Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
158 Reviews
1234.917725
Write A Review
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I am a life member of VFW National Home for Children because of the fantastic work they do helping families of our veterans stay together through difficult times. What more honorable way to tell our veterans & most importantly their children that they are respected & loved!
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I am a member of the Veterans of ForeignWars {VFW}. Military Order of Cooties{MOC}, and a Life Member of VFW National Home for Children. The help the Home provides to children of our veterans is amazing . Both at Eaton Rapids,MI & through Website and 800 numbers nationally..
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

Been involved as a donor for many years. Was involved as a volunteer and helped build a duplex when a member of the UAW Veterans committee. Volunteered to help when the moving wall was displayed a few years ago. Retired in 2007, moved to Florida and as a Life member and officer of my VFW post make a challenge to our post every year. Challenge is, I will personally match dollar for dollar any contribution our post makes to the home for the year. I am a Life Member of the The VFW National Home for Children, and have visited the home several times and can see so many amazing things that are always in progress there. The home helps to fill the void for our veterans families are faced with and you should make the time to visit the home in Eaton Rapids to see for yourself what great things are accomplished with our donations.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I am a member of the VFW Auxiliary and when one of our members passed away leaving a child with no one left to care for him the VFW National Home stepped right up to take charge of him. This child received an education and a 'family' immediately when he would otherwise have been placed in an adoption home for who knows how long. It provided him with instant stability and he blossomed into a wonderful young man thanks to the wonderful staff at this facility.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I wish I lived close to Eaton Rapids so I could volunteer, but thats not the case so I do what I can thru monthly donations. Having been a life member of the VFW for many years and listening to the mention of the national home in our closing prayer it just seems natural to help financially. As a Christian nation we are called upon to help one another and I can't think of anyone more deserving than our military families. They have given so much and yet our country expects more and more of them with fewer members. My meager donations have been recognized on a frequent basis and the National Home does a wonderful job staying in touch it its supporters. If you can't help financially, take a few minutes and lift the residents and staff up in prayer. Thanks

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

enhance its outreach through volunteers in each state.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I am a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States (VFW), Military Order of the Cootie (MOC), and a Life Member of the National Home, as is my wife. We have been donating to the National Home since 2003 and consider it to be the pearl of the VFW and MOC. In December 2008 my wife and I were able to go to the National Home when I was the Grand Commander of the MOC in Nevada. We were able to meet with and talk to the staff, parents and children and found that every single one of them were praising the National Home and what was being accomplished there! They were very appreciative of the support they and the Home receives from members of the VFW and MOC and their Auxiliaries. We are proud to be considered a part of that support.

The recent program that was opened at the National Home to assist the spouse and family of deployed troops is absolutely outstanding!! The program helps them while the deployed spouse is gone and provides family needs. When the spouse comes home the National Home reintroduces the deployed member to the family unit and helps the family plan for the future and with getting housing and back into the normal flow of family life.

We pray the National Home continues far into the future because it is truly essential to this day and age!!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I have been associated with the VFW National Home for Children in Eaton Rapids, MI for the last 12 years or so through my membership as an officer in my local VFW Post. The home has always been proactive in doing all within their power to care for the dependents of active duty folks needing help with some of the life challenges that being in the military brings. They have a state of the art school located on a beautiful campus. They have recently been fundraising to raise money for the upgrade of their technology department with computers, printers and such. I donate to the Home on a regular basis and my father who recently passed provided funds for them - a wonderful cause.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I grew up in 10 foster homes and two Institutions" The VFW National Home is superior to all of them. I donoate and participate in the Annual Cootie Christmas Party.
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The VFW National Home for Children is a non-profit unlike any other! Their mission is to help not only children but families to survive in a beautiful setting where kids grow up and thrive. Each time I visit the Home, I still get chills watching the children and seeing how well the whole place runs. Words cannot express they good they do!
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great organization making a real difference in the lives of families affected by war. You can feel the calm as soon as you arrive on the campus. The families who live at the National Home work hard to get their lives headed in the right direction, and the staff is there to help and encourage them every step of the way.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers