Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
158 Reviews
1234.917725
Write A Review
June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been supporting the VFW National Home for Children since becoming a Ladies Auxiliary member in 1989. Coming from a military family and living close to an Army post, I see what the Home offers our military people when they really need that extra support. I visited the Home two years ago and was extremely impressed at the "village" atmosphere. I encourage others to support the Home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I suppose there is always room to update things, but I'm not sure what, if anything, should be changed at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

As VFW and Auxiliary members we all know how important our National home is. Those who don't just haven't been exposed to the facts. What better way to help the family of the veteran that gave us our freedom of today than supporting their families that National Home has taken in.
National
Home gives the children a chance at life through education, protection, and love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

My husband when he was alive we attended the VFW National Home for Children and we always took something away with us.. We have supported the home ever since we joined the VFW and now that I am going in as President for my Auxiliary 9400 in Sunnyslope Arizona both VFW and MOCA I hope that we will be able to do more them, in years gone past.. We are so proud of our home for our veterans families and so forth..Its a wonderful place and a worth while cause..Thank you for making it possible and so an honor for us the Aux to help and make it just a little better for them all..
Thank you Weezie

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

The Veterans of Foreign Wars, National Home for Children is incredible. Building on an incredibly long history of helping families in residence at the Home, their very impressive and professional staff have expanded their focus to assist veteran families wherever they are located. With caring and compassion, they stand ready to help families in need navigate the often complex sea of services available. Families in crisis are so often consumed by the daunting pressures they face, that they are unable to search for those services available to assist them. This is a mission that the National Home has readily accepted and joyfully support and guide families to those solutions that provide life changing events. I am very, very proud to be a supporter of our National Home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the home and spending time with the people who reside there and the children. I was extremely impressed with the way they are being helped to put their lives back in pe... more

October 26, 2014

What the VFW National Home provides for families of veterans and their children is awesome. It gives the children a healthy place to live in and a normal family atmosphere for them and allows a mother or father a chance to build a career while not having to worry about their child. The people who work at the home are very special caring individuals who enjoy their work and love everything about the home.
I have visited the home several times and each time I have been very impressed with the people who work there and have totally enjoyed the children and their family when there.

Bonnie Burgy, Mem. Ladies Aux. VFW
June 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the home and spending time with the people who reside there and the children. I was extremely impressed with the way they are being helped to put their lives back in perspective with being able to not worry how their family is cared for while they learn to go out into the workplace or by going on to further education to assist them in returning to the work force. Our military personnel who are married and both are being sent to serve their country overseas have a place where their children can stay and be cared for while both are deployed. The children at the home receive a home life that is filled with a life that children should have while separated from their parents and are able to stay in a safe comfortable atmosphere and continue a life to which they are used to. The home also provides a help line for returning military personnel where they receive assistance obtaining help receiving their benefits and if they need medical or mental assistance they are giving information to obtain this help and if necessary they are brought to the home and assisted until they are able to be on their own. The people who work at the home are some of the most caring people in the world and their main purpose is to help our military families maintain life styles that are beneficial and productive and active military personnel do their job without the worry of what is happening to their children and spouses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

AS a member of the Ladies Auxiliary and a Life member of the VFW National Children's Home it gives me great pleasure to support such a wonderful part of the VFW. The housing, caring and support that our Military children , spouses and entire families recieve from the Home are unmatch anywhere in the US. As a non-profit they rely only on the donations of others which in itself makes their accomplishments outstanding. Seeing how happy and well nurtured the children are gives you a very warm and happy feeling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

The VFW National Home for Children, is a wonderful place dedicated to helping Children, and families of Veterans to Foreign wars. The Home has many programs available. Your help and donations are always needed to suppoet the good works od the VFW National Home for Children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

I visited the V F W National Home Twice and both times I was so impressed with the work they do. They really give the veterans and their families the help they need to get back to a self supporting family. They truly care about the children, and the parents needs. The love they show to all of them is amazing. They support the children in their daily activities whether it is school, sports, 4-h choirs, or just having fun outside. They have fishing derby's . The care they give the children is wonderful. They help the veteran heal by getting him or her the help they need it's different for all of them ,so they have so much to offer each of them. They teach the family how to function as a family.I think the National Home is the best organisation to donate to because it helps the whole family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

VFW National Home is a special place and needs to be shared with everyone whether a Veteran or not. It's a beautiful community and loving place for children and grandchildren of Veteran's and now some our returning Vets and families have a home to start their lives over. Our Veteran's have done so much for our country and we need to help and support anyway we can and VFW National Home is the very best. I have set up for a donation from my checking account to the Home each month and every dollar helps the Home help our Veteran's. I am a recruiter for VFW National Home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

I'm a VFW Ladies Auxiliary member and was able to visit the VFW National Home for Children in May, 2012. I was very impressed by what they do for our Veteran's and their children. The campus is beautiful. The staff is first rate. Every State's Veteran's service officer should have access to what the National Home is all about and how they can help our veteran's and their families. We have fundraisers for the VFW National Home for children every year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers