Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.892865
| 1 ... 6 7 8...11 |
Write A Review
June 25, 2012

Just about every day I receive requests for donations and since I have a limited budget, I want to help those most deserving. I am a Veteran and so I associate with those organizations and I use Charity Navigator to assist me in doing the evaluations. From the publications and e-mails, I feel like the Veterans of Foreign Wars National Home For Children is doing a fantastic job working with the service members and children. I plan on continuing to support them and I pray that others will too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

I decided to help the VFW National Home becasue a personal story shared with me. A soldier was killed while serving overseas and his wife and children were moving back home were involved in an accident taking the mother and a child leaving another orphaned. The VFW National home hase taken that child in and will provide for that child and all its children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

As a long-time Life Member who has visited the National Home a number of times over the past ten years or more, I have seen the campus, visited with the kids and talked with many of the staff members as well as house parents. I am proud to be a part of the Home "family" since the level of professionalism, dedication and enthusiasm of the staff is obviously the reason for the success, happiness and love found in the kids, both those presently living there as well as those who have moved on. The VFW National Home provides an excellent proxy home for its kids and parents in a normal familial environment without which many of the kids would be in a public entitlement program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

I am a member of the Ladies Auxiiary to the Veterans of Foreign Wars. We have a program for this organization. We have events to raise money for donations to this wonderful place. I recently had the opportunity to take a tour of the facility. It's beautiful! Each home is sponsored by a state VFW or Cootie. The staff are some of the nicest, most helpful people I've ever met. We, the Dept of Kentucky VFW, sponsored the Fishing Derby this year for the children. We fished, had a cookout and provided prizes. Some of the patients from two of the local VA hospitals were brought in to share in the day's event. The Home provides shelter, clothing, food and training for military families accross the country who have fallen on hard times, either through the deployment or loss of their military spouse, or, when both parents have been deployed or lost and there are no other family to help. The children go to school and are taken care of until they are 18. Then, the Home pays for their college. Our military has given and continues to give and pay the ultimate price for our country. This VFW National Home for Children is just one of the ways we can give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
March 24, 2010

I love the idea that there is an organization out there to help the families of our military. As a member of the military it means a lot to me to know that my husband and children would have a place ... more

June 25, 2012

I've been a Life Member of the Home for almost 10 years. While I haven't had the opportunity to visit the Campus, I hope to be able to go this year. I receive the newsletters and updates from the Home staff about activities at the home. I have contributed to various Department (VFW and Cootie) sponsored events for the Home's Christmas parties. The Department of Florida sponsors one half of a Duplex and it is a great feeling to know that we are directly helping the family of a military member. Without a doubt the VFW's National Home for Children will continue to be one of the few non-profits I support forever. Helping our veterans and their families is the most important thing we can do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2010

I love the idea that there is an organization out there to help the families of our military. As a member of the military it means a lot to me to know that my husband and children would have a place to go should the need arise. While I haven't been fortunate enough to visit the home yet, I am very impressed with the stories I hear from others. Donating regularly to the National Home is but one way we have to show our support and love for these families. Bless the workers and residents at our National Home for Children.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Outstanding. Their love and caring is obvious just in talking to them. There is no doubt in my mind that any family or child who lives there will be shown that our military and their familes truly matter.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 25, 2012

I have had the privilege of visiting the VFW National Home for Children. I have been serving this great facility now for several years for the Veterans and Family Support Program in the VFW Ladies Auxiliary. To know that there are folks that love those that have served our great nation and give from their hearts to help those in need for whatever the reason is a wonderful gift not only to our military but the children who give so much to our country. This is a beautiful family neighborhood. The families are cared for with great love, honor and respect that they so richly deserve. Just knowing that I can make a little difference in someones life is a great feeling.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

I feel everyone reading this should know about the wonderful, professional and caring people that work at the National Home. I visited recently to invesigate the facilities and to learn about what they offer. To my surprise it was the staff, the social workers, the executives' determined attitudes and knowlede that won my heart. I donate very little compared to all they do. I wish I could do more, not for them but for those they serve.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I moved to the VFW National Home when I was 7 years old, from Ohio. My Grandfather was a WWII Veteran. My Sister, Brother and I came with our mother and were part of the single parent program for 3 years. Then one day my mother left us and we ended up in the residential program (the best thing that ever happened to me). Even though my mother couldn't get it together, the National Home didn't give up on the 3 of us.
I cannot say enough good things about the VFW National Home for Children. They gave me opportunities that I would have never been given. The staff there taught me how to be a good person, the importance of being a hard worker and doing my best no matter what. They taught me what it meant to be a family. They gave me a second chance. Not to say that everything was always peachy, but if it wasn't, it was usually due to my bad decisions at the time.
I graduated high school 10 years ago and left The National Home 9 years ago. I have been married to an amazing man for the last 7 years and last year gave birth to the light of our lives, a perfect baby boy. I know that without the guidance of the people in this organization, I would not be the person that I am today and am so thankful for all that they did for me!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2001

November 4, 2011

more

November 4, 2011

I have a friend that needed help. She contacted the VFW National Home. All she Braged about was how they gave her the help she needed and she would recomend other Military families that needed help too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 3, 2011

more

November 3, 2011

I have visited the campus and have seen the truly family environment that exists. They help not just the children but parents as well, always focusing on healthy, happy families. The organization also reaches out to help families remotely by putting them in contact with local resources that cna provide assistance.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my visit there; seein ghte Choir at National conventions, and reading their communications & web site.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide more funds to enusre their facilities are always completely up to date & that there are even more spaces for families.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What would you tell others about this organization?

Please support them & spread the word about their ability to provide remote support

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers