Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
106 Reviews
1234.990575
Write A Review
September 1, 2014

more

September 1, 2014

My son receives therapeutic riding lessons at Victory Reins. My son had never been on a horse until he started at Victory Reins. He is only 4 so he was understandably scared his first time on the horse. Sandy was so patient, calm and positive with him. He felt so secure that within a short time he was totally at ease being on the horse. Now it is one of his favorite places to go. All of the volunteers are fantastic! Each person there helps my son and the other children to feel empowered and confident in their abilities. They also take the time to focus on each child as an individual and give them exactly what they need to help them overcome their disabilities. It is so peaceful and everyone is so kind and caring. Victory Reins is fantastic!!!
July 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

Before is started volunteering at Victory Reins, I was having problems with depression. Since working there my life has so much more meaning! I absolutely love working with the horses, the kids and ... more

July 31, 2014

This is a wonderful organization that helps people of all ages and disabillities to feel like they can overcome their weaknesses. You always feel acceptance and love here. This is my "home away from home". They always make you feel like family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 16, 2012

Before is started volunteering at Victory Reins, I was having problems with depression. Since working there my life has so much more meaning! I absolutely love working with the horses, the kids and the other volunteers! The owner, Miss Sandy, is an outstanding lady who would do ANYTHING to help ANYONE! It is a very positive environment for ALL who go there! While the world is telling you that you are no good and that you can't do something, Miss Sandy is telling and showing you that, "Oh yes you CAN!". It is a place where a person with any kind of disability can go and feel good about themselves again, even the volunteers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

This is a fantastic organization that focuses on each child's need as an individual. The care and support given is wonderful!

Not only am I a client, but also volunteered while I was there. Any help given is always appreciated!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2014

more

July 23, 2014

My wife and I were volunteering last summer when a very young and scared autistic little girl, maybe three or four years old, started coming. We were there the first night she came. She was afraid, no terrified, of all that was going on. The horses scared her, the people, everything. One of the volunteers, Miss Jackie, walked and sang to her during the entire time that first night, and the next few visits as well.
After three visits or so the little one came in with her cowboy boots, a big smile and ready to ride. This was an amazing transformation and connection she made to the horses, the volunteers and to Sandy.
Some of these "clients" have only this to look forward to. They lighten up, get excited by just being there. Jim & Sandy, all the volunteers work very hard and are extremely dedicated to this cause. This is an amazing non-profit organization. Good people with a good cause!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes, as an experiment we were asked to sit and give parents an ear, if needed, while their child was riding. It was a good idea but didn't quite pan out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
October 31, 2013

My son has receiving riding therapy at Victory Reins for quite a few years, and from the every beginning it was clear that everyone there puts their heart and soul into helping our children. When my ... more

July 23, 2014

My son has been riding at Victory Reins for about 7 years now. When he started, he was resistant to putting a helmet on, had poor core strength, was afraid of the horses, etc. Now, he is thrilled to ride! He puts on his own helmet, has gained core strengths, basic skills, knows left from right, knows how to steer the horse, and has become more open to textures. My son has both Autism and Cererbal Palsy. The wonderful people at Victory Reins have helped him grow so much over the years, and he has fun the entire time. He enjoys riding and learning every week. I highly recommend Voctory Reins for anyone looking for dedicated, compassionate and qualified people to help special needs individuals throve through riding therapy.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase their donations

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

My son has receiving riding therapy at Victory Reins for quite a few years, and from the every beginning it was clear that everyone there puts their heart and soul into helping our children. When my son was tiny, he was initially afraid of the horses, but he quickly learned to love them, and through all of this he has gained core strength, coordination, worked on letters, counting, sense of where he is in space and time, and so much more. He, as well as our entire family, also feel like part of a community. Victory Reins is constantly trying to improve their facility, to improve it for the children that they serve, mostly as volunteers. I highly recommend Victory Reins. I am glad we started there years ago. Now, that little boy is a not-so-little 10 year old!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more donations for Victory Reins.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

My son, who has multiple disabilities, has been riding at Victory Reins for about 5 years now, and it has had an amazing effect on his life. The day he started, he was screaming, on sensory overload. He did not even want to put on his helmet. Once he was the pony, and it started moving, he calmed down. Now, he walks in the barn, puts on his own helmet, and thrilled to be there! My son has Cerebral Palsy, Autism, and Primary Speech Delay. Riding with the wonderful volunteers and Sandy, who runs Victory Reins has been life changing for him! It has helped him with muscle tone, sensory issues, learning fine and gross motor skills, and the list could go on forever. Everyone who volunteers there does it with love.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2012

My son, who will be 9 years-old in a few days, has been going to Victory Reins for Therapeutic Riding for 4 years. When he started he was very small, hated putting on his helmet, and was terrified of the horses. He has Cerebral Palsy, Primary Speech and Language Delay, and Autism, so the riding is really good for his core strength, coordination, sensory issues, learning to follow directions, and various aspects of his speech development. Alex has blossomed during the time he been riding at Victory Reins. He is independent in the barn now, putting on his own helmet, no longer afraid of the horses, and excited to ride every week! It makes me smile to hear him say "Trot!". He is much stronger, has learned his left from right, his letters, colors, and his speech has gotten louder, which has been a big issue for him. The entire staff at Victory Reins has been wonderful with us during the time my son has been riding. They have always been very safety conscious, which is important, and they really care about the kids. The head of the organization makes herself easy to reach, and is flexible. To strengthen the organization, it would be great if they had funds for heaters for the arena, so the riding season could go longer, and a truly handicapped accessible bathroom.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

I first found Victory Reins by searching for a stable that would allow people with special needs to ride horses. I have been in the field of developmental disabilities for 15 years now and am always l... more

June 10, 2014

This is my second time bringing a group of developmentally disabled individuals to Victory Reins. First when I worked for St. Coletta's now with Envision Unlimited. I cannot express the utmost love , care, and compassion displayed by Sandy, her husband and all of the volunteers that work at Victory Reins. My clients all had no fear whatsoever getting up to ride a horse for the very first time in their lives. We were there 3 hours and they were able to feed, groom, ride and even "paint" Rasha one of the horses while learning about the various parts of a horse. The horse was so patient and loving. All of the horses are well trained and cared for. Its amazing to watch special needs individuals ride a horse for the first time. To see the smiles and reactions on their faces is truly priceless. Everyone should get a chance to visit this ranch. Its amazing just as the people who own it. This is what making dreams come true is all about.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Don't change a thing!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 30, 2012

I first found Victory Reins by searching for a stable that would allow people with special needs to ride horses. I have been in the field of developmental disabilities for 15 years now and am always looking for ways to help my clients achieve all of their goals and dreams. I did not know what to expect when we arrived but the atmosphere was so welcoming!! Sandy the owner was so attentive to all of my clients needs. I had clients who were wheelchair bound with CP and they have adaptive saddles and other adaptive equipment to make it possible for them to ride. I was here in 2009 and it was truly an experience that I will never ever forget. These clients still talk about it and seeing them achieve one of their biggest dreams brought tears to my eyes. It still does when I think about it. Sandy and her staff and horses are truly AMAZING!!! Such dedication and patience!!! This is a wonderful place for all! If you have a special needs child or clients you must experience what Victory Reins has to offer. Sandy is changing lives...believe that!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

It was so great volunteering here. Everything was so well put together and I had an amazing time! Could not love it more!
April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

There is a quote by an author named George Aliston. He said, "How beautiful a day can be when kindness touches it." This reminds me of Victory Reins. Every Saturday when my daughter attends Victory Reins is a beautiful day. Everyone connected with this organization is very kind and so positive. My daughter has been going there for many years. It has helped her feel confident and accomplished. It is also really a lot of fun. The horses and all the other animals are wonderful . This is a great place for children and adults with disabilities. I am so glad we found this place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

i have watched a young friend of mine blossom at Victory Reins. She has gained confidence working with the animals. Her balance, always a struggle with CP, is better and her petite core is stronger. Her experiences and her descriptions of them bring a light in her face that glows. Everyone who works and volunteers there is dedicated and hardworking. Thank you all for your efforts.
April 29, 2014

more

April 29, 2014

When physically and mentally challenged children are small, the opportunities for social interaction are plentiful but as they get older, the opportunities are slim to almost non-existent. We were very excited to find out about the Victory Reins Center last summer and our 40 year-old son has enjoyed the experience very much. He is in the early stages of learning how to ride a horse but the staff at VR is knowledgeable and patient which is the perfect combination of skills needed to work with the disabled.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Sidewalk with a student and help in a lesson. Groom a horse and put their saddles/ bridles on. General horse/animal care. Various daily chores around the farm like cleaning stalls, feeding the horses and turning them out in the pasture.