Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 12, 2014

I attended a class sponsored by Vintage entitled " Chronic Illness how to Cope" which is now called "Better Choices, Better Health". The class was hosted by Hosanna House in Wilkinsburg. I was on a Furlough from my job so I was able to attend. I have been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia, there are days when it is very difficult to cope with the pain sometimes as well as the depression that I feel from time to time. The class offered so much information to help me with my illness, in addition to the Facilitators who were friendly and caring. I met some wonderful people at my class also..it was such a blessing. I was so impressed, that I signed up and completed the training to facilitate a class. I am so excited that now I can give back by sharing the information and tools that I received in order to help someone else to cope with their illness or a loved one who may be ill. If you get the opportunity, take the class. It is a blessing!
Marcia

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more classes more often.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2014

I have been a member of Vintage for years. My introuction, was an invitation to the Line Dance Class. The line dance class is an excellent resource of the mind and body, you have fellowship an movement. I then got involved in the various teaching/instruction/fun classes that were offered.

I am a Peer Leader for the Better Choices, Better Health Program. I took the class first for my on benefit, then later became a Peer Leader. The oppurtunity to offer positive, supportive information to people that attend the classes, is beyond rewarding.

Master Trainers Ann Truxell, Tom Sturgill and Teri Bridgett are excellent, supportive leaders for the Better Choices, Better Health Progam.

Tom Sturgill who heads the activities program is a diligent, supportative, kind and considerate" WORK Horse", said with love and appreciation, for all that he does for the seniors of Vintage. In 2013,Tom introduced his vision of a Healthy Soul Food Class Series, it was so well received that a request for a second one was requested. Tom, heard the call and the 2014 Healthy Soul Food Class Series is scheduled for June. Tom is an exemplary vision of SERVICE.

Vintage offers a variety of worthwhile programs, Book Club, Quilting, Painting, Line Dancing, Field/Shopping Trips, Theater Planning Committee for the Arts, Yearly Older American Month Picnic, Free Tax help for Seniors, Bible Studies, various Craft Classes opportunities to develope yourself/others such as Better choices, Better Health, Health Fairs, supports the Highmark Walk, Vintage Rummage Sale, Crocheting/Knitting Class, Information & Referral Services, fully loaded Workout Center/w Fitness Trainer, come see, come join and get involved.

The entire staff of Vintage, from the time the doors open until they close, are focused on servicing the people and the community. You don't have room for the number of stars I would highlight for Vintage.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Intensify promotional opportunities within the surrounding community (churches, businesses, schools, and hospitals to highlight all the fantastic programs, services, people/personnel that Vintage has to offer. Example: some student may have an ederly parent/grandpartent at home that could benefit from the Centers services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 11, 2014

I was asked to write a review. It really wasn’t necessary as I was ready to write one anyway. Since I first volunteered to assist in these endeavors, I was extremely impressed by the people already doing the training. Any question or clarification was answered immediately. They were so knowledgeable about the subjects that it seemed they help write the book. Since day one their understanding of how the classes should be set-up, how the apparatus should be deployed about the class area and what should be ready to be handed out. Everyone was kind and understanding of what the new people were having trouble with.
It was a learning process that needed to be done. I, personally, knew “Golden-Agers” who benefited greatly from this program. There were many that I met in classes that were so thankful to learn to live a better life due to the information they gained.
Ann Truxell, Tom Sturgill, and Teri Bridgett were extremely helpful in the processes of becoming a leader. The East Liberty “Vintage” was always in tip-top condition and the folks were friendly beyond necessary. It was always a pleasure to visit there. I want to thank all of them for their kindness and assistance.
~John “Jack-in-the_Hat” Cooley

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would go out of my head trying to think up an alteration.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2012

I have been associated with Vintage as both a student and peer leader for the Better Choices, Better Health for the past fuur years. I have been treated with the most respect and treated in a most professional manner. All the staff, from the receptionist on coming into Vintage (or answering my phone call, to Terri Brigett, Tom sturgill and Ann Truxell all are most helpful and really go out of their way to provide information that is needed and answers to my questions. Also, Ann,Terri, and Tom are fabulously excellent Better Choices, Better Health Master Teachers and Trainers. Also, last year, while taking a course in Public Health at the University of Pittsburgh, I had a wonderful opportunity for a day of learning at Vintage. I was able to interact with staff and to observe in the Day Care Center. It was a great learning experience. I will always remember and cherish the kindness and excellent training that I received from the entire staff. Thank you. Filomena Varvaro

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2011

more

September 28, 2011

I am proud to be associated with an organziaion that delivers 5-star care and attention to the most frail members of our community.

Every client that walks through this building could be your mother, father or other loved one, and I take great comfort in the knowledge they are in the care
of an extremely caring and passionate staff.

Vintage's senior center allows older adults to maintain their independence and pursue the limits of their own personal growth.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 26, 2011

more

September 26, 2011

I am proud to be a second generation member of Vintage. We don't sit around twiddling our thumbs at Vintage, there is always something to do.We have various exercise programs,speakers who enlighten us on many subjects,quilting and other crafts. The line dancing is quite popular and is a good place to make friends. In addition there are those who like bingo and card playing. The staff is great and very friendly.

The Adult Day Care Program is a god send for those caring for elderly relatives.

I am a senior citizen and I am still quite active. Vintage keeps me on the move.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am a member of Vintage

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more afternoon programs

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers