Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
158 Reviews
1234.917725
| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have been a life member of the VFW National Home for Children since 2002 when I joined the Ladies Auxiliary to Georgetown Memorial Post #6444 Veterans of Foreign Wars. I have conducted yearly Fundraisers for the National Home with the assistance of other Ladies Auxiliary Members. I feel very committed to helping children of Veterans and this is a great organization. I visited the Campus and was pleasantly surprise of the opportunities available for our Military children. I talk about the Children's Home at our regular monthly meetings and advise them to become Life Members, bring in their UPC labels from Campbells, Swanson, etc. The story behind the National is beautiful and I give the story every year at our training session. You are my special organization. Thank you for being there. Hugs to you..Vivian Segelken, Georgetown, SC

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

I have been associated with the VFW National Home for Children since 2001 and am a Life Member of the home. I continue to support it with monetary donations. This past year as the VFW Department of Maryland State Commander, I selected the home as one of my Special Projects. We raised in excess of twenty two thousand dollars for the home, but more importantly, we also added 112 new Life Members from the department. This is significant in that anyone, even a non Veteran, can become a Life Member of the National Home by making a one time donation of thirty fiver dollars. I have also visited the home on several occasions and am very impressed in the way it operates under the leadership of Patrice Green and the other employee's. It is a wonderful place for the children and families of our veterans to reside in the many houses that our VFW Departments have adopted and fund. The children attend school and are not only educated throughout their time living there, but also are involved in many worth projects that teach them the tools they will need to succeed in life. May God continue to bless our National Home, our veterans and their families for their service to our country.

Past State Commander, Carl F. Vogt
VFW Department of Maryland
20112 -2013

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nationally publicize all the accomplishments the home has achieved in changing the lifes of its many residents during its existence. This is a role model home that has turned children's lifes around.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I donate money to the National Home for Children with the confidence that my money will be used properly and with great pride that it is a VFW and Ladies Auxiliary project. We support this great "HOME" for the wonderful things they provide for our military members and their children.
Willo,
Eufaula, OK

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I'm a member of the VFW, as are all my motorcycle friends are - We are the VFWMGTX Unit #10. There are programs that support the Veterans in need of special help, like the Wounded Warrior Project and others, but there are those who are single parents and trauma hits.....what happens to the children? The National Home for Children is there to help them - God Bless Our National for Children!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

As a life member of the Veteran's of Foreign Wars, Military Order of the Cootie, it is our obligation to support the VFW National Home for Children. I with my comrades go to the Home for Ohio Day, Cootie Christmas, and Easter Treat where we stay on campus at the guest house. We always have a great time there with the kids and the hospitality is wonderful.

Clem Cwiklinski
PT 83 Seam Squirrel, VFW Post 3283, Huber Heights, OH.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

Visiting the VFW National Home for Children was an awesome experience for both my husband and me. I found the staff to be friendly, knowledgeable, and place the children and their families as their #1 priority. They continually work hard to provide such a loving outlook on life. Thanks to Patrice Green, along with the entire staff, the families of our nation's heroes are able to overcome the hardships that come with being a soldier in time of war.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything. except, maybe move it closer to my home. I am proud to say that I am a member of the VFW National Home for Children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

Positive, loving environment for children of soldiers deployed or facing hardships. The education and experiences there will be remembered and used their entire lives. It is exceptional! Everyone should take the opportunity to visit or learn more about this facility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To get more people involved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 23, 2010

I became a Life Member of the VFW National Home May of 1968 and have visited the Campus twice, both experiences were exciting and very informative. The work done for our veterans children is outstandi... more

June 4, 2013

I have been associated with the VFW National Home for Children since 1965 and continue to support it with monetary donations. I have visited the home on several occasions and am very impressed in the way it operates and with Patrice Green and the other employess guideance it is a wonderful place for the children and families of our veterans to reside. The children attend school and are not only educated throughout their time living there, but also are involved in many worth projects that teach them the tools they will need to succeed in life. May God continue to bless our veterans and their families for their service to our country.

bcroyston@aol.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 23, 2010

I became a Life Member of the VFW National Home May of 1968 and have visited the Campus twice, both experiences were exciting and very informative. The work done for our veterans children is outstanding, educational and given with lots of love from all employees. I encourage all members and non members to visit the Home web site to learn what a wonderful life these families are given at our Home. In June of 2009 I was given the opportunity of representing the National Organization at the graduation ceremonies and was very impressed with senior class and their goals to further their education. They each spoke of their time spent at the Home and what it meant to them to remain living there as they attended college. I have supported our Home for Children for 42 years and will continue to do all I can to assist in any way I can. Betty Royston, Past Dept. President Dept. of Texas 90/91

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having seen our graduates further their life by entering military and giving back to the men and women who made this home for children of deceased or disabled veterans available to them. Some have become teachers, doctors, lawyers and many other careers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At the present time I would like to see more about the home in the media, letting all know about the good work being done by our organization for the families of our veterans.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Their ability to find the most loving, caring and understanding staff to operate our Home. Patrice Green and her staff are doing a fantastic job.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Friendly, knowledgeable, loving and enjoy their jobs.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Continue to support and raise the children of our veterans who have made the supreme sacrifice for each of us and it is our responsibility to their families are taken care of.

Ways to make it better...

We were able to accomadate all the veterans children who have lost a parent and need a home

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Funding for additional homes and education for the children.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I am extremely proud of the VFW National Home for Children and the care given by the dedicated staff led by Patrice Green.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 25, 2012

I visited the VFW National Home when I was Jr Vice President. It is the most beautiful, caring and serene place. It is a wonderful and safe home for the children and families of our veterans. I've ... more

June 4, 2013

I have visited the National Home for Children and was so impressed with the dedicated staff. The children all seem to be happy, confident and well cared for. It is an honor to be a regular monthly donor. It is so easy to set up a monthly donation. No amount is too small. I encourage everyone to visit their website and if in Michigan to visit the National Home itself. It's one of the best things the Veterans of Foreign Wars and its Ladies Auxiliary do for our veterans and their families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

I visited the VFW National Home when I was Jr Vice President. It is the most beautiful, caring and serene place. It is a wonderful and safe home for the children and families of our veterans. I've been making an automatic monthly donation for 3 years. Can't think of a more worthy cause. I was fortunate this year to visit when Santa delivered gifts to all of the children. What a great experience! I would recommend this home for even my grandchildren if it were necessary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

As a combat service veteran and VFW Life Member, it is nice to know that in the event something tragic happens to me and my wife, there is a place where my child can go and be in a stable, caring and wholesome atmosphere like the VFW National Home for Children as opposed to becoming a ward of the state. This is a prime example of the expression "Veterans Helping Veterans".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

You don't change success.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers