Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.892865
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 5, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 25, 2012

Our Auxiliary donates to the VFW Naaaational Home for Children because it provides a refuge for orphaned children, single parents and for returning veterans who need assistanc in housinge. Also, a he... more

June 5, 2013

I am a Life member of the VFW Ladies Auxiliary and I feel the National Home for Children is a wonderful program. Our children are the hope of the future and the love and care provided can only nurture future good citizens. Not only are children provided care but also single parents are provided a home in need and helped to be able to create a stable family life. A Lifeline is available for those veterans and families under stress and they receive information where to receive help and aid.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2012

Our Auxiliary donates to the VFW Naaaational Home for Children because it provides a refuge for orphaned children, single parents and for returning veterans who need assistanc in housinge. Also, a helpline is maintained to aid and comfort those with problems.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2011

I have been both my Auxiliary and District Chairman for National Home many years, the last 2 under the Veterans and Family program.
I feel it is so important to care for and nurture our children and I feel National Home is doing a good job especially now that families are included in the
program. What better way to keep a family intact during hard times? My Auxiliary donates funds whenever a need is made known.
At every meeting we have a penny march and the funds collected are sent yearly for a special treat for the children

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

na

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

na

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have been a member of the Ladies Auxiliary since 1994, and became very active in the many programs, my first visit to the National home was in 1994 on Ohio Day and every year after has been fantastic I remember going to the nursery the first time and fell in love with the place, the Ohio House is really nice and the great improvements at the National Home over the years have been great, the way the families and children are taken care of by all the staffshows they really care for all that live there, the programs they can get involved in like 4-H and scouts is great. I am always promoting National Home and telling every one that they need to visit to see the good that is being done for the Veterans children and the Veterans or the single families. I am a Life Member of the National Home and I send donations and other items to the National Home. "God Bless our Veterans and God Bless America." It is great to see all the organizations that can support the National Home without any goverment help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people involved, most people have never heard of the National Home and are very surprised when you explain to them what goes on there and all the good that is done there for our Veterans and the Families of the Veterans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 25, 2010

As state chairman it was may honor to work with the staff of the VFW National Home for Children setting up Ohio Day. They made my job SO easy, I will be back again this year. Their number one priority... more

June 4, 2013

The VFW National Home is a wonderful "campus" of homes for single parent families, children without partents, famileis of a deployed servicemember. The family friendly environment encourcourages volunteering and continuing education. There is a museum to provide historical relevance for the 80 plus years it has provided homes not just way stations for youngsters. They also provide a free help line to link people to those who can help them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be sure that people understood what a great job the staff does.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2010

As state chairman it was may honor to work with the staff of the VFW National Home for Children setting up Ohio Day. They made my job SO easy, I will be back again this year. Their number one priority is the children. They ensure their safety and well-being every day. The support from the local VFW to make our visit special is very much appreciated. The local policeforces enable us to have a caravan of well over 100 vehicles complete the trip safely. The families living at the home have made me feel welcome from my first visit in 1985 a great one. See you July 31!

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make more homes available to families of veterans and active duty military.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

Wow, what a wonderful, peaceful place for children and the their families to become whole again. The best thing that the Veterans of Foreign Wars and its Ladies Auxiliary could do for a Veteran. The staff will even reach out and care for families in need all across the Nation when called on to do so. Money spent here is well invested in children who need the care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been supporting the VFW National Home for Children since becoming a Ladies Auxiliary member in 1989. Coming from a military family and living close to an Army post, I see what the Home offers our military people when they really need that extra support. I visited the Home two years ago and was extremely impressed at the "village" atmosphere. I encourage others to support the Home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I suppose there is always room to update things, but I'm not sure what, if anything, should be changed at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I am extremely impressed by the VFW National Home for Children and its comfort to our military and their dependents. I was blessed by a visit during a day trip from Indianapolis. I am proud that our post in Memphis saw fit to change its beneficiary of our annual fundraiser from a local hospital for children to the Tennessee House at the Home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing. Though it is great to visit with the staff, It is exciting to hear what has become of the "graduates" of the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

As VFW and Auxiliary members we all know how important our National home is. Those who don't just haven't been exposed to the facts. What better way to help the family of the veteran that gave us our freedom of today than supporting their families that National Home has taken in.
National
Home gives the children a chance at life through education, protection, and love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

My husband when he was alive we attended the VFW National Home for Children and we always took something away with us.. We have supported the home ever since we joined the VFW and now that I am going in as President for my Auxiliary 9400 in Sunnyslope Arizona both VFW and MOCA I hope that we will be able to do more them, in years gone past.. We are so proud of our home for our veterans families and so forth..Its a wonderful place and a worth while cause..Thank you for making it possible and so an honor for us the Aux to help and make it just a little better for them all..
Thank you Weezie

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

The Veterans of Foreign Wars, National Home for Children is incredible. Building on an incredibly long history of helping families in residence at the Home, their very impressive and professional staff have expanded their focus to assist veteran families wherever they are located. With caring and compassion, they stand ready to help families in need navigate the often complex sea of services available. Families in crisis are so often consumed by the daunting pressures they face, that they are unable to search for those services available to assist them. This is a mission that the National Home has readily accepted and joyfully support and guide families to those solutions that provide life changing events. I am very, very proud to be a supporter of our National Home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the home and spending time with the people who reside there and the children. I was extremely impressed with the way they are being helped to put their lives back in perspective with being able to not worry how their family is cared for while they learn to go out into the workplace or by going on to further education to assist them in returning to the work force. Our military personnel who are married and both are being sent to serve their country overseas have a place where their children can stay and be cared for while both are deployed. The children at the home receive a home life that is filled with a life that children should have while separated from their parents and are able to stay in a safe comfortable atmosphere and continue a life to which they are used to. The home also provides a help line for returning military personnel where they receive assistance obtaining help receiving their benefits and if they need medical or mental assistance they are giving information to obtain this help and if necessary they are brought to the home and assisted until they are able to be on their own. The people who work at the home are some of the most caring people in the world and their main purpose is to help our military families maintain life styles that are beneficial and productive and active military personnel do their job without the worry of what is happening to their children and spouses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers