Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

The VCIC is such a wonderful organization with which to be affiliated. I participated in a program run by this organization under a previous name in 1996 and have been PROUDLY affiliated with them ever since. The day I was old enough to sign up to volunteer, I submitted my application. I have volunteered for numerous camps and workshops and it was an honor just to be a part of the events. More often than not, there was an immediate and visible change in the participants. And in all cases there have been eventual positive effects to their participation. It's hard to really put into words or to capture what this organization does because of the experiential nature of the work, but it's clear when you go back to the communities who have worked with VCIC that VCIC is doing great things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

When I went to project I was lost as what I was going for. When I got there the teachers were full of excitement and ready to create a bond with us. During the time I was there I learned many problems that we face in everyday life. Some that I didn't notice. I met new people and built relationships with them. We had fun but at the same time we learned. We grew not obly as friends but as a family of all different kinds of shapes,races,colors and personalities . No one felt left alone or left behind. There were moments where we laugh but also cried together. Learning others backgrounds about what they have been through was amazing. Some people you can't even tell what they've been through until they said it. We learned about sexuality ,faces,bullying,suicide & understanding. Project inclusion was a very helpful and wonderful learning experience. Made me look at life,people and things different. I loves it

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 15, 2012

VCIC has expanded it's services to the workplace, the educational community and the general public far beyond expectations. From a program that ran just a few sessions per year to now facilitating hu... more

April 8, 2013

Outstanding statewide inclusion work through the sessions held with Middle, High School and College youth. Very well regarded for their work throughout the state. I am pleased to be a part of such an outstanding organization who really makes a difference for all who participate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2012

VCIC has expanded it's services to the workplace, the educational community and the general public far beyond expectations. From a program that ran just a few sessions per year to now facilitating hundreds of training opportunities throughout the state the message of inclusiveness has been expanded to youth and adults alike. VCIC is front and center in educating the community including through 'Unpacking the Census' which shared the results of the 2010 census in historical and laymens terms. I am thrilled to be a part of such an outstanding organization which has been recognized throughout the community (2011 awardee of the Valentine Richmond History Makers Award.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 15, 2012

I have been volunteering with Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities (VCIC) for 3 years - the impact they have on the youth is so powerful! They have opened my eyes to the injustice in the world an... more

October 16, 2012

I have worked with VCIC for 4 years now doing workshops with my students. I have seen how my students have learned that they have been treating others in a prejudicial way - sometimes not even realizing it. VCIC has encouraged me to start a "Use Another Word" campaign at my high school where my club and I reduced the use of derogatory words and cursing. The work that VCIC does is so important to the world, they are fighting the battles that need to be fought and standing up for what is right. They truly are the "Being the change {I} wish to see in the world"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

I have been volunteering with Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities (VCIC) for 3 years - the impact they have on the youth is so powerful! They have opened my eyes to the injustice in the world and I continue to share that with my students. All of my students who have completed programs with VCIC have only positive feedback and want to make a change in the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

The Virginia center for inclusive communities made a tremendous difference in my daughter's life! I can not begin to say thank you! They DO matter!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2012

more

September 4, 2012

I have been associated with this non profit for the past 10 years. Having served in the capacity as local board chair and then state board chair, I have observed our growth from a NATIONAL organization to one of the strongest and most respected STATE organizations in Virginia. Now we handle our own finances and we have been able to exponentially increase the work that we do . We have parleyed the "best kept secret" to the "go-to" organization for programs about anti-bullying, racial inequality, and social justice, to name a few, while promoting optimistic messages through the population that we serve. In our last fiscal year we serviced 7,500 individuals. Organizations served include secondary school systems, universities, and businesses alike. Our number of programs has increased 370% since 2006. In our 77 year history, we have made a difference in our communities, developing leaders who work together statewide to achieve success through inclusion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2012

more

August 21, 2012

This is a terrific organization which is very well run and tackles very difficult issues in trying to teach mutual respect and compassion for all people- I feel very proud to be involved as a volunteer to try to help their causes-

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

At a progeam called Connections that is run by VCIC. I felt like I was always safe and a sence of comunity. I made a lot of friends that will last a life time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 6, 2012

more

August 6, 2012

My first experience with VCIC was in January of 2011 where I was a delegate in the Allies institute with Lynchburg College. I had an amazingly rewarding and eye-opening experience during my five days at the retreat and decided then that I did not want my time with VCIC to come to an end after those five days. I immediately asked to be placed on the volunteer list and started participating in facilitating shorter VCIC events and ultimately facilitating at Connections, the week long high school version of the retreat I participated in as a delegate. As a facilitator I experienced the effect of the retreat from a completely different perspective. One thing that Jonathan Zur and the staff at VCIC truly do well is ask for constant feedback and actually implement suggestions for improvement. Personally, I feel as though they are constantly growing and evolving into an organization that has a positive impact on making a difference in the lives of children, college students, faculty and staff at these schools, and the families and friends that receive the messages taken home from VCIC programs. VCIC has a wonderful set of programs and I look forward to continuing my volunteer time with them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2012

more

August 1, 2012

When the purpose of an organization is to change the way people think about themselves and their community, expressing the benefits of the organization to others is challenging. When you experience the benefits first hand or vacariously through others, then expressing the benefits is a passion. The Virgnia Center for Inclusive Communities has such a purpose and the impact in our community is life changing. Through the VCIC, children and adults discover how to create an environment in which every person has the opportunity to achieve their passions and maximaize their potential as a part of the community. Throughout the year the VCIC facilitates hundreds of programs in Virginia , addressing issues such as bullying, predjudice and violence by building great citizens who in turn become passionate about building their communities. The VCIC is unique, effective, life changing and community changing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers