Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.892865
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 10, 2014

more

May 10, 2014

As one who used to live on the campus of the VFW National Home For Children, I will give all willing to donate one dire warning: for the love of god DON'T! I lived here for a few years and it was all a total façade. Everything that you see on state days is FAKE. All the "shiny happy people" are just people who are being led into insanity by Patrice Green and Molly Studinger. I have seen this firsthand, every "house tour" is set up. Everything has to be done to the employee's standards and I feel that is very wrong. Is it suspicious that the houses look virtually vacant when you tour? I know that the social workers such as Naomi McClurg and Andrea Durkee did NOT like me and my family being present during house tours. Point is, they want to control and manipulate your lives and it is WRONG. For the love of god, donate your money to worthier causes, such as the "Stand Up And shout" cancer fund, or the Michigan Humane Society, just not these fools! Expect this to be taken down as soon as a rep from the hime finds this, as a form of damage control!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire almost EVERYBODY, hire people with some sense and brains of all things, and start all over from square one.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Barbara6396 wrote:
I have been a member of the Ladies Auxiliary to the Veterans of Foreign Wars since 1977. Several members of my family served at different times. My father, uncles, husband, cousins, niece and nephews. The National Home for Children take in children and families of military
men and women who are not able to be here for them. They financially assist and give them a home. To my knowledge every child that was raised there have gone on to better things. How can this not be the best nonprofit in America. I have personally visited the home and was very proud of what I saw.








Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing I would change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I visited National Home in 2012 for the first time and was awed by this "little city" The folks that live there are warm and welcoming and feel truly blessed! If anyone is around Eaton Rapids, please make sure you stop and visit

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I joined the VFW Auxiliary about 15 years ago. One of the first things I found out about was the VFW National Home for Children. I purchased a Life Membership as soon as I found out about it. My husband and I ride motorcycles and we have made several rides to collect items and toys for the children at the facility. My husband made 2 trips with the State Cmdr. of Texas to deliver the items and toys collected. I was so proud when Texas was able to adopt a home there and it was called the Texas House. I collect soda and beer tabs for them to help as a donation as well as I make donations when able to. I really feel that this facility is just one more way that we can help a veterans familiy in need and after they have done so much for us I feel we should do what ever we can to help them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

By my own choice, I do not know enough about their day to day operations to say that I would change anything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been a member of my local Auxiliary since the age of 16, I am now 63. I am a past officer and hold a life membership. I feel that anything we can do for our service people and their families and the veterans and their families is little enough for what they have given us in return. I include their families because they also serve by keeping the home fires burning so to speak. The VFW and its Auxiliary are and have been such a part of my family history with my Father and Mother both participating as much as possible during my growing up years. I will continue to support this organization for as long as it exists and in anyway I can. I find it to be worthwhile of my efforts and time because it works and helps so many people. Terry S.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2011

more

November 1, 2011

I lived at the VFW National Home for a short while. My father who was a WWII and Korean War Veteran died dued to injuries from a car accident. He was my last surviving parent. I was taken in by the home. I was better cared for then most parents are able to care for their own children these days. Every single person who worked there that I came across cared for us and not just because it was their job. They were invested in us. My house parents were priceless.

I know my dear father rested in peace to know that by serving his country and being a member of the VFW with fellow military members that his family was NOT forgotten when a tragedy occured and his family needed help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I lived at the home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Unless it has changed none.

March 23, 2010

more

March 23, 2010

What a great experience I had during my short seven year stay at the VFW National Home. My two brothers were also there, though not in the same cottage but just across the street. At a very young age I or should I say we all learned teamwork. From making our beds to preparing food, to working on the grounds or in the garden or barns we all were being taught principles of life. Myself I was lucky to represent the home at the 1951 convention in New York City along with three other kids. I remember all of the things that were made available to us kids from the swimming pool to the baseball and football fields. Even the hills where we used our sleds and ski's and kites that we received from the great Christmas Party that the Cooties provided. No kid missed a holiday or the chance for a education thanks to the generous members of the VFW throughout the United States. Today when I mention to people that I was in the VFW Home people look at me and say they pity me for having to live in a orphanage. When I explain and I have even taken some people to the home and showed them how we raised they couldn't get over how beautiful the grounds are. I take my hat off to every member for allowing me the chance to live a great life.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

I went to the past two Alumni Days and the staff and volunteers couldn't do enough for us attending. From the lunch to the pictures to the tours they went out of their way to make sure all of our wants and needs were taken care of.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers