traveled with a group of students to a 5-day conference addressing issues of diversity. The conference used both large and small-group activities and discussion to help foster understanding on issues surrounding race, gender, religious bias, sexual orientation, ability status, and body image. After the conference was over, I observed positive changes in the students who participated; they gained understanding of the issues, became better communicators, and developed conflict management and leadership skills. The semester after students attended the conference, our school experienced some racial tension that had the potential to escalate into violence. In response, the key players in the dispute were invited to dialogue about the issues and several students who had attended VCIC mediated the conversation. A source of conflict in our school was addressed in a positive way, which diffused the conflict, and allowed for the parties involved to reach common ground. In addition, students initiated programs and events to promote the principles that they learned during the conference. As an educator, it is incredibly rewarding to witness these positive changes in students and it gives me a renewed hope for the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

I started with VCIC as an undergraduate participating in one of their programs. The organization combined many of my passions and I've been hooked ever since. I have fallen in love with the types of transformation that occur in individuals who participate in these programs. I can't help but come back to see more light bulbs come on inside people's heads. I truly think that VCIC's work is making our community and world a better place by teaching generations of individuals to respect and love the differences in each other.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

In February, some of my classmates and I went to a retreat that the vcic hosted, and all of learned so much and are still applying it all in our daily lives!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

VCIC specializes in substantive, thoughtful and transformative diversity and inclusivity training, programming and events. Their offerings include a consistent focus on measurable outcomes, whether that is marked changes in perceptions and attitudes in participants who are impacted by dialogue and engagement across lines of human difference or in measuring the indicators of progress in educational equity that result from professional development initiatives with K-12 teachers and dialogue and encounter sessions with students. Clients looking for diversity and inclusivity programming simply won't find a more intelligent, thoughtful, creative and dedicated staff than VCIC offers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

Our school system hired VCIC to teach the staff the importance of understanding others. The idea that echoed was "You don't know what you don't know." At first many of us were frustrated and said, "Just tell us what we need to know." As the VCIC continued their program, we realized that we can only find out what we don't know by being patient and communicating with others--faculty and students alike. The VCIC's program catapulted our countywide coalition for inclusive communities, which focuses on bridging the gap by making all students feel included. Our coalition facilitated religious tolerance education, an anti-bullying campaign, and a behavior modification program. The VCIC taught us to convey inclusiveness and tolerance in out-of-the-box, creative activities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 17, 2012

more

July 17, 2012

I have volunteered with the VIrginia Center for Inclusive Communities in multiple capacities for 12 years. I served on one of their local boards until my career and family committments interfered with my ability to be an active and committed member. Participating in Connections and Project Inclusion are life changing events for the adult volunteer like myself as well as the students. People ask me why do I continue to volunteer and even go to multiple programs in one year, and I say that each program is it's own unique experience and everytime we are finished I am confident that we are sending out new agents of change and social justice that will make an impact in their world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

I have been involved with VCIC (formerly NCCJ) for close to 40 years as a program participant, partner agency. volunteer & now board member. Under the leadership of Jonathan Zur, & the staff & volunteers with whom he works, the organization has been able to respond to the needs of the community. VCIC works with the organizations to help assess & identify their difficult issues around inclusiveness & then creates programming to help address these issues. The willingness & ability to adapt programming to fit the changing needs of the agencies, schools, businesses & community at large is what makes VCIC excel in making a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

VCIC has excelled in programmatic excellent over the years. Due to the passionate leadership of Jonathan Zur we have had a positive impact on youth, teachers, professors, and business people. Our program presentations, camps, and trainings are considered useful and dynamic. As we continue our quest for social justice and equality, our scope has grown to include anti bullying in schools as well as promoting religious understanding, racial inclusion, and a true humanitarian approach to daily living.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

In January 2012, the Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities launched a major campaign to inform citizens of Central Virginia about the latest trends in poverty, the history that led to concentrated poverty, and the public policy interventions needed to address poverty. I provided all of the data, historical context, and policy recommendations. The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities, however, developed a DVD with this information and then helped to train forty facilitators to lead discussions about the information. Thanks to their excellent work, over sixty organizations including faith communities, civic organizations, public agencies, and business associations have seen the DVD and been engaged in conversations about poverty and what metropolitan Richmond must do to address this crisis. The Virginia Center is an exemplary organization with superb leadership and a record of outstanding work in the field of social justice. (John V. Moeser, Senior Fellow, Bonner Center for Civic Engagement, University of Richmond)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers