Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 20, 2014

more

January 20, 2014

Interning for Village Enterprise during the summer of 2013 was by far one of the most rewarding work experiences for me thus far. What initially attracted me to Village Enterprise was its' genuine mission to help eradicate poverty. The organization's holistic approach towards addressing such a complex issue was very impressive. The staff's passion for the organization's mission was truly reflected in their motivation and hard-work. Many organizations attempt to live up to their mission and propose laudable goals, however Village Enterprise is definitely one that follows through with tangible results. Always trying to innovate its' practices while staying true to its' core mission and goals, Village Enterprise is a 27 year-old organization that has and will continue to make significant contributions towards eradicating poverty. I feel very fortunate to have been a part of such a dedicated and passionate team and highly recommend Village Enterprise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Beyond the staff's dedication and passion to the organization's mission, what most impressed me was their true commitment to achieving meaningful results for the people they serve. Many organizations are content doing things the way they have always done them, and for some, impact seems to be a bit of an after thought. This is far from being the case at Village Enterprise. The people who benefit from the VE program are at the center of all decisions, and the organization is constantly measuring impact, evaluating results, and innovating to make sure that each life is impacted as positively and as much as it can possibly be. Additionally, though many organizations claim that they are serving the utlra-poor, Village Enterprise is one if the very few that actually does. Their targeting methods are so comprehensive and precise that you can be sure that your contributions go to those who need it the most.
This is a unique organization in many aspects, and I was very impressed with their work after spending only a short time there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Village Enterprise continues to deserve my contributions of time, talent, and financial support because of the impact they have in ending extreme poverty and for it's commitment to continual program assessment and innovation. In the past two years, the organization has developed several impressive new tools and processes.

Some of these improve their efficiency -- like the use of smart phones for in-field data collection. But others increase their IMPACT by helping the very poor who are starting businesses choose the most profitable opportunity. Their SMART tool provides a village-based assessment of the costs, risks, and revenue potential of a variety of rural business options -- cash crops such as Irish potatoes, kale, onions, peppers, sunflower seeds (for cooking oil), etc.; small livestock such as chickens, pigs, and goats; various retail businesses; and semi-skilled businesses like bicycle repair, carpentry, and tailoring. With knowledge of the risk-reward profile for different businesses, and of the markets they can access, poor villagers choose what business to start from the most profitable options.

This is but one example of how Village Enterprise innovates to maximize the resources provided and significantly improve the lives of those they serve. This particular innovation won Village Enterprise recognition from the Rockefeller Foundation as a Next Century Innovator. See:
http://villageenterprise.org/archives/news/the-rockefeller-foundation-has-recognized-village-enterprise-as-a-next-century-innovator

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help increase the organization's visibility in the international development sector to reach new funders. I am working to do just that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I worked as an intern in Village Enterprise's US office during the summer of 2012 and could not have been more impressed both with the amazing work they do and the passion of the staff who dedicate themselves to helping the extremely poor of East Africa. Village Enterprise knows how to target the people who need their grants the most, and they are able to offer extensive business training to help those people lift themselves out of poverty. I believe empowering people is the only way to help them change their circumstances, and Village Enterprise does just that. If you want to get involved with smart, passionate people who are making a positive impact on the world, Village Enterprise is the place for you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 29, 2013

more

January 29, 2013

Immersed in the staff’s passion and enthusiasm for economic development, interning at the US office for 6 months was incredible. My interactions with the staff in Kenya and Uganda were equally wonderful. Each member brings commitment, compassion, and cheerful energy to work each day. I highly recommend others to get involved in this organization’s efforts and experience the transformational work of Village Enterprise.
Village Enterprise’s unique program permanently lifts the ultra-poor out of extreme poverty. Equipped with the knowledge and resources to create sustainable businesses, individuals have the tools and confidence to earn steady incomes and provide for their families. While other organizations address individual poverty-related issues such as food insecurity, education, or health, Village Enterprise enables business owners to address all of these issues themselves with profits from their microenterprises. To me, this is the best way we can eradicate extreme poverty.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2010

For East Africa, and all other countries to cultivate more food and not fabricate more clay bricks made of 100% fertile clay/mud soil. Please visit MRHP Tanzania website to know more on clay brick making burning their land fertile soil to make bricks for their sustainable houses. I am more than willing to offer free know how, technology transfer, even on hand personal expertize for a simple ready to go project that uses renewable biomass waste to fabricate building bricks made of 85% agriculture waste. God Bless maher_h_w@yahoo.com Inventor/Innovator Professional Ch.E. IMC Consultant

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The results are promising and could be replicated

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Simple technology is used to fabricate this innovative brick made of 85% burned rice husk reject waste, thus safe guarding land mud natural resources to cultivate more food for a famine world

August 13, 2009

more

August 13, 2009

This organization has an enormous impact the lives of the rural poor! I have seen their work and talked to their small business owners on two trips -- one to Kakamega, Kenya and southeast Uganda, and another to Dodoma, Tanzania. The volunteer Business Mentors -- all local village leaders working as teachers, pastors, health care works, or retirees -- are amazingly dedicated to seeing the small businesses succeed through their training and mentoring. This grassroots organization is doing things right -- leveraging local African leaders to serve their own rural communities and providing a sustainable solution to rural poverty!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and their headquarters office, San Carlos CA.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing what a big impact is made with just $200 to start a business that will benefit, on average, 25 people. VEF businesses provides people with critically needed income; but more importantly, it provides motivation and confidence in their future.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

incredibly dedicated and hard working. They are really passionate about changing the lives of the rural poor that they serve.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Expand its work to other East African countries.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Conduct a Fundraising Event. It is easy to host a fundraising party at your home or business. Invite a group of friends or colleagues to learn more about Village Enterprise. We will provide all of the tools you need to host a fun and successful event.

http://villageenterprise.org/take-action/volunteer Volunteer