Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.892865
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2012

AS a member of the Ladies Auxiliary and a Life member of the VFW National Children's Home it gives me great pleasure to support such a wonderful part of the VFW. The housing, caring and support that our Military children , spouses and entire families recieve from the Home are unmatch anywhere in the US. As a non-profit they rely only on the donations of others which in itself makes their accomplishments outstanding. Seeing how happy and well nurtured the children are gives you a very warm and happy feeling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

The VFW National Home for Children, is a wonderful place dedicated to helping Children, and families of Veterans to Foreign wars. The Home has many programs available. Your help and donations are always needed to suppoet the good works od the VFW National Home for Children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

I visited the V F W National Home Twice and both times I was so impressed with the work they do. They really give the veterans and their families the help they need to get back to a self supporting family. They truly care about the children, and the parents needs. The love they show to all of them is amazing. They support the children in their daily activities whether it is school, sports, 4-h choirs, or just having fun outside. They have fishing derby's . The care they give the children is wonderful. They help the veteran heal by getting him or her the help they need it's different for all of them ,so they have so much to offer each of them. They teach the family how to function as a family.I think the National Home is the best organisation to donate to because it helps the whole family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

VFW National Home is a special place and needs to be shared with everyone whether a Veteran or not. It's a beautiful community and loving place for children and grandchildren of Veteran's and now some our returning Vets and families have a home to start their lives over. Our Veteran's have done so much for our country and we need to help and support anyway we can and VFW National Home is the very best. I have set up for a donation from my checking account to the Home each month and every dollar helps the Home help our Veteran's. I am a recruiter for VFW National Home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

I'm a VFW Ladies Auxiliary member and was able to visit the VFW National Home for Children in May, 2012. I was very impressed by what they do for our Veteran's and their children. The campus is beautiful. The staff is first rate. Every State's Veteran's service officer should have access to what the National Home is all about and how they can help our veteran's and their families. We have fundraisers for the VFW National Home for children every year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

I am a member of the Ladies Auxiiary to the Veterans of Foreign Wars. We have a program for this organization. We have events to raise money for donations to this wonderful place. I recently had the opportunity to take a tour of the facility. It's beautiful! Each home is sponsored by a state VFW or Cootie. The staff are some of the nicest, most helpful people I've ever met. We, the Dept of Kentucky VFW, sponsored the Fishing Derby this year for the children. We fished, had a cookout and provided prizes. Some of the patients from two of the local VA hospitals were brought in to share in the day's event. The Home provides shelter, clothing, food and training for military families accross the country who have fallen on hard times, either through the deployment or loss of their military spouse, or, when both parents have been deployed or lost and there are no other family to help. The children go to school and are taken care of until they are 18. Then, the Home pays for their college. Our military has given and continues to give and pay the ultimate price for our country. This VFW National Home for Children is just one of the ways we can give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2011

more

November 4, 2011

I have a friend that needed help. She contacted the VFW National Home. All she Braged about was how they gave her the help she needed and she would recomend other Military families that needed help too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 2, 2011

I am a Life Member of the VFW Ladies Auxiliary and Life Member of the VFW National Home for Children.
I have been "in love" with National Home since my first visit there in 1992. I served as National Home Chairman for my auxiliary for several years.
As a member of the Women's Auxiliary to
the Military Order of the Cootie, I have enjoyed many Cootie Christmas Parties with "Our Kids" and spent time visiting with many of the families.
It is important to know that the National Home does not receive any money from the federal government or the State of Michigan.
For many years, the Home was funded solely by donations from VFW Posts, Ladies Auxiliary units, Military Order of the Cootie Pup Tents and Women's Auxiliary to Military Order of the Cootie groups.
In the past several years, we have been fortunate to receive donations from individuals, corporations and other groups.
The children and families that live at our Home, with the exception of the children of deployed troops, are the children and grandchildren of members of the VFW and Ladies Auxiliary -- as is stated in the eligibility requirements.
Many families are on a three year program to learn: financial responsibility, parenting skills and home management skills.
Our Veteran Families have a safety net while undergoing physical therapy and job training.
I am honored to be able to help with the goals of "Honoring The Dead, By Helping The Living."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've watched many of the kids grow and prosper while living at the Home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Years ago, in the the eraly 2000s, there was discussion of also making accomodations available for senior veterans & spouses. The campus is 629 acres and there is plenty of space -- the plan was put on the back burner when the financial picture took a down turn -- I'd like to see this brought back under discussion.

August 27, 2011

Here's the real truth: They may help a lot of people, but they have been maintaining a facade. Most residents have loose connections to the VFW; the military families are virtually nonexistant. For more information, contact the VFW National Home Post, Attn: Post Adjutant, PO Box 36, Onondaga, MI 49264.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

our post. We happen to be the National Home Post and have a lot of insight.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Drop the facade. Not many residents are from outside of Eaton Rapids, let alone out-of-state. It is really a home for Michigan single mothers (as if they don't already have a lot of state aid).

March 31, 2010

more

March 31, 2010

AS CO-CHAIRMAN OF THE VFW NATIONAL HOME FOR CHILDREN AT LAVFW POST #4149, IN MIDLAND, TEXAS, I AM SO PROUD TO HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY OF HELPING OUR MILITARY IN A MOST SATISFYING WAY. ALTHOUGH I'VE NEVER VISITED THE NATIONAL HOME, THE CHILDREN AT THE NATIONAL HOME SEEM LIKE MY EXTENDED 'FAMILY OF GRANDCHILDREN'. WHEN OUR LADIES AUXILIARY GROUP, ALONG WITH OUR JUNIOR GIRLS GROUP, GOT TOGETHER IN DECEMBER TO MAKE SCARVES FOR ALL THE CHILDREN AT THE NATIONAL HOME FOR CHRISTMAS, IT MADE ME FEEL LIKE WE WERE MAKING THEM FOR MY GRANDCHILDREN! ALL I COULD THINK ABOUT WAS THE SMILES ON ALL THE CHILDRENS FACES WHEN THEY SAW THEM. I REALIZE THE IMPORTANCE OF THE NATIONAL HOME FOR CHILDREN, AS I CAN PICTURE MY OWN DAUGHTER & GRANDDAUGHTER IN THE SAME SITUATION AS MANY OF THESE CHILDREN ARE RIGHT NOW. DADDY IS DEPLOYED, MOM & DAUGHTER ARE FAR AWAY FROM FAMILY. FORTUNATELY, ALL IS WELL WITH THEM. BUT, IT COULD VERY WELL HAVE BEEN A DIFFERENT SITUATION.. & IT DOES MY HEART GOOD TO KNOW THERE IS A VFW NATIONAL HOME FOR CHILDREN THEY COULD HAVE TURNED TO HAD THE NEED BEEN THERE. DOING ALL WE CAN DO TO HELP SUPPORT THE NATIONAL HOME, AS WELL AS SPREADING THE WORD THAT IT EXISTS, IS A VERY IMPORTANT PROJECT OF OUR LADIES AUXILIARY, AS WELL AS OUR POST. EVEN OUR NEW JUNIOR GIRLS AUXILIARY HAS JUMPED RIGHT IN & PUT THE NATIONAL HOME FOR CHILDREN AS ONE OF IT'S FIRST PROJECTS BY MAKING ACTIVITY BOOKS FOR THE CHILDREN. IN CLOSING, I WANT TO SAY, THE VFW NATIONAL CHILDRENS HOME, IS THE MOST AMAZING PROJECT I'VE EVER BEEN INVOLVED IN. IT FILLS A MUCH NEEDED GAP IN THE LIVES OF OUR MILITARY, & I AM PROUD TO BE A PART OF THAT.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

KNOWING BIG THINGS CAN HAPPEN WHEN ALL THE LITTLE PARTS COME TOGETHER. THE NEW BUS ACQUIRED FOR THE NATIONAL HOME FOR CHILDREN IS JUST AN EXAMPLE OF THIS. OUR LADIES AUXILIARY IS PROUD TO BE ONE OF THOSE SMALL, BUT IMPORTANT, PARTS.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers