Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.892865
| 1 ... 3 4 5...11 |
Write A Review
June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I am impressed with the VFW national home, the children are well cared for as they grow up and are educated and well prepared to move forward to lead a happy and useful life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing noted

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I'm a life member of the VFW National Home for Children because there is no other organization that cares so much about the lives of the orphans and widows/widowers of America's heroes than this one. It provides for every aspect of American life and its experiences that these beneficiaries would likely not have or be able to afford. Aside from those organizations that provide for our wounded warriors returning home, I can think of no other organization equal to the VFW National Home for Children!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would only try to make sure there were fewer orphans, widows and widowers that would have a need for their services...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I joined the VFW Auxiliary about 15 years ago. One of the first things I found out about was the VFW National Home for Children. I purchased a Life Membership as soon as I found out about it. My husband and I ride motorcycles and we have made several rides to collect items and toys for the children at the facility. My husband made 2 trips with the State Cmdr. of Texas to deliver the items and toys collected. I was so proud when Texas was able to adopt a home there and it was called the Texas House. I collect soda and beer tabs for them to help as a donation as well as I make donations when able to. I really feel that this facility is just one more way that we can help a veterans familiy in need and after they have done so much for us I feel we should do what ever we can to help them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

By my own choice, I do not know enough about their day to day operations to say that I would change anything.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I am extremely impressed by the VFW National Home for Children and its comfort to our military and their dependents. I was blessed by a visit during a day trip from Indianapolis. I am proud that our post in Memphis saw fit to change its beneficiary of our annual fundraiser from a local hospital for children to the Tennessee House at the Home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing. Though it is great to visit with the staff, It is exciting to hear what has become of the "graduates" of the program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been a member of my local Auxiliary since the age of 16, I am now 63. I am a past officer and hold a life membership. I feel that anything we can do for our service people and their families and the veterans and their families is little enough for what they have given us in return. I include their families because they also serve by keeping the home fires burning so to speak. The VFW and its Auxiliary are and have been such a part of my family history with my Father and Mother both participating as much as possible during my growing up years. I will continue to support this organization for as long as it exists and in anyway I can. I find it to be worthwhile of my efforts and time because it works and helps so many people. Terry S.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

As VFW and Auxiliary members we all know how important our National home is. Those who don't just haven't been exposed to the facts. What better way to help the family of the veteran that gave us our freedom of today than supporting their families that National Home has taken in.
National
Home gives the children a chance at life through education, protection, and love.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

For many years I donated to the home because it was encouraged for VFW and Auxiliary members. Then I went there to visit at Christmas in 2012 and returned there a few weeks ago. My donations now are not because they are encouraged, the donations are because it is money best spent. The level of care, honest love, the amazing support system and a staff second to none has created an environment that fosters success. I once thought the cost of the home was expensive until I realized that the people and the facilities enable permanent life changing success stories. The fact that they exist without any government support is testimony to the compassion of the American people and the generosity of many business entities

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013

more

May 9, 2013

My husband when he was alive we attended the VFW National Home for Children and we always took something away with us.. We have supported the home ever since we joined the VFW and now that I am going in as President for my Auxiliary 9400 in Sunnyslope Arizona both VFW and MOCA I hope that we will be able to do more them, in years gone past.. We are so proud of our home for our veterans families and so forth..Its a wonderful place and a worth while cause..Thank you for making it possible and so an honor for us the Aux to help and make it just a little better for them all..
Thank you Weezie

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

The VFW National Chrildre's Home is the greatest Non-Profit organization I know of, they help out ALL not Some but ALL of our nations Veteran's and their families, whether it's one child, or 10 it doesn't matter. The spouse'e are not left out either, basically anyone assicated with a veteran's family is eligible to live at the national home. What else could be said is I salute the VFW NATIONAL CHILDREN'S HOME for all they do for our countries veterans and HERO's.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 18, 2012

Thank you so much to all who support the VFW National Home for Children! My two children and I received a tremendous amount of support and guidance from all of the kind-hearted professional staff at the Home. God bless you all who serve others in the numerous ways possible! Those such as my Grandparents who have fallen asleep in Our Lord rest in His Eternal Memory.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers