Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 20, 2012

I became aware of the VCIC by accident, but it has become a major part of my life. As well as being a board member, I volunteer to help facilitate programs several times a year. The only thing that ... more

September 19, 2013

The VCIC is a unique organization in that we work to bring about real change and not just grab headlines for our glory. Although we do address issues taking place in our communities, our focus is on reaching the people involved and helping them understand the underlying problems through dialog and discussion and then develop realistic solutions to those problems.

We are blessed to have a staff that is passionate about the mission and routinely goes above and beyond to meet the needs of the communities that we serve.

Although I serve on the board, I also volunteer as a staff member and facilitator for many of the VCIC programs during the year. It gives me an up-close view of what we’re providing and how our services are being received. I know of no other organization and programs that have this type of significant, life-changing affect on people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes, unless it was to expand the organization's reach accross the state.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2012

I became aware of the VCIC by accident, but it has become a major part of my life. As well as being a board member, I volunteer to help facilitate programs several times a year. The only thing that limits my volunteer opportunities is the amount of vacation I get from my company. I believe in the mission of the VCIC and the methods that they utilize to achieve them. It is the most effective programming that I have ever encountered to improve inclusivity and acceptance in a community. As a father, I made sure all three of my children attended our showcase program, Connections, when they were old enough. I actually scaled back my involvement in other non-profits to maximize the time I had for the VCIC.
I think an example of the organization and its impact is when my youngest daughter met a young lady and former delegate of our college level program called, Allies Institute. After talking a while and getting to know each other the former delegate realized that she was my daughter. She looked at my daughter and exclaimed, “Do you know that your father changes lives?” I was touched to hear this, but I realize that I don’t change lives, the VCIC and its programs are the real agents of change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

I am so impressed with the leadership of this organization. I have witnessed their dedication and hard work. I am just so happy that a successful organization like this exists to improve the culture inside our schools while the school administrators focus on the academics.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

It was a great gift to see the impact that VCIC's Project Inclusion had on our older daughter when she participated in the program through Lynchburg City Schools. Her experience empowered her to become more involved in student groups working for greater tolerance and inclusivity within the school and community. Now studying abroad, she carries with her the increased awareness and sensitivity that such excellent VCIC programs offer to participants. The good work that VCIC does here in the Commonwealth can make our world a better place for all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

VCIC is the pre-eminent organization addressing issues of inclusiveness in our region. The Executive Director and his team are extremely effective in making the most of limited resources. I frankly am amazed they can accomplish as much as they do, all while maintaining the highest level of quality and acountability in the programming. VCIC addresses a very important set of issues and is a very valuable asset to our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 25, 2013

more

April 25, 2013

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities is run by an incredibly professional and caring staff. Through its numerous programs and commitment to inclusivenes it inspires and touhes our youth in such positive and life changing ways.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013

more

April 21, 2013

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has incredible professional leadership and effciently applies resources with great community impact. Participants routinely emerge from VCIC programs with life changing experiences and an eagerness to positively change their communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 16, 2012

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has demonstrated a committment to bringing people together and delivering educational opportunities to make our state a better place. The feedback I have... more

April 17, 2013

Changing just a few lives can make a difference in a community, and VCIC has been impacting hundreds at a time, and thousands over the years. It is my experience that VCIC is making a difference in a palpable way and I am proud to be a volunteer and help the organizations in its mission. I have watched VCIC grow steadily over the last few years, reaching more and more people, especially students and teachers. And I have heard from many folks who say the programs have changes their perspective about diversity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

July 16, 2012

The Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities has demonstrated a committment to bringing people together and delivering educational opportunities to make our state a better place. The feedback I have received from students who have been through its programs has demonstrated life-changing experiences that make me feel like there is hope. The staff is talented and committed to the cause of promoting inclusion. I am proud to share the VCIC story and support the organization with my time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to Connections with an inner moral conflict. I knew that I would consider the experience something new with a positive mentality, but I was conflicted with the possibility that it might just be a social experience reminding me of my "lack of a better word" strangeness. Through simple activities and mind-opening workshops, my perspective on life changed. Connections will always be considered one of the happiest moments of my life, and I consider Connections in high regard. I love what they did for me and my happiness.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

VCIC is doing a wonderful job to help students understand and respect each other regardless of their ethnic or religious background. They teach leadership skills to them to deal with bullying. They also work with teachers and administrators to help them build curriculums and class rooms to not be discriminatory.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 15, 2012

VCIC does the important work of helping to create safe and inclusive environments throughout Virginia. I have the distinct pleasure of working with the Connections youth leadership program. The progra... more

April 16, 2013

VCIC executes very well thought out youth programs on a wide array of topics related to diversity and inclusion. Strongly recommend the Connections Insititute for high school students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

VCIC does the important work of helping to create safe and inclusive environments throughout Virginia. I have the distinct pleasure of working with the Connections youth leadership program. The program allows for young people to develop skills that will last a lifetime. Students who participate focus on topics related to racism, sexism, homophobia, body image and religious bias. Students take away critical skills in developing empathy and in serving as an ally to others. Students have expressed how the program has given them the opportunity to look at the world through a new lens. I believe strongly in the work of VCIC and travel from NJ to VA each year to serve alongside a dedicated staff committed to making Virginia a better, safer place for all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers