Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
139 Reviews
1234.913675
| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review
June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I became a donor when my dad died. He was a WWII veteran in the European war and was a long time member and supporter of the VFW, especially of the National Home For Children. I gave in my dad's memory and have continued to honor him with contributions and because after visiting there the need for help became even more obvious. I was also impressed at how well the whole place was maintained - the buildings as well as the whole property - nothing fancy yet the responsibility and pride showing in the level of care was obvious. I donated a tandem bike and office furniture on that visit and the people I met with were very pleasant and grateful. I highly recommend this for those looking for a very worthwhile giving opportunity that serves a much needed purpose and is received with appreciation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish it was possible to make this organization unnecessary but until then I am glad they are there to serve those who need them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been suppoprting since 1960, it gives a great deal to the children who are alone, and unfortunate.
I visited the Michigan site, In eaton rapids while in Scouts, years ago, and was impressed with what i saw, and learned about the services provided to children

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I am so glad to be able to support the VFW National Home for Children. As a member of the auxiliary of Tonganoxie, Kansas Post 9271, I and the other members of the Post and Auxiliary support the Home on a regular basis. I was able to visit the home recently and tour the campus. It is wonderful place for our military families and their children especially who need help. It is beautiful campus and well kept. When I visited, I saw the children, with their backpacks, waiting on the school bus. They were happy and well cared for. There is also a playground and daycare for the younger children. Those children have opportunities that help them thoughout their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage them to keep doing what they are doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

The VFW National Home is a community for the children, widows and widowers of our service men and women who have died for our freedom. The grounds and homes are well kept providing a community environment. Children attend schools within the local school district and either go on to college, join the military or return to the National Home as counselors and house parents. When donations are requested for specific projects you always receive an update on the progress and completion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add an additional guest lodge to accommodate visitors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I am impressed with the VFW national home, the children are well cared for as they grow up and are educated and well prepared to move forward to lead a happy and useful life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing noted

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I'm a life member of the VFW National Home for Children because there is no other organization that cares so much about the lives of the orphans and widows/widowers of America's heroes than this one. It provides for every aspect of American life and its experiences that these beneficiaries would likely not have or be able to afford. Aside from those organizations that provide for our wounded warriors returning home, I can think of no other organization equal to the VFW National Home for Children!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would only try to make sure there were fewer orphans, widows and widowers that would have a need for their services...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

For many years I donated to the home because it was encouraged for VFW and Auxiliary members. Then I went there to visit at Christmas in 2012 and returned there a few weeks ago. My donations now are not because they are encouraged, the donations are because it is money best spent. The level of care, honest love, the amazing support system and a staff second to none has created an environment that fosters success. I once thought the cost of the home was expensive until I realized that the people and the facilities enable permanent life changing success stories. The fact that they exist without any government support is testimony to the compassion of the American people and the generosity of many business entities

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

The VFW National Chrildre's Home is the greatest Non-Profit organization I know of, they help out ALL not Some but ALL of our nations Veteran's and their families, whether it's one child, or 10 it doesn't matter. The spouse'e are not left out either, basically anyone assicated with a veteran's family is eligible to live at the national home. What else could be said is I salute the VFW NATIONAL CHILDREN'S HOME for all they do for our countries veterans and HERO's.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 1, 2012

I have not been there, but I have attended meetings that they have hosted and I believe in their cause - supporting our veteran servicemen and women and families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

I visited the National Home for Children in Sept of 2010. The facilities and staff are excellent. Social services are provided that assist the family in whatever situations they are dealing with. This facility will serve many families well into the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers