Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
123.12545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

They refuse to provide any financial information since 2008. A BIG red flag. Even that info was NOT enough to determine if it is a well rated charity (spending >65% of revenue on program activities and not staff housing, travel, etc)...a HUGE RED FLAG.

Nice that there's a caring show
for the cameras but if there was nothing to hide, why not disclose your financials like all responsible charities do? Refuse to supply financial information and you stay off the "worst charity' lists.

On camera there are lots of comments and pics of staff housing that appears to be provided by Villalobos donation money. Look up property ownership by Villalobos and you find houses that were purchased for staff before they did renovations and roofing to the building housing the dogs. WHOPPING BIG RED FLAG.

Follow the timeline of "explanations" of the staff housing from "to provide retirement homes for older dogs" to "we are animal control in rural areas and need sites to serve those places." Funny they have NO kennel licenses other than Villalobos itself, no posted hours of operation for these supposedly necessary sites and their addresses are not posted. How can you be "animal control" if you hide your locations? Why would you need to purchase homes to house supposedly non-adoptable dogs (and all your family) when you have a large facility in New Mexico specifically for long term housing of dogs???

One of the homes for Tia's kids is waterfront on the bayou. They showed 2 dogs at the home provided for her sons and surprise!... neither of those dogs were up for adoption. Other reality tv stars provide their own housing, utilities, etc.

You can't do anything there without signing a complete confidentiality agreement, yet Villalobos staff are free to publicly comment on anything they please. why legally silence everyone with whom you have contact if there's nothing to hide?

They talk about massive increases in their expenses in NOLA but provide no verifiable explanation. By their own minimal and very rare reports their adoptions haven't increased much, which means your animal intake can't increase much. Yes they now have to pay for heartworm preventative like most animal shelters do but that doesn't cost that much when purchased in bulk. They also get large donations of food and medication directly to the shelter and don't have to purchase all of their supplies.

So where is the big increase in expenses? Buying numerous properties to house family and long time staff is very expensive.

September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

Donors beware!!!!!! Villalobos is a huge front for criminal activity, misuse and abuse of donation dollars and merchanise. The fact that they have not posted tax returns for years with guide star should tell you something,. It's a fact that they don't pay income tax when paying their "employees" and only pay in cash or screw them by not paying them at all ,should get the IRS involved. I've witnessed donations being stolen by volunteers and used for personal use by villalobos employees. I've witnessed a desperate plea for food although their storage units were full and food was being given out to volunteers and employees for their own dogs.... There are numerous RV trips across the county that they justify by bringing a few dogs on board to give away to other rescues even though their are qualified applicants waiting for them. Tia often uses these trips to visit her aryan brotherhood husband in a norther California prisonwhile instead if doing dog rescue business...interstate fraud is rampant. The storage and warehousing of hundreds of dogs in un air conditioned warehouses through out Louisiana has been photographed And videotaped by volunteers and concerned employees who are concerned for the dogs welfare. We stood mortified as Vans of dogs we're being loaded up and taken to be killed although they claim to be a no kill shelter...they have and will attack anyone who is onto their scheme...I have witnessed and experienced burglaries, trespassings, gun toting felons, aryan brotherhood tagging a and just plain fearful dogs and employees who are intimidated into keeping things quiet or "pay a life altering price" according to Tia Torres for any bad publicity Into their shady enterprise. Do not support this organization in any way. Many of us speak from experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it down and hand the dogs over to other rescues without a for profit agenda.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After reading about their situation on Facebook I ordered about $125 value of items on their "wishlist" with a commercial website. I had difficulty contacting the organization to let them know some of their list with stores needed updating and also requesting an acknowledgment for tax purposes.

I used the web "email" available on the web site but only received a "forwarding" message several days later. My order has not been acknowledged even though the pet company said it was sent to them directly.

I am also concerned about the lack of financial records provided to Guidestar and that the founder and three other females are the "board". I am sure they all work very hard but according to their web page they also are operating a restaurant/bar and small hotel.

All things considered, there is room for questioning the accountability of monies, services and donations received by this agency especially with the TV program revenues. I won't donate again until I feel more confident.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Better communication on their web page with donors and a working email address dedicated to donors. Open up or make available all the IRS records for public review. Broaden your board to include a wider variety of community individuals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My daughters and I visited Villalobos in NOLA to drop off some donations. We were greeted immediately, signed in and given a tour by both volunteers and staff. Everyone was incredible friendly and open. I was amazed and impressed with the cleanliness and organization of the kennels and facility. In the middle of summer with 100= dogs there was not one dirty kennel or dog and not a SINGLE dog smell. Each dog area was immaculate.

PLEASE consider making a donation!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them find funding for air conditioning.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013

more

March 5, 2013

I have recently had reason to interact with this organization. I had become a fan through watching their series, "Pitbulls and Parolees" so after watching for awhile I ordered some merchandise; specifically some sunglasses. Although there was a slight glitch in getting them, I did get them and all was made right about the mix up. I have my sunglasses now which I enjoy wearing when I take my dog outside. They fit very well and block out our high altitude sun quite nicely.

I am now on good terms with this organization. So much so that recently when they had an influx of puppies and had other unforeseen circumstances a plea for help went out to the general public. I answered this call by purchasing and having shipped to their facility in New Orleans, LA a few items on their wish list.

Although I traced the shipments step-by-step from my end, it turned out that it was unnecessary because Becky contacted me via email the moment the articles arrived.

So I thank you, Becky, for the updates.

Mariah, a big thanks to you for making things right about my sunglasses.

Tia keep up the good work.

Greetings to all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 4, 2011

more

April 4, 2011

I've been involved as a volunteer for over five years and feel I know this group and their achievements very well. Their mission is pit bulls, a breed that is in the greatest need of human compassion and rescue. No breed is treated worse and has less voices speaking up about it, and thank dog for Villalobos Rescue and other groups who do not give up even when they can't save them all, they save the ones they can. VRC is not just about taking dogs in, they have a comprehensive adoption program, screen adopters carefully and match them with dogs that fit their lifestyle. Adopted dogs are given support and resources for their lifetime, if the adopters can't keep them then VRC always takes the dogs back.

VRC is also about changing the stars for the people who care for these dogs, another "disposable" group in society, the parolees. These guys are able to get their second chance at VRC and work with the dogs where they are judged only on their work, not the color of their skin or the number of tattooes they might have. The parolees learn compassion and love as they build strong relationships with the dogs and each other, it's just sad there are not more programs available because the need is huge.

I don't volunteer my time without knowing it is making a difference and Villalobos Rescue Center makes a difference, every single day, and even when they can't save every dog it certainly matters to the dogs that do enter their doors.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The aftermath of Hurricane Katrina, a special little pit bull who had survived not only a hurricane but then being sent to a hoarder and needed rescue again. Tia Torres took him in and gave him the first safe harbor he had since Katrina. I've seen it firsthand the passion she has for the dogs and the guys who care for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to clone their director so there would be someone who could handle all the paperwork without taking away from the animals. Give them more money to reach more dogs and hire more parolees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've learned fundraising techniques; social media marketing and of course, alot about the dogs.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

This nonprofit is a wonderful group of dedicated people who go beyond the call of duty to help dogs and sometimes even cats. They live and breathe for these animals. The breed they choose to help is a breed that is terribly misunderstood. They also help rehabilitate parolees which is also a group of people who are terribly misunderstood.

This group has always had an "A" on their kennel inspections. They have had a valid kennel license in Los Angeles County for 17 YEARS.

The are the gold standard when it comes to helping animals and the care they provide.

In California, they are one of ONLY two groups who rehabilitate people who have been in prison. There may be new groups who help, but to my knowledge, they are few and far between. This is despite getting NO government funding to run their programs.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They know when they can't help anymore dogs and that's the hardest part of dealing in this breed; there are SO many dogs who need help and are going to die.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 24, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 24, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

The last IRS form 990 that is posted is from 2008??? That's a HUGE red flag.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

N/A

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

All financials (annual reports and IRS form 990s) should be available to the public upon request. "Best practices" are that they are posted on the nonprofit's website for easy public reference.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers