Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12.71429345
Write A Review
December 13, 2014

more

December 13, 2014

I have been sending boxes of household and clothing items to VVA for years, and their front-step pick-up system has never let me down. Their drivers are always friendly and courteous. I don't know about the VVA finances, but they do provide a great pick-up service that I have found very helpful.
September 3, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 3, 2014

Yet another unreliable charity. When United War Veterans council didn't show up (twice) last week to pick up a very large donation, I called VVA on Saturday. They scheduled a pickup for today, September 3. I called this morning to confirm, and they told me I was on the schedule. When they didn't show up by 8:30PM, I called them. A supervisor told me he didn't know why the truck never came, but offered to reschedule. When I asked why I should trust them again, he had no answer. I'm sure this is not an isolated incident. The donation was 12 bags, lots of baby items, and a steam mop, as well as books, CDs, and DVDs. They offered to give me the address of a thrift shop where I could drop it off. Great. I have no car, and I guess they expected me to do all the loading and unloading. DON'T TRUST THEM!
August 12, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

August 12, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

Not impressed. Got a telephone solicitation and pledged $25. After receiving the follow-up bill in the mail, conducted some research of the foundation and its finances. Specifically the tax forms filed (2011-2013). Found it interesting that in 2011 the foundation reported $2,891,000 in salaries while donating 9 scholarships for $13,500.

Administrative costs in the fiscal year ending 28 Feb 2011 were $1,714,733, and fundraising costs were $740,962 for a total expenses of $2,455,695. Roughly 51% of the annual budget.

May be a great way to dump old mattresses and have them hauled away for free, but a very poor investment in our Vietnam Veterans. I’ll choose other methods to contribute thank-you.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clearly state how much of my donated dollar makes it to the Veteran.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

July 8, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

I have left donations in front of my house and they always came when promised and left a donation receipt. However, after I read on this site that the VVA hosted a reception in Washington, D C honoring members of Congress who served in the armed forces, I am now rethinking any future donations. I do not want what they make from my donations to be spent on Members of Congresss who served in the military. I thank these elected officials for their service, but let's be honest, these people have high-paying jobs (that they don't always have to show up for); have excellent, free health coverage, and myriad other wonderful perks. They do NOT need another reception. The VVA should have spent the money it cost them to host this reception on the men and women who truly need help. I would appreciate knowing what percentage of their profits is actually going to benefit the needy veterans and what percentage is going for advertising, hosting receptions, etc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I don't know how much of the money raised actually helps veterans but it was easy to donate items. I originally chose this organization as it is one of the few that will take used mattresses. We had one in like new condition that we didn't want to have to pay to have it hauled to the dump if it could be used. We scheduled a pick-up and they called 30 minutes before the truck arrived. They will not come in the house but will take items from the garage or drive way. We are in Las Vegas.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
August 8, 2013

Yes, it was easy to schedule a pick up but the window is 8am to 5pm and THEY NEVER SHOWED UP and there was no call/contact from them. They only pick up on Wednesdays in this area (San Diego County). It is a pain, literally, to move everything from the house to the driveway and now we have to move it back inside and find storage. Not sure if we'll reschedule with this group for next Wednesday or find another charity. We like the VVA mission, but we were disappointed with this first donation experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Follow through with promised pick ups. If impossible for some legitimate reason, at least contact the donee.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Vietnam Veterans of America provides great service to those looking to donate used clothing and home items. They helped me get rid of all the clutter in my home and it was too easy. All I did was schedule a pick up and leave the bags on my porch and they came by and picked it all up. On top of that they even left a tax deductible receipt. Their services really came in handy!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I recieved a tax deductible receipt and reduced home clutter

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make any changes

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers