Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

VCIC is the pre-eminent organization addressing issues of inclusiveness in our region. The Executive Director and his team are extremely effective in making the most of limited resources. I frankly am amazed they can accomplish as much as they do, all while maintaining the highest level of quality and acountability in the programming. VCIC addresses a very important set of issues and is a very valuable asset to our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities is run by an incredibly professional and caring staff. Through its numerous programs and commitment to inclusivenes it inspires and touhes our youth in such positive and life changing ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013

more

April 21, 2013

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has incredible professional leadership and effciently applies resources with great community impact. Participants routinely emerge from VCIC programs with life changing experiences and an eagerness to positively change their communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to Connections with an inner moral conflict. I knew that I would consider the experience something new with a positive mentality, but I was conflicted with the possibility that it might just be a social experience reminding me of my "lack of a better word" strangeness. Through simple activities and mind-opening workshops, my perspective on life changed. Connections will always be considered one of the happiest moments of my life, and I consider Connections in high regard. I love what they did for me and my happiness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

VCIC is doing a wonderful job to help students understand and respect each other regardless of their ethnic or religious background. They teach leadership skills to them to deal with bullying. They also work with teachers and administrators to help them build curriculums and class rooms to not be discriminatory.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

I had an opportunity to participate in a program created for people at my college. I had doubts that I would learn anything new about diversity, but I was very surprised. I bonded with people that I would have typically assumed I shared nothing in common with me. Years after participating, those people are my closest friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 17, 2012

I joined the board of The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities (VCIC) because the mission of the organization resonated with my own beliefs to address prejudice, encourage leadership skills, work... more

April 16, 2013

I have been a board member of the Tidewater chapter for a number of years and have a great appreciation for the important work that is done to address the issues of race relations, inclusion and diversity. The dramatic increase in programming throughout the state and the excellent leadership of the CEO have raised the awareness of the organization and its mission. The staff is open to initiatives from the board and encourages collaboration to implement new ideas.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2012

I joined the board of The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities (VCIC) because the mission of the organization resonated with my own beliefs to address prejudice, encourage leadership skills, work on issues related to inclusion and race relations as well as bullying, an increasing problem for our youth. I have heard testimony from prior participants that relayed experiences while attending programs and how it changed their view of the world as adults. I believe that the mission of the organization is more important than ever to foster positive interactions with people of all races, religions and creeds and we need to find ways and funding to expose more individuals to these positive programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

The mission of this organization is to promote understanding and respect on ALL issues of diversity, for ALL age groups, ALL across Virginia- To not only notice differences, but also to respect variety in race, religion and culture. It does a fabulous job of implementing these programs and making them effective-

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I began serving on the Board of VCIC roughly 12 years ago as a non paid volunteer. I devote a lot of time and other resources to this organization, and would not do so if I didn't believe in it. VCIC has improved drastically in the years that I have been a part of it, and I would attribute this to three things: 1. the leadership of our CEO and the staff 2. the diverse and dynamic group of people we have on our board 3. the mission and nature of the work that VCIC is involved in throughout the community. The number of lives that this organization touches keeps me committed to it, and I intend to remain so as long as I am able!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

VCIC is a valuable organization that is doing such important work related to respect and civility, particularly in an educational setting. The "Break the Cycle: Be the Change" program was very well-received by Sweet Briar students--it both promoted thinking and conversations and helped us to further develop programs and efforts to continue and deepen the conversation. We are in the process of exploring other program possibilities for student staff training and for faculty/staff development. Jonathan and Alison are also a delight to work with!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers