Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.990485
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

This is a fantastic organization that focuses on each child's need as an individual. The care and support given is wonderful!

Not only am I a client, but also volunteered while I was there. Any help given is always appreciated!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 31, 2013

My son has receiving riding therapy at Victory Reins for quite a few years, and from the every beginning it was clear that everyone there puts their heart and soul into helping our children. When my ... more

July 23, 2014

My son has been riding at Victory Reins for about 7 years now. When he started, he was resistant to putting a helmet on, had poor core strength, was afraid of the horses, etc. Now, he is thrilled to ride! He puts on his own helmet, has gained core strengths, basic skills, knows left from right, knows how to steer the horse, and has become more open to textures. My son has both Autism and Cererbal Palsy. The wonderful people at Victory Reins have helped him grow so much over the years, and he has fun the entire time. He enjoys riding and learning every week. I highly recommend Voctory Reins for anyone looking for dedicated, compassionate and qualified people to help special needs individuals throve through riding therapy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase their donations

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

My son has receiving riding therapy at Victory Reins for quite a few years, and from the every beginning it was clear that everyone there puts their heart and soul into helping our children. When my son was tiny, he was initially afraid of the horses, but he quickly learned to love them, and through all of this he has gained core strength, coordination, worked on letters, counting, sense of where he is in space and time, and so much more. He, as well as our entire family, also feel like part of a community. Victory Reins is constantly trying to improve their facility, to improve it for the children that they serve, mostly as volunteers. I highly recommend Victory Reins. I am glad we started there years ago. Now, that little boy is a not-so-little 10 year old!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more donations for Victory Reins.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

My son, who has multiple disabilities, has been riding at Victory Reins for about 5 years now, and it has had an amazing effect on his life. The day he started, he was screaming, on sensory overload. He did not even want to put on his helmet. Once he was the pony, and it started moving, he calmed down. Now, he walks in the barn, puts on his own helmet, and thrilled to be there! My son has Cerebral Palsy, Autism, and Primary Speech Delay. Riding with the wonderful volunteers and Sandy, who runs Victory Reins has been life changing for him! It has helped him with muscle tone, sensory issues, learning fine and gross motor skills, and the list could go on forever. Everyone who volunteers there does it with love.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012

My son, who will be 9 years-old in a few days, has been going to Victory Reins for Therapeutic Riding for 4 years. When he started he was very small, hated putting on his helmet, and was terrified of the horses. He has Cerebral Palsy, Primary Speech and Language Delay, and Autism, so the riding is really good for his core strength, coordination, sensory issues, learning to follow directions, and various aspects of his speech development. Alex has blossomed during the time he been riding at Victory Reins. He is independent in the barn now, putting on his own helmet, no longer afraid of the horses, and excited to ride every week! It makes me smile to hear him say "Trot!". He is much stronger, has learned his left from right, his letters, colors, and his speech has gotten louder, which has been a big issue for him. The entire staff at Victory Reins has been wonderful with us during the time my son has been riding. They have always been very safety conscious, which is important, and they really care about the kids. The head of the organization makes herself easy to reach, and is flexible. To strengthen the organization, it would be great if they had funds for heaters for the arena, so the riding season could go longer, and a truly handicapped accessible bathroom.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

There is a quote by an author named George Aliston. He said, "How beautiful a day can be when kindness touches it." This reminds me of Victory Reins. Every Saturday when my daughter attends Victory Reins is a beautiful day. Everyone connected with this organization is very kind and so positive. My daughter has been going there for many years. It has helped her feel confident and accomplished. It is also really a lot of fun. The horses and all the other animals are wonderful . This is a great place for children and adults with disabilities. I am so glad we found this place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

When physically and mentally challenged children are small, the opportunities for social interaction are plentiful but as they get older, the opportunities are slim to almost non-existent. We were very excited to find out about the Victory Reins Center last summer and our 40 year-old son has enjoyed the experience very much. He is in the early stages of learning how to ride a horse but the staff at VR is knowledgeable and patient which is the perfect combination of skills needed to work with the disabled.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 27, 2014

more

April 27, 2014

My son has cerebral palsy. The recreational activities he can actively participate in are few. He loves going to Victory Reins and riding his favorite horse. He is greeted warmly by the volunteers and staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they had the funding to continue.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My son has been going to Victory Reins for years, and the staff there is great. They really know how to interact with the kids, and are sensitive to children with varying special needs. My son has multiple special needs, and he has gained many skills, both physical and mental over his years of riding at Victory Reins. Everyone there really goes the extra mile!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My daughter loves this place. The people are very caring and hard working.
They serve people with special needs and teach them horseback riding skills. It allows them to be successful at something that not everyone can do. And for many of these clients that doesn't happen very often in their
lives. I think it is wonderful for their self confidence and self image. It is also good exercise for them. Some of the clients just attended The Special Olympics with Victory Reins. It was a very special time for them and I am sure they have wonderful memories from this experience. If it wasn't for Victory Reins they would not have had this experience. Victory Reins is a wonderful place and great fun also. The horses are wonderful also!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Build an addition to the barn.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Victory Reins selflessly give to people with special needs opportunities to enjoy love for animals with services they need to excel inside and outside of therapy. They deliver a caring and gentile touch to real life experience not offered in a clinical setting. We are happy and grateful to have found Victory Reins.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Before I participated in the therapeutic riding program at Victory Reins, I participated in a program at a different stable. I was immediately impressed with Sandy's teaching style. She was detail oriented and used a great amount of positive reinforcement. She is a natural teacher. I say this because I have been a classroom teacher for 27 years! Victory Reins is truly an asset to this community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2011

My name is Scott Youdris and I am the 1st vice president of the Mokena Lion's Club. We had a vision to create an outting for some low vision children. I wanted to do something with the kids that we ... more

October 28, 2013

I am from the Mokena Lions Club. Almost three years ago I came to Sandy and Victory Reins with an idea of an outting that I wanted to put together. I was working with the Will County Special Education. What I wanted to do was to give some low vision children a chance to ride a horse and show the members of the Lions Club why we raise the money we do. Sandy blew us away with her energy and genuine love of what she does. As I have said from day one. Sandy and her volunteers create magic. The smiles on the kids faces and the tears of joy and smiles on the Lions are memories that never will be forgotten. It is the most looked forward to event we have. We have even had our District Govenor come participate. I can't write enough words to show how much Victory Reins means to the Mokena Lions!!!!!!!'

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure they have the funding to dream big and keep expanding to provide even more magic!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2011

My name is Scott Youdris and I am the 1st vice president of the Mokena Lion's Club. We had a vision to create an outting for some low vision children. I wanted to do something with the kids that we spend so much time fundraising money for. I found Sandy at Victory Reins through a mutual horse lover who couldn't say enough about the magic they create there! Sandy and her staff made our vision for a fun outting an experience that no one will ever forget! We brought 12 low vision kids to Victory Reins for a half day of riding horses. It was so much more. The kids we lead through 3 different stations learning about the horses, cleaning the horses, and finally riding the horses. We got to watch as these children went from terrified to overjoyed! The staff at VR taught us how to help so that we could interact with the kids as well! By the end of the day, there wasn't a dry eye among those of us that were there!I am still getting thank yous from the parents and my fellow Lions as well as "when are we doing this again"! Victory Reins has so much heart and spirit! Sandy is so incredible with these kids! There was one child who was totally blind and scared to death of the horses. Sandy and her staff worked so hard with him to ease his fears. By the end of the day, he was able to touch and pet the horse but just couldn't bring himself to get on and ride. Sandy saw his desire to do it. Sandy wanted him to have the experience of riding so bad that she got in contact with his family and invited him to come out again (at no charge) to try again. With some one on one that boy was able to get on and ride a horse! That is the love and magic VR has for what they do!!!!!!!!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I saw first hand the magic and love they have at VR.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them as much funding as possible to continue their work!

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Sidewalk with a student and help in a lesson. Groom a horse and put their saddles/ bridles on. General horse/animal care. Various daily chores around the farm like cleaning stalls, feeding the horses and turning them out in the pasture.