Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.892865
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

Our VFW & LAVFW in Blanchard, OK supported in 2012-2013 with several donations and some of our members became life members. I will be a life member soon!! We hope the new phone system has been installed and we purchased bricks to help them and to honor the namesake of our Post, Tony K Burris, Medal of Honor. Going there for a visit is on my bucket list.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

Our auxiliary buys a life membership for one of our members each year. It's a small way to help this great cause.
We also save soup labels to help them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have been a life member of the VFW National Home for Children since 2002 when I joined the Ladies Auxiliary to Georgetown Memorial Post #6444 Veterans of Foreign Wars. I have conducted yearly Fundraisers for the National Home with the assistance of other Ladies Auxiliary Members. I feel very committed to helping children of Veterans and this is a great organization. I visited the Campus and was pleasantly surprise of the opportunities available for our Military children. I talk about the Children's Home at our regular monthly meetings and advise them to become Life Members, bring in their UPC labels from Campbells, Swanson, etc. The story behind the National is beautiful and I give the story every year at our training session. You are my special organization. Thank you for being there. Hugs to you..Vivian Segelken, Georgetown, SC

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

I have been associated with the VFW National Home for Children since 2001 and am a Life Member of the home. I continue to support it with monetary donations. This past year as the VFW Department of Maryland State Commander, I selected the home as one of my Special Projects. We raised in excess of twenty two thousand dollars for the home, but more importantly, we also added 112 new Life Members from the department. This is significant in that anyone, even a non Veteran, can become a Life Member of the National Home by making a one time donation of thirty fiver dollars. I have also visited the home on several occasions and am very impressed in the way it operates under the leadership of Patrice Green and the other employee's. It is a wonderful place for the children and families of our veterans to reside in the many houses that our VFW Departments have adopted and fund. The children attend school and are not only educated throughout their time living there, but also are involved in many worth projects that teach them the tools they will need to succeed in life. May God continue to bless our National Home, our veterans and their families for their service to our country.

Past State Commander, Carl F. Vogt
VFW Department of Maryland
20112 -2013

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nationally publicize all the accomplishments the home has achieved in changing the lifes of its many residents during its existence. This is a role model home that has turned children's lifes around.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I donate money to the National Home for Children with the confidence that my money will be used properly and with great pride that it is a VFW and Ladies Auxiliary project. We support this great "HOME" for the wonderful things they provide for our military members and their children.
Willo,
Eufaula, OK

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I'm a member of the VFW, as are all my motorcycle friends are - We are the VFWMGTX Unit #10. There are programs that support the Veterans in need of special help, like the Wounded Warrior Project and others, but there are those who are single parents and trauma hits.....what happens to the children? The National Home for Children is there to help them - God Bless Our National for Children!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

As a life member of the Veteran's of Foreign Wars, Military Order of the Cootie, it is our obligation to support the VFW National Home for Children. I with my comrades go to the Home for Ohio Day, Cootie Christmas, and Easter Treat where we stay on campus at the guest house. We always have a great time there with the kids and the hospitality is wonderful.

Clem Cwiklinski
PT 83 Seam Squirrel, VFW Post 3283, Huber Heights, OH.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I was able to travel to Michigan and tour the homes and meet some of those veterans and children They have done more good with the funds that they have received for their campus than any other organization that I am involved with. This is just like home. The housing is marvelous and the staffing is 100% effective in helping the veterans and their families. They utilize every penny that is contributed in each aspect of the campus. There is always more to be done and I would recommend this charity as a #1 on any contributors list of excellent charities to support.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

Visiting the VFW National Home for Children was an awesome experience for both my husband and me. I found the staff to be friendly, knowledgeable, and place the children and their families as their #1 priority. They continually work hard to provide such a loving outlook on life. Thanks to Patrice Green, along with the entire staff, the families of our nation's heroes are able to overcome the hardships that come with being a soldier in time of war.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything. except, maybe move it closer to my home. I am proud to say that I am a member of the VFW National Home for Children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

Positive, loving environment for children of soldiers deployed or facing hardships. The education and experiences there will be remembered and used their entire lives. It is exceptional! Everyone should take the opportunity to visit or learn more about this facility.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To get more people involved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers