Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
139 Reviews
1234.913675
| 1 ... 3 4 5...13 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I have been a life member of the VFW National Home for Children since 2002 when I joined the Ladies Auxiliary to Georgetown Memorial Post #6444 Veterans of Foreign Wars. I have conducted yearly Fundraisers for the National Home with the assistance of other Ladies Auxiliary Members. I feel very committed to helping children of Veterans and this is a great organization. I visited the Campus and was pleasantly surprise of the opportunities available for our Military children. I talk about the Children's Home at our regular monthly meetings and advise them to become Life Members, bring in their UPC labels from Campbells, Swanson, etc. The story behind the National is beautiful and I give the story every year at our training session. You are my special organization. Thank you for being there. Hugs to you..Vivian Segelken, Georgetown, SC

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013

more

June 8, 2013

I have been associated with the VFW National Home for Children since 2001 and am a Life Member of the home. I continue to support it with monetary donations. This past year as the VFW Department of Maryland State Commander, I selected the home as one of my Special Projects. We raised in excess of twenty two thousand dollars for the home, but more importantly, we also added 112 new Life Members from the department. This is significant in that anyone, even a non Veteran, can become a Life Member of the National Home by making a one time donation of thirty fiver dollars. I have also visited the home on several occasions and am very impressed in the way it operates under the leadership of Patrice Green and the other employee's. It is a wonderful place for the children and families of our veterans to reside in the many houses that our VFW Departments have adopted and fund. The children attend school and are not only educated throughout their time living there, but also are involved in many worth projects that teach them the tools they will need to succeed in life. May God continue to bless our National Home, our veterans and their families for their service to our country.

Past State Commander, Carl F. Vogt
VFW Department of Maryland
20112 -2013

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nationally publicize all the accomplishments the home has achieved in changing the lifes of its many residents during its existence. This is a role model home that has turned children's lifes around.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I donate money to the National Home for Children with the confidence that my money will be used properly and with great pride that it is a VFW and Ladies Auxiliary project. We support this great "HOME" for the wonderful things they provide for our military members and their children.
Willo,
Eufaula, OK

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I'm a member of the VFW, as are all my motorcycle friends are - We are the VFWMGTX Unit #10. There are programs that support the Veterans in need of special help, like the Wounded Warrior Project and others, but there are those who are single parents and trauma hits.....what happens to the children? The National Home for Children is there to help them - God Bless Our National for Children!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Barbara6396 wrote:
I have been a member of the Ladies Auxiliary to the Veterans of Foreign Wars since 1977. Several members of my family served at different times. My father, uncles, husband, cousins, niece and nephews. The National Home for Children take in children and families of military
men and women who are not able to be here for them. They financially assist and give them a home. To my knowledge every child that was raised there have gone on to better things. How can this not be the best nonprofit in America. I have personally visited the home and was very proud of what I saw.








Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing I would change.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 25, 2012

Our Auxiliary donates to the VFW Naaaational Home for Children because it provides a refuge for orphaned children, single parents and for returning veterans who need assistanc in housinge. Also, a he... more

June 5, 2013

I am a Life member of the VFW Ladies Auxiliary and I feel the National Home for Children is a wonderful program. Our children are the hope of the future and the love and care provided can only nurture future good citizens. Not only are children provided care but also single parents are provided a home in need and helped to be able to create a stable family life. A Lifeline is available for those veterans and families under stress and they receive information where to receive help and aid.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2012

Our Auxiliary donates to the VFW Naaaational Home for Children because it provides a refuge for orphaned children, single parents and for returning veterans who need assistanc in housinge. Also, a helpline is maintained to aid and comfort those with problems.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2011

I have been both my Auxiliary and District Chairman for National Home many years, the last 2 under the Veterans and Family program.
I feel it is so important to care for and nurture our children and I feel National Home is doing a good job especially now that families are included in the
program. What better way to keep a family intact during hard times? My Auxiliary donates funds whenever a need is made known.
At every meeting we have a penny march and the funds collected are sent yearly for a special treat for the children

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

na

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

na

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have been a member of the Ladies Auxiliary since 1994, and became very active in the many programs, my first visit to the National home was in 1994 on Ohio Day and every year after has been fantastic I remember going to the nursery the first time and fell in love with the place, the Ohio House is really nice and the great improvements at the National Home over the years have been great, the way the families and children are taken care of by all the staffshows they really care for all that live there, the programs they can get involved in like 4-H and scouts is great. I am always promoting National Home and telling every one that they need to visit to see the good that is being done for the Veterans children and the Veterans or the single families. I am a Life Member of the National Home and I send donations and other items to the National Home. "God Bless our Veterans and God Bless America." It is great to see all the organizations that can support the National Home without any goverment help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people involved, most people have never heard of the National Home and are very surprised when you explain to them what goes on there and all the good that is done there for our Veterans and the Families of the Veterans.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

As a life member of the Veteran's of Foreign Wars, Military Order of the Cootie, it is our obligation to support the VFW National Home for Children. I with my comrades go to the Home for Ohio Day, Cootie Christmas, and Easter Treat where we stay on campus at the guest house. We always have a great time there with the kids and the hospitality is wonderful.

Clem Cwiklinski
PT 83 Seam Squirrel, VFW Post 3283, Huber Heights, OH.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

Visiting the VFW National Home for Children was an awesome experience for both my husband and me. I found the staff to be friendly, knowledgeable, and place the children and their families as their #1 priority. They continually work hard to provide such a loving outlook on life. Thanks to Patrice Green, along with the entire staff, the families of our nation's heroes are able to overcome the hardships that come with being a soldier in time of war.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything. except, maybe move it closer to my home. I am proud to say that I am a member of the VFW National Home for Children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 25, 2010

As state chairman it was may honor to work with the staff of the VFW National Home for Children setting up Ohio Day. They made my job SO easy, I will be back again this year. Their number one priority... more

June 4, 2013

The VFW National Home is a wonderful "campus" of homes for single parent families, children without partents, famileis of a deployed servicemember. The family friendly environment encourcourages volunteering and continuing education. There is a museum to provide historical relevance for the 80 plus years it has provided homes not just way stations for youngsters. They also provide a free help line to link people to those who can help them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be sure that people understood what a great job the staff does.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 25, 2010

As state chairman it was may honor to work with the staff of the VFW National Home for Children setting up Ohio Day. They made my job SO easy, I will be back again this year. Their number one priority is the children. They ensure their safety and well-being every day. The support from the local VFW to make our visit special is very much appreciated. The local policeforces enable us to have a caravan of well over 100 vehicles complete the trip safely. The families living at the home have made me feel welcome from my first visit in 1985 a great one. See you July 31!

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

make more homes available to families of veterans and active duty military.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers