Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
106 Reviews
1234.990575
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

Before is started volunteering at Victory Reins, I was having problems with depression. Since working there my life has so much more meaning! I absolutely love working with the horses, the kids and ... more

July 31, 2014

This is a wonderful organization that helps people of all ages and disabillities to feel like they can overcome their weaknesses. You always feel acceptance and love here. This is my "home away from home". They always make you feel like family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2012

Before is started volunteering at Victory Reins, I was having problems with depression. Since working there my life has so much more meaning! I absolutely love working with the horses, the kids and the other volunteers! The owner, Miss Sandy, is an outstanding lady who would do ANYTHING to help ANYONE! It is a very positive environment for ALL who go there! While the world is telling you that you are no good and that you can't do something, Miss Sandy is telling and showing you that, "Oh yes you CAN!". It is a place where a person with any kind of disability can go and feel good about themselves again, even the volunteers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

My wife and I were volunteering last summer when a very young and scared autistic little girl, maybe three or four years old, started coming. We were there the first night she came. She was afraid, no terrified, of all that was going on. The horses scared her, the people, everything. One of the volunteers, Miss Jackie, walked and sang to her during the entire time that first night, and the next few visits as well.
After three visits or so the little one came in with her cowboy boots, a big smile and ready to ride. This was an amazing transformation and connection she made to the horses, the volunteers and to Sandy.
Some of these "clients" have only this to look forward to. They lighten up, get excited by just being there. Jim & Sandy, all the volunteers work very hard and are extremely dedicated to this cause. This is an amazing non-profit organization. Good people with a good cause!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, as an experiment we were asked to sit and give parents an ear, if needed, while their child was riding. It was a good idea but didn't quite pan out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

It was so great volunteering here. Everything was so well put together and I had an amazing time! Could not love it more!
April 26, 2014

more

April 26, 2014

I brought a group of Marian Catholic students who are members of the school's Equestrian Club for a tour and to help volunteer. We were immediately made to feel welcome and got plenty of time to look around and figure out how best to be of help. The students had a great time and I intend to make Victory Reins a permanent part of the Equestrian Club program.
October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2012

I first found out about Victory Reins from one of the volunteers and when she was telling me about Victory Reins i was thinking to myself, "I really wanna help and be involved with this place." So i a... more

October 29, 2013

I love this place!! It helped me learn how to care for people and horses at the same time!! It also allowed me to see the beauty in evryone:) by going to victory reins i was able to focus on helping a lot of people and

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2012

I first found out about Victory Reins from one of the volunteers and when she was telling me about Victory Reins i was thinking to myself, "I really wanna help and be involved with this place." So i asked her if there was anyway i could help and she told me how. Later that week i showed up at Victory Reins and met Sandy and asked to help and i was so grateful that she let me help! While i was there i got to work with the kids and the horses, it was the most amazing thing that i have ever seen in my life! Just Seeing the kids smiling is life changing! I now try to go to victory reins every chance i get! This place is amazing and i has changed my life!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2011

Victory Reins became a part of our lives from the beginning. My daughter's horse is boarded there and we naturally started to get involved with the programs as volunteers. The program is organized, ... more

October 29, 2013

I help out in different ways with fund raisers and my time. I am amazed how this program has grown so quickly and the effect on so many people. It is a positive group and focused on helping the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2011

Victory Reins became a part of our lives from the beginning. My daughter's horse is boarded there and we naturally started to get involved with the programs as volunteers. The program is organized, well-run, detailed and fun for all who participate. The faces of those who participate, volunteer or teach says it all. Everyone loves having a part in this program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

sharing the volunteer experience with my daughter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to find more volunteers.

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

My family helps with the horses. We love all the animals, helpers, students, and Miss Sandy and Mr. Jim. Working with the horses gives my family a chance to learn about the animals. Coming down to the barn is fun and rewarding. The horses are well taken care of and the lessons are done to the needs of the students. Victory Reins is a great place to come and has such a warm inviting atmosphere. We will always be part of the Victory Reins family..

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

This is a WONDERFUL therapeutic riding stable! Well organized, well run. Sandy, the owner, is fantastic with all of the children's various needs, including my own. The horses are happy and healthy and there's a real sense of camaraderie among the volunteers. Lessons are very reasonable compared to other programs in the area. I am so happy to have this resource near me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been a volunteer with Victory Reins for about a year. We met Mrs. Sandy in the parking lot of Farm and Fleet when she stopped and asked if my family loved horses and if my son would help vote on Facebook for a grant for the barn. That meeting was the best thing that happened to my family. Working at the barn has been a blessing to us by giving my family an opportunity to work together on a healthy activity and to teach our kids about helping others. I work mostly with the horses during the day by taking care of feedings and barn chores. When you first walk into the barn you are met by a sense of calm and inviting atmosphere. The horses will look out of there stalls to meet you and the volunteers greet you with a hello. Mrs. Sandy will meet with each student and get to know what there riding abilities are and match them to a horse that will not only help them learn and challenge them but will give them a safe and secure lesson. I love to take part in the lessons because it is such a blessing to hear the kids laugh and how much they learn from one lesson to the next. I love volunteering at the barn and once you walk through those barn doors you become a life long member of the Victory Reins family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2011

I love volunteering at Victory Reins Therapeutic Riding Center. I have been going there with my two friends for almost 3 years now, and we absolutely love working there. We help out by doing chores ... more

September 30, 2013

I have been a volunteer at Victory Reins for almost 5 years now. I love going there every Saturday and most Thursdays to help out with the lessons. I have gotten to know many of the children well and love working with them. The best part of working at Victory Reins is seeing the children grow and improve throughout the years with the help of these therapeutic lessons, and it is very rewarding to see their smiles as they enjoy their lessons with Miss Sandy. Victory Reins is a huge part of my life and I plan to keep it that way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2011

I love volunteering at Victory Reins Therapeutic Riding Center. I have been going there with my two friends for almost 3 years now, and we absolutely love working there. We help out by doing chores around the barn, feeding the various animals, cleaning the horses, and helping out during the lessons. Working with the horses and other animals is great, but I also love working with the kids. It is amazing to see a child come back with improved skills after continuing with their lessons. The kids are so sweet and I love being able to work with them. Seeing them enjoy the lessons is an awesome thing to see, too. They really love being up on the horse and showing off their skills to everyone. All of the children that come for therapeutic riding have improved their skills in multiple different ways. They enjoy playing the games that Mrs. Sandy plans out and she is great with the kids. They really love her. This is a great organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering, cleaning horses, helping around the barn, helping in lessons.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it closer to my house

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

nothing.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met many new people here that are very friendly. I get along well with all of them. I have made some new friends here!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Amazing! Coming home from working at Victory Reins has definitely changed my life. I love working here!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Sidewalk with a student and help in a lesson. Groom a horse and put their saddles/ bridles on. General horse/animal care. Various daily chores around the farm like cleaning stalls, feeding the horses and turning them out in the pasture.