Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

I had an opportunity to participate in a program created for people at my college. I had doubts that I would learn anything new about diversity, but I was very surprised. I bonded with people that I would have typically assumed I shared nothing in common with me. Years after participating, those people are my closest friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 17, 2012

I joined the board of The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities (VCIC) because the mission of the organization resonated with my own beliefs to address prejudice, encourage leadership skills, work... more

April 16, 2013

I have been a board member of the Tidewater chapter for a number of years and have a great appreciation for the important work that is done to address the issues of race relations, inclusion and diversity. The dramatic increase in programming throughout the state and the excellent leadership of the CEO have raised the awareness of the organization and its mission. The staff is open to initiatives from the board and encourages collaboration to implement new ideas.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2012

I joined the board of The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities (VCIC) because the mission of the organization resonated with my own beliefs to address prejudice, encourage leadership skills, work on issues related to inclusion and race relations as well as bullying, an increasing problem for our youth. I have heard testimony from prior participants that relayed experiences while attending programs and how it changed their view of the world as adults. I believe that the mission of the organization is more important than ever to foster positive interactions with people of all races, religions and creeds and we need to find ways and funding to expose more individuals to these positive programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

The mission of this organization is to promote understanding and respect on ALL issues of diversity, for ALL age groups, ALL across Virginia- To not only notice differences, but also to respect variety in race, religion and culture. It does a fabulous job of implementing these programs and making them effective-

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

In February 2013 I had the opportunity, as a board member, to sit in on a training session for local college students run by the VCIC. This was a three-day retreat; I attended one morning. I was struck by the professionalism of the staff and by the collaborative approach that this organization encourages to address a major social problem--discrimination. Even though I have heard about this organization for years, I was invited to join the board only last year and this was the first time I had seen it in operation. To say that I was impressed would be a gross understatement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I began serving on the Board of VCIC roughly 12 years ago as a non paid volunteer. I devote a lot of time and other resources to this organization, and would not do so if I didn't believe in it. VCIC has improved drastically in the years that I have been a part of it, and I would attribute this to three things: 1. the leadership of our CEO and the staff 2. the diverse and dynamic group of people we have on our board 3. the mission and nature of the work that VCIC is involved in throughout the community. The number of lives that this organization touches keeps me committed to it, and I intend to remain so as long as I am able!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

VCIC is a valuable organization that is doing such important work related to respect and civility, particularly in an educational setting. The "Break the Cycle: Be the Change" program was very well-received by Sweet Briar students--it both promoted thinking and conversations and helped us to further develop programs and efforts to continue and deepen the conversation. We are in the process of exploring other program possibilities for student staff training and for faculty/staff development. Jonathan and Alison are also a delight to work with!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

The VCIC is such a wonderful organization with which to be affiliated. I participated in a program run by this organization under a previous name in 1996 and have been PROUDLY affiliated with them ever since. The day I was old enough to sign up to volunteer, I submitted my application. I have volunteered for numerous camps and workshops and it was an honor just to be a part of the events. More often than not, there was an immediate and visible change in the participants. And in all cases there have been eventual positive effects to their participation. It's hard to really put into words or to capture what this organization does because of the experiential nature of the work, but it's clear when you go back to the communities who have worked with VCIC that VCIC is doing great things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I have been a board member for almost 20 years, since my wife and I were honored by the Tidewater chapter. I have attended many workshops and youth activities over the years and personally spoken with young people who attended one of VCIC's training institutes. They always say that THE EXPERIENCE CHANGED THEIR LIVES. Since the organization became independent it's activities have expanded to include workplace seminars. VCIC strives to make this an" inclusive" world. The staff is dedicated to the concept of inclusion and is supported by a board that is equally committed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

I am a Tidewater Board member and have served in this capacity for several years. This organization does wonderful programming all across the state of Virginia to promote inclusiveness, stamp out bullying and educate our school children and others in our communities on the great advantages gained by diversity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

When I went to project I was lost as what I was going for. When I got there the teachers were full of excitement and ready to create a bond with us. During the time I was there I learned many problems that we face in everyday life. Some that I didn't notice. I met new people and built relationships with them. We had fun but at the same time we learned. We grew not obly as friends but as a family of all different kinds of shapes,races,colors and personalities . No one felt left alone or left behind. There were moments where we laugh but also cried together. Learning others backgrounds about what they have been through was amazing. Some people you can't even tell what they've been through until they said it. We learned about sexuality ,faces,bullying,suicide & understanding. Project inclusion was a very helpful and wonderful learning experience. Made me look at life,people and things different. I loves it

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers