Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.892865
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
June 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 23, 2010

I became a Life Member of the VFW National Home May of 1968 and have visited the Campus twice, both experiences were exciting and very informative. The work done for our veterans children is outstandi... more

June 4, 2013

I have been associated with the VFW National Home for Children since 1965 and continue to support it with monetary donations. I have visited the home on several occasions and am very impressed in the way it operates and with Patrice Green and the other employess guideance it is a wonderful place for the children and families of our veterans to reside. The children attend school and are not only educated throughout their time living there, but also are involved in many worth projects that teach them the tools they will need to succeed in life. May God continue to bless our veterans and their families for their service to our country.

bcroyston@aol.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 23, 2010

I became a Life Member of the VFW National Home May of 1968 and have visited the Campus twice, both experiences were exciting and very informative. The work done for our veterans children is outstanding, educational and given with lots of love from all employees. I encourage all members and non members to visit the Home web site to learn what a wonderful life these families are given at our Home. In June of 2009 I was given the opportunity of representing the National Organization at the graduation ceremonies and was very impressed with senior class and their goals to further their education. They each spoke of their time spent at the Home and what it meant to them to remain living there as they attended college. I have supported our Home for Children for 42 years and will continue to do all I can to assist in any way I can. Betty Royston, Past Dept. President Dept. of Texas 90/91

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Having seen our graduates further their life by entering military and giving back to the men and women who made this home for children of deceased or disabled veterans available to them. Some have become teachers, doctors, lawyers and many other careers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At the present time I would like to see more about the home in the media, letting all know about the good work being done by our organization for the families of our veterans.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Their ability to find the most loving, caring and understanding staff to operate our Home. Patrice Green and her staff are doing a fantastic job.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Friendly, knowledgeable, loving and enjoy their jobs.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Continue to support and raise the children of our veterans who have made the supreme sacrifice for each of us and it is our responsibility to their families are taken care of.

Ways to make it better...

We were able to accomadate all the veterans children who have lost a parent and need a home

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

Funding for additional homes and education for the children.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I am extremely proud of the VFW National Home for Children and the care given by the dedicated staff led by Patrice Green.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 25, 2012

I visited the VFW National Home when I was Jr Vice President. It is the most beautiful, caring and serene place. It is a wonderful and safe home for the children and families of our veterans. I've ... more

June 4, 2013

I have visited the National Home for Children and was so impressed with the dedicated staff. The children all seem to be happy, confident and well cared for. It is an honor to be a regular monthly donor. It is so easy to set up a monthly donation. No amount is too small. I encourage everyone to visit their website and if in Michigan to visit the National Home itself. It's one of the best things the Veterans of Foreign Wars and its Ladies Auxiliary do for our veterans and their families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

I visited the VFW National Home when I was Jr Vice President. It is the most beautiful, caring and serene place. It is a wonderful and safe home for the children and families of our veterans. I've been making an automatic monthly donation for 3 years. Can't think of a more worthy cause. I was fortunate this year to visit when Santa delivered gifts to all of the children. What a great experience! I would recommend this home for even my grandchildren if it were necessary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

As a combat service veteran and VFW Life Member, it is nice to know that in the event something tragic happens to me and my wife, there is a place where my child can go and be in a stable, caring and wholesome atmosphere like the VFW National Home for Children as opposed to becoming a ward of the state. This is a prime example of the expression "Veterans Helping Veterans".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

You don't change success.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have visited the VFW National Home for Children and it is a wonderful place. The homes and grounds are beautiful and WELL kept. The National Home is a positive place for families to grow and make a better life. I love that the National Home has also opened up to the children of our service men and women that both are serving overseas at the same time. What a blessing for these men and women to know that their children are safe and well cared for.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have donated to the Home over the years, and have visited several times with our Military Order of Cooties/Auxiliary organization. It is a wonderful place that not only cares for the children and the families, but teaches them life skills to grow as people and improve their situations. They give the parents and children a safe and nurturing place to live, while they better themselves through education and job training. It is a hand up - not a hand out.

At one time, I referred someone to the home. While they did not end up moving to Michigan, the staff worked diligently to find them the resources that could help them here in Minnesota.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been an Auxiliary Sister for 30+ years. I and another Aux. Sister attended another convention in Grand Rapids a few years ago and I had told myself, if I EVER get to Michigan, I am going to visit the VFW National Home for Children and we did. I collect the Campbell Soup POPs to help get the vans for the National Home. When we visited - they had just received Van #5 and I believe they now have Van #6. Wherever I travel and visit, I have my handy "clipper" available and often ask friends and families to allow me to search for POPs in their pantries and they are gracious when I tell them the POPs are for the VFW National Children's Home for a new Van. We were able to visit the Washington State sponsored home on our visit, stayed in the Guest House and saw the need for the repairs and upgrading project recently accomplished and supported that. I feel it is an honor to have been given a LIFE Membership to the National Home by my Auxiliary in years past. I strongly support the memorial bricks and FINALLY signed up for automatic donations since this is one of my favorite non-profit charities. The staff that assisted us were wonderful and so helpful. I cannot say enough about the wonderful things the staff and volunteers do for the veterans and their families. We visited the nursery and were impressed with the cleanliness of the facility.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I became a donor when my dad died. He was a WWII veteran in the European war and was a long time member and supporter of the VFW, especially of the National Home For Children. I gave in my dad's memory and have continued to honor him with contributions and because after visiting there the need for help became even more obvious. I was also impressed at how well the whole place was maintained - the buildings as well as the whole property - nothing fancy yet the responsibility and pride showing in the level of care was obvious. I donated a tandem bike and office furniture on that visit and the people I met with were very pleasant and grateful. I highly recommend this for those looking for a very worthwhile giving opportunity that serves a much needed purpose and is received with appreciation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish it was possible to make this organization unnecessary but until then I am glad they are there to serve those who need them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been suppoprting since 1960, it gives a great deal to the children who are alone, and unfortunate.
I visited the Michigan site, In eaton rapids while in Scouts, years ago, and was impressed with what i saw, and learned about the services provided to children

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I am so glad to be able to support the VFW National Home for Children. As a member of the auxiliary of Tonganoxie, Kansas Post 9271, I and the other members of the Post and Auxiliary support the Home on a regular basis. I was able to visit the home recently and tour the campus. It is wonderful place for our military families and their children especially who need help. It is beautiful campus and well kept. When I visited, I saw the children, with their backpacks, waiting on the school bus. They were happy and well cared for. There is also a playground and daycare for the younger children. Those children have opportunities that help them thoughout their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage them to keep doing what they are doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

The VFW National Home is a community for the children, widows and widowers of our service men and women who have died for our freedom. The grounds and homes are well kept providing a community environment. Children attend schools within the local school district and either go on to college, join the military or return to the National Home as counselors and house parents. When donations are requested for specific projects you always receive an update on the progress and completion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add an additional guest lodge to accommodate visitors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers