Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
1234.927935
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

VFW Nat. Hm.for Children: I can not say enough about the vitaly GOOD work they preform. If it wasn't for them where would all the children go? It is to our shame that there isn't TWICE the number of beds for them. We/All the NATION should step up and help out. ALL the NATION IS FREE because of Veterans both Male and Female. $35.00 is a once in a lifetime to be a Life Member. DO IT. Douglas at: vfwgabbsnv3677@yahoo.com. I give my express permission for them to use my email add. in any way that helps.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They have always been very quick to respond to ANY phone call and emails within minutes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Double the Number of Beds available, TO START......

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Without Children the Whole World will die. Our Veterans ARE DIEING for our Country and for that matter the World. What kind of low-life-reject-P.O._. , would we be if we would not send just a few dollars to help. A LIFE, for $35. Get real, every member of your staff "Great Nonprofits should all ready be a life member. And it wouldn't hurt all that much if "Great Nonprofits", matcheda the donations. Doug at, "vfwgabbsnv3677@yahoo.com

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Should have known sometime ago, just found out....

What would you tell others about this organization?

SAVE OUR CHILDREN AND THE VETERANS FAMILIES, THEY ARE DIEING FOR YOU. WHAT WILL YOU DO FOR THEM.......?

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I turly believe in this place. This goes to show military takes care of it own. We give until it hurts and keep finding ways to keep giving.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 26, 2012

The VFW National Home is a wonderful place where Veterans and their families receive the assistance they so deserve. I had read about the Home and donated to the Home, but I never realized the full impact that the home can have on a child or a family until I visited the Home and saw the wonderful Staff in action and got to see and speak with the families that live at the Home. There is no other place like it!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 25, 2012

Our Auxiliary donates to the VFW Naaaational Home for Children because it provides a refuge for orphaned children, single parents and for returning veterans who need assistanc in housinge. Also, a he... more

June 5, 2013

I am a Life member of the VFW Ladies Auxiliary and I feel the National Home for Children is a wonderful program. Our children are the hope of the future and the love and care provided can only nurture future good citizens. Not only are children provided care but also single parents are provided a home in need and helped to be able to create a stable family life. A Lifeline is available for those veterans and families under stress and they receive information where to receive help and aid.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2012

Our Auxiliary donates to the VFW Naaaational Home for Children because it provides a refuge for orphaned children, single parents and for returning veterans who need assistanc in housinge. Also, a helpline is maintained to aid and comfort those with problems.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2011

I have been both my Auxiliary and District Chairman for National Home many years, the last 2 under the Veterans and Family program.
I feel it is so important to care for and nurture our children and I feel National Home is doing a good job especially now that families are included in the
program. What better way to keep a family intact during hard times? My Auxiliary donates funds whenever a need is made known.
At every meeting we have a penny march and the funds collected are sent yearly for a special treat for the children

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

na

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

na

June 25, 2012

The VFW National Home is one of the best oranizations you can contribute to. The National Home for Children helps veterans families that have made a sacrifice for all of us. Contributions go for the National Home for Children and for no other purpose.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

As a 44 year plus donor to the VFW National Home I continue to support it because I have seen the organization grow physically and expand it's programs as the needs of those it serves changes. Any organization must continuously evaluate its value and relavance. The VFW NH does that. With new programs the NH has demonstrated its wllingness to change so that it may continue to serve without changing its core mission. The VFW NH has shown its fiscal responsibility as well as its social responsibility maintaining the trust of its supportors. The children and families served can be forever grateful for the opportunities given to them by a caring organization and loving staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

I begin donating to the VFW National Home while I was working in Panama as that is where I joined the VFW Organization. We passed the Hat for your change at our Monthly VFW Meetings. I joined the VFW National Home for Children as a Life Member in 1997 while Post Commander of post 7327 Springfield Va. I now donate Monthly from my checking account to the National Home. I ran for District 5 VFW National Home for Children trustee in 2004 against Commander-in-Chief elect John (Dr Death) Hamilton and me and significant others lost to him and we all look forward to serving with him beginning July 25,2012. I intend to increase my monthly allotment to the national home in the nearfuture as it does so much for our organization. WJ Leonard

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

Just about every day I receive requests for donations and since I have a limited budget, I want to help those most deserving. I am a Veteran and so I associate with those organizations and I use Charity Navigator to assist me in doing the evaluations. From the publications and e-mails, I feel like the Veterans of Foreign Wars National Home For Children is doing a fantastic job working with the service members and children. I plan on continuing to support them and I pray that others will too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

I decided to help the VFW National Home becasue a personal story shared with me. A soldier was killed while serving overseas and his wife and children were moving back home were involved in an accident taking the mother and a child leaving another orphaned. The VFW National home hase taken that child in and will provide for that child and all its children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

As a long-time Life Member who has visited the National Home a number of times over the past ten years or more, I have seen the campus, visited with the kids and talked with many of the staff members as well as house parents. I am proud to be a part of the Home "family" since the level of professionalism, dedication and enthusiasm of the staff is obviously the reason for the success, happiness and love found in the kids, both those presently living there as well as those who have moved on. The VFW National Home provides an excellent proxy home for its kids and parents in a normal familial environment without which many of the kids would be in a public entitlement program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers