Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
104 Reviews
1234.990385
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 30, 2011

My name is Scott Youdris and I am the 1st vice president of the Mokena Lion's Club. We had a vision to create an outting for some low vision children. I wanted to do something with the kids that we ... more

October 28, 2013

I am from the Mokena Lions Club. Almost three years ago I came to Sandy and Victory Reins with an idea of an outting that I wanted to put together. I was working with the Will County Special Education. What I wanted to do was to give some low vision children a chance to ride a horse and show the members of the Lions Club why we raise the money we do. Sandy blew us away with her energy and genuine love of what she does. As I have said from day one. Sandy and her volunteers create magic. The smiles on the kids faces and the tears of joy and smiles on the Lions are memories that never will be forgotten. It is the most looked forward to event we have. We have even had our District Govenor come participate. I can't write enough words to show how much Victory Reins means to the Mokena Lions!!!!!!!'

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure they have the funding to dream big and keep expanding to provide even more magic!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2011

My name is Scott Youdris and I am the 1st vice president of the Mokena Lion's Club. We had a vision to create an outting for some low vision children. I wanted to do something with the kids that we spend so much time fundraising money for. I found Sandy at Victory Reins through a mutual horse lover who couldn't say enough about the magic they create there! Sandy and her staff made our vision for a fun outting an experience that no one will ever forget! We brought 12 low vision kids to Victory Reins for a half day of riding horses. It was so much more. The kids we lead through 3 different stations learning about the horses, cleaning the horses, and finally riding the horses. We got to watch as these children went from terrified to overjoyed! The staff at VR taught us how to help so that we could interact with the kids as well! By the end of the day, there wasn't a dry eye among those of us that were there!I am still getting thank yous from the parents and my fellow Lions as well as "when are we doing this again"! Victory Reins has so much heart and spirit! Sandy is so incredible with these kids! There was one child who was totally blind and scared to death of the horses. Sandy and her staff worked so hard with him to ease his fears. By the end of the day, he was able to touch and pet the horse but just couldn't bring himself to get on and ride. Sandy saw his desire to do it. Sandy wanted him to have the experience of riding so bad that she got in contact with his family and invited him to come out again (at no charge) to try again. With some one on one that boy was able to get on and ride a horse! That is the love and magic VR has for what they do!!!!!!!!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I saw first hand the magic and love they have at VR.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them as much funding as possible to continue their work!

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Victory Reins is a wonderful place with outstanding people providing an exceptional experience for our family! Our son loves everything and everyone at the center, especially the wonderful horses! Staff and volunteers all treat the kids like their own, which makes us so comfortable spending time at the center.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 12, 2013

more

October 12, 2013

Victory Reins is an amazing place to experience - our son loves riding and watching the horses. We have been going for several years now and it is great to see the transformation with not only our son but other riders as well. It's not only therapeutic for them but for the families as well. :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

My son Jeffrey has been in therapeutic riding at Victory Reins for over two years. He has autism and many aensory issues. At Victory Reins Sandy and the volunteers work with Jeff to help him feel calm and secure as he rides a very gentle horse around the barn. He uses the words and skills he has learned to guide the horse as he rides and to follow directions. After his lesson he is always calmer and happy. I am very grateful to Sandy the volunteers and the gentle horses for their contribution to Jeffs well being.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been a volunteer with Victory Reins for about a year. We met Mrs. Sandy in the parking lot of Farm and Fleet when she stopped and asked if my family loved horses and if my son would help vote on Facebook for a grant for the barn. That meeting was the best thing that happened to my family. Working at the barn has been a blessing to us by giving my family an opportunity to work together on a healthy activity and to teach our kids about helping others. I work mostly with the horses during the day by taking care of feedings and barn chores. When you first walk into the barn you are met by a sense of calm and inviting atmosphere. The horses will look out of there stalls to meet you and the volunteers greet you with a hello. Mrs. Sandy will meet with each student and get to know what there riding abilities are and match them to a horse that will not only help them learn and challenge them but will give them a safe and secure lesson. I love to take part in the lessons because it is such a blessing to hear the kids laugh and how much they learn from one lesson to the next. I love volunteering at the barn and once you walk through those barn doors you become a life long member of the Victory Reins family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2011

I love volunteering at Victory Reins Therapeutic Riding Center. I have been going there with my two friends for almost 3 years now, and we absolutely love working there. We help out by doing chores ... more

September 30, 2013

I have been a volunteer at Victory Reins for almost 5 years now. I love going there every Saturday and most Thursdays to help out with the lessons. I have gotten to know many of the children well and love working with them. The best part of working at Victory Reins is seeing the children grow and improve throughout the years with the help of these therapeutic lessons, and it is very rewarding to see their smiles as they enjoy their lessons with Miss Sandy. Victory Reins is a huge part of my life and I plan to keep it that way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2011

I love volunteering at Victory Reins Therapeutic Riding Center. I have been going there with my two friends for almost 3 years now, and we absolutely love working there. We help out by doing chores around the barn, feeding the various animals, cleaning the horses, and helping out during the lessons. Working with the horses and other animals is great, but I also love working with the kids. It is amazing to see a child come back with improved skills after continuing with their lessons. The kids are so sweet and I love being able to work with them. Seeing them enjoy the lessons is an awesome thing to see, too. They really love being up on the horse and showing off their skills to everyone. All of the children that come for therapeutic riding have improved their skills in multiple different ways. They enjoy playing the games that Mrs. Sandy plans out and she is great with the kids. They really love her. This is a great organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering, cleaning horses, helping around the barn, helping in lessons.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it closer to my house

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

nothing.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have met many new people here that are very friendly. I get along well with all of them. I have made some new friends here!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Amazing! Coming home from working at Victory Reins has definitely changed my life. I love working here!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 16, 2013

more

September 16, 2013

I am a 55 year old woman with Multiple Sclerosis. I began participating in Victory Reins' therapeutic riding program last year. Therapeutic riding is the only time when I actually feel whole, once again. It allows me to have the freedom, which MS has stolen from me.

Sandy is an
exceptional teacher; infusing exercise with a great amount of fun! She has created an opportunity for me to safely continue with an activity which I LOVE. Unfortunately, my MS has become far more challenging, and I have been unable to ride. Both my body and soul are aching to return, and some day soon, I will!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

My 13 year old and I volunteer together and let me tell you, we get as much out of Victory Reins as the kids that we help. The kids are so sweet and positive and Sandy and Jim have a heart of gold. I look forward to spending my Thursdays at VR!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

I'm a Foster mother of two beautiful little girls that have serious developmental delays and behavior issues. Victory Reins was recommended to us for occupational therapy through my younger dauther's pre-k program. I have seen more of an improvement in my daughters' behavior in the few months we've been participating in this program than I have seen in three years of clinical behavioral therapy. Sandy works wonders with these kids. The volunteer staff is very kind and compassionate. They are very involved with both the kids and the horses. They really care about the kids and work to develop a friendship with them. Thank you Sandy and the staff at Victory Reins. You have really been a blessing to me and my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. They are fantastic.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

more

April 29, 2013

I have always wanted to work with horses, and volunteering for Victory Reins has been an absolutely wonderful experience. The horses here are some of the most sweet and amazing horses you could ever find. They are well cared for and very loved by the people who use them for their therapy lessons. I couldn't ask for a better place to volunteer my time and energy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Sidewalk with a student and help in a lesson. Groom a horse and put their saddles/ bridles on. General horse/animal care. Various daily chores around the farm like cleaning stalls, feeding the horses and turning them out in the pasture.