Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.25
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My daughters and I visited Villalobos in NOLA to drop off some donations. We were greeted immediately, signed in and given a tour by both volunteers and staff. Everyone was incredible friendly and open. I was amazed and impressed with the cleanliness and organization of the kennels and facility. In the middle of summer with 100= dogs there was not one dirty kennel or dog and not a SINGLE dog smell. Each dog area was immaculate.

PLEASE consider making a donation!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find funding for air conditioning.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013

more

March 5, 2013

I have recently had reason to interact with this organization. I had become a fan through watching their series, "Pitbulls and Parolees" so after watching for awhile I ordered some merchandise; specifically some sunglasses. Although there was a slight glitch in getting them, I did get them and all was made right about the mix up. I have my sunglasses now which I enjoy wearing when I take my dog outside. They fit very well and block out our high altitude sun quite nicely.

I am now on good terms with this organization. So much so that recently when they had an influx of puppies and had other unforeseen circumstances a plea for help went out to the general public. I answered this call by purchasing and having shipped to their facility in New Orleans, LA a few items on their wish list.

Although I traced the shipments step-by-step from my end, it turned out that it was unnecessary because Becky contacted me via email the moment the articles arrived.

So I thank you, Becky, for the updates.

Mariah, a big thanks to you for making things right about my sunglasses.

Tia keep up the good work.

Greetings to all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 4, 2011

more

April 4, 2011

I've been involved as a volunteer for over five years and feel I know this group and their achievements very well. Their mission is pit bulls, a breed that is in the greatest need of human compassion and rescue. No breed is treated worse and has less voices speaking up about it, and thank dog for Villalobos Rescue and other groups who do not give up even when they can't save them all, they save the ones they can. VRC is not just about taking dogs in, they have a comprehensive adoption program, screen adopters carefully and match them with dogs that fit their lifestyle. Adopted dogs are given support and resources for their lifetime, if the adopters can't keep them then VRC always takes the dogs back.

VRC is also about changing the stars for the people who care for these dogs, another "disposable" group in society, the parolees. These guys are able to get their second chance at VRC and work with the dogs where they are judged only on their work, not the color of their skin or the number of tattooes they might have. The parolees learn compassion and love as they build strong relationships with the dogs and each other, it's just sad there are not more programs available because the need is huge.

I don't volunteer my time without knowing it is making a difference and Villalobos Rescue Center makes a difference, every single day, and even when they can't save every dog it certainly matters to the dogs that do enter their doors.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, a special little pit bull who had survived not only a hurricane but then being sent to a hoarder and needed rescue again. Tia Torres took him in and gave him the first safe harbor he had since Katrina. I've seen it firsthand the passion she has for the dogs and the guys who care for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to clone their director so there would be someone who could handle all the paperwork without taking away from the animals. Give them more money to reach more dogs and hire more parolees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've learned fundraising techniques; social media marketing and of course, alot about the dogs.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 3, 2011

more

April 3, 2011

This nonprofit is a wonderful group of dedicated people who go beyond the call of duty to help dogs and sometimes even cats. They live and breathe for these animals. The breed they choose to help is a breed that is terribly misunderstood. They also help rehabilitate parolees which is also a group of people who are terribly misunderstood.

This group has always had an "A" on their kennel inspections. They have had a valid kennel license in Los Angeles County for 17 YEARS.

The are the gold standard when it comes to helping animals and the care they provide.

In California, they are one of ONLY two groups who rehabilitate people who have been in prison. There may be new groups who help, but to my knowledge, they are few and far between. This is despite getting NO government funding to run their programs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They know when they can't help anymore dogs and that's the hardest part of dealing in this breed; there are SO many dogs who need help and are going to die.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 24, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

The last IRS form 990 that is posted is from 2008??? That's a HUGE red flag.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

N/A

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

All financials (annual reports and IRS form 990s) should be available to the public upon request. "Best practices" are that they are posted on the nonprofit's website for easy public reference.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers