Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
1234.965525
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked as a psychotherapist for 20+ years with Veterans of WWII, Korea, Vietnam, Gulf War and the current war. Vets Journey Home is an exceptional opportunity for Veterans to experience a true healing! I am the volunteer Site Coordinator for the Northwood's Vets Journey Home in May each year at the Camp Bird site in Crivitz WI. This weekend has truly been a gift and blessing to those who participate in the experience. We are truly gifted to have this national program available in our local area. Kudos to Patricia, Gene and the VJH board members!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with men, women, and children who have experienced trauma and PTSD for 25 years. For the last six years I have been involved in working with veterans and then I met others who were involved with Vets Journey Home . I am now an instructor and can speak to the well established practices and dedication of the staff to help our veterans come home. An atmosphere of total acceptance and respect for the vets and their stories is the foundation for this exceptional program. VJH-USA has deepened my life, both personally and professionally. It truly is a beacon for many to come home.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I were both participants and then later were able to volunteer also. We were blessed with the opportunity to be in the first couples group. My husband had attended before, but both of us being able to go was fantastic. He still doesn't talk about "stuff" much, but we were both able to see some of what was happening to each of us without the assistance of Vets Journey home.

The excersizes organized by Sam and the rest of the coordinators of the program provide each individual the opportunity to come out of the shadows and fear. Even if it's just a step at a time. They provide a safe atmosphere and encourage trust. The participants are there for themselves and are not having to worry about anything else for a time. I would like to mention the food is pretty good too.

My husband was the original "victim" , but as his spouse I became another victim who suffered also. Thanks to Vets Journy Home I was able to find others to talk to and share concerns and fears. Until you experience the "aloneness" you may not realize how desperate you can become. Vets Journey Home was able to start us both on the road to recovery. I thank God this program has been able to expand and take in the secondary victims - spouses and family.

We need more programs like this. There are so many silently suffering from battles and thinking that there is nothing that can be done. Vets Journey Home is a Godsend. They don't promise miracles, but miracles do happen thanks to that program. Thank you all for your help and support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was a participant and I've also volunteered and staffed a weekend. I personally started the healing of emotional wounds I've carried for over 20 years, and have witnessed others do the same thing with emotional trauma's they've carried even longer than I have. It's not magic, but it's definiately a life changing experiance, and I recomend this to anyone who spent any time in the military.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

every aspect of my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it like McDonalds - 1 or more in every town, and open 7 days a week.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

Another Veteran

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I'll be volunteering to help other vets throughout the rest of my life (as long as I'm able)

October 31, 2011

more

October 31, 2011

I have staffed Vet's Journey Home several times. I am a civilian with a family member currently serving in the Middle East. In addition to the remarkable healing I have witnessed among the Vets in this program, I also experienced deep healing from the emotional trauma of my own experiences watching my friends who went to serve in Viet Nam and how they were changed while I stayed here "safe and sound". This program is a powerful service to the Veterans who have served our country. We owe them so much for the sacrifices they have made and continue to make for all of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to every state in the USA for every Veteran that has ever served.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Deep healing.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Proud to be an American

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Over the past 10 years I staffed 20 of these trainings. The men and women come from the best place for the vets; they come from the heart. Over those years I have been mentored and challenged to step up beyond what I thought I could do. I am a leader in my family and my community. MAny thanks

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my leadership and passion for life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open it up so the whole world could see the gift of this process.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

a process for the staff to critique each other in a good way.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have so many experiences that were life changing as a result.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

like I was making a difference

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 26, 2011

more

October 26, 2011

My experience with Vets Journey Home has changed my life and that of my family in an amazingly positive way. I returned from Iraq after a 16 month deployment and thought I would just move right back into my "normal" life as a husband and father. Five years later I woke up one morning and did not recognize the man that was looking at me in the mirror. There were problems in my family because of how I had changed. It was that day I decided I needed some type of help. After participating in the VJH course, I began to move towards a more positive lifestyle. VJH not only gave me hope of a more fulfilled life, it gave me the tools and support to cope with issues that I had bottled up for such a long time. Every day I wake up a happier man. My wife and two daughters are much happier now that they have their "old Larry"" back. Thank you Vets Journey Home for making it possible for me to heal my heart and begin anew!
Sincerely, Larry Flaskrud - US Army 14 years of service, WI

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

VJH gave me the tools and support to deal with my PTSD.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the course to all 50 states.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Email

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Seek funding to support the return of ALL Vets with the Homecoming they deserve.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To continue mission until ALL Vets return home.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

This program deserves immense support. I have witnessed transformational experiences in every participant I know who has been through the Vets Journey Home program. This is just as true for staff as it is for participants.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have heard program participants testify participation in the program has ended their night terrors enabling them to get a full night's sleep for the first time in many years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage the expansion of the program in a way that qualifies more facilitators so that a greater number of weekend programs can be held.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

I was introduced to this program through my nephew, who went through the VJH program. He is an Iraq vet and was suffering from PTSD. The experience of completing the program made a tremendous difference in his life and in his family's lives. He became more able to adjust back into daily life, enjoy family gatherings, be in crowded places without getting extremely anxious. He could sleep better and found a calling to help other vets do the same.
He is now volunteering to work with his brother/sister vets and helping them in their assimilation back to a more normal life after their military experience. This program works with small groups of vets and letting them tell their story in a safe space and to heal some of the wounding from their experience. We owe this to the men and women who fought and continue to fight for our freedoms in all wars.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Vet's family has benefited from VJH experience. Better adjustment to home and daily life. Less anxiety, sleeps better and able to cope, leaving the war behind, realizing it is part of who he is but it does not define him.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization is just getting off the ground and needs funding and sponsorships to continue it's good work and reach more vets that could also benefit.

October 25, 2011

more

October 25, 2011

I have personally seen very positive results as a result of Vets Journey Home from let's just say a relative. One who is like a son to me. He has worked very hard on his PTSD through VJH and has made amazing progress. His family has benefited greatly, he has become a role model for his family and all around him. He is positive, energetic, spiritual, engaging, non-judgemental, and very helpful to other veterans. I couldn't be more proud of him. We all have Vets Journey Home to thank for his transformation. I highy recommend the group and the programs that they sponsor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help with promotion, office work, phone calls