Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
111 Reviews
1234.927935
| 1 2 3 4...11 |
Write A Review
June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have donated to the Home over the years, and have visited several times with our Military Order of Cooties/Auxiliary organization. It is a wonderful place that not only cares for the children and the families, but teaches them life skills to grow as people and improve their situations. They give the parents and children a safe and nurturing place to live, while they better themselves through education and job training. It is a hand up - not a hand out.

At one time, I referred someone to the home. While they did not end up moving to Michigan, the staff worked diligently to find them the resources that could help them here in Minnesota.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I visited National Home in 2012 for the first time and was awed by this "little city" The folks that live there are warm and welcoming and feel truly blessed! If anyone is around Eaton Rapids, please make sure you stop and visit

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been an Auxiliary Sister for 30+ years. I and another Aux. Sister attended another convention in Grand Rapids a few years ago and I had told myself, if I EVER get to Michigan, I am going to visit the VFW National Home for Children and we did. I collect the Campbell Soup POPs to help get the vans for the National Home. When we visited - they had just received Van #5 and I believe they now have Van #6. Wherever I travel and visit, I have my handy "clipper" available and often ask friends and families to allow me to search for POPs in their pantries and they are gracious when I tell them the POPs are for the VFW National Children's Home for a new Van. We were able to visit the Washington State sponsored home on our visit, stayed in the Guest House and saw the need for the repairs and upgrading project recently accomplished and supported that. I feel it is an honor to have been given a LIFE Membership to the National Home by my Auxiliary in years past. I strongly support the memorial bricks and FINALLY signed up for automatic donations since this is one of my favorite non-profit charities. The staff that assisted us were wonderful and so helpful. I cannot say enough about the wonderful things the staff and volunteers do for the veterans and their families. We visited the nursery and were impressed with the cleanliness of the facility.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I became a donor when my dad died. He was a WWII veteran in the European war and was a long time member and supporter of the VFW, especially of the National Home For Children. I gave in my dad's memory and have continued to honor him with contributions and because after visiting there the need for help became even more obvious. I was also impressed at how well the whole place was maintained - the buildings as well as the whole property - nothing fancy yet the responsibility and pride showing in the level of care was obvious. I donated a tandem bike and office furniture on that visit and the people I met with were very pleasant and grateful. I highly recommend this for those looking for a very worthwhile giving opportunity that serves a much needed purpose and is received with appreciation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish it was possible to make this organization unnecessary but until then I am glad they are there to serve those who need them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been supporting the VFW National Home for Children since becoming a Ladies Auxiliary member in 1989. Coming from a military family and living close to an Army post, I see what the Home offers our military people when they really need that extra support. I visited the Home two years ago and was extremely impressed at the "village" atmosphere. I encourage others to support the Home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I suppose there is always room to update things, but I'm not sure what, if anything, should be changed at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I have been suppoprting since 1960, it gives a great deal to the children who are alone, and unfortunate.
I visited the Michigan site, In eaton rapids while in Scouts, years ago, and was impressed with what i saw, and learned about the services provided to children

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I am so glad to be able to support the VFW National Home for Children. As a member of the auxiliary of Tonganoxie, Kansas Post 9271, I and the other members of the Post and Auxiliary support the Home on a regular basis. I was able to visit the home recently and tour the campus. It is wonderful place for our military families and their children especially who need help. It is beautiful campus and well kept. When I visited, I saw the children, with their backpacks, waiting on the school bus. They were happy and well cared for. There is also a playground and daycare for the younger children. Those children have opportunities that help them thoughout their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage them to keep doing what they are doing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

The VFW National Home is a community for the children, widows and widowers of our service men and women who have died for our freedom. The grounds and homes are well kept providing a community environment. Children attend schools within the local school district and either go on to college, join the military or return to the National Home as counselors and house parents. When donations are requested for specific projects you always receive an update on the progress and completion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add an additional guest lodge to accommodate visitors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

As a former VFW National Home resident, I didn't truly realize the impact that was made in my life and how many opportunities were given to me at the National Home until much later in life. Now, as an adult in my forties, with two children of my own, I now realize the enormous impact the VFW National Home had made in my life. The VFW National Home had given me a second chance at a life that I would not have experienced otherwise. The National Home had instilled in me the moral values that would be the foundation for my life as a husband, parent, and societal member. These values had also set the tone for me joining the United States Marine Corps and serving my Country proudly, even though I had been provided with a scholarship by the National Home. The National Home had also provided me with many opportunities to experience the world that I would not have previously had. For instance, the National Home had organized cross-country bicycle trips for as many as ten members to embark on a journey that would build up our self-confidence, comraderie, and fitness level. Still to this day, I continue to cycle on a regular basis and had recently completed my first ever DALMAC bike tour of 400 miles over a four day period. I had also gone back to college to be the first of nine children to receive a Bachelor's Degree. I am now seeing these same values being instilled in my two children, passed on by my wife and I because we highly value our faith, family, respect, education, and service to country. The VFW National Home had planted these seeds early in life that now bare much fruit in my own life, the lives of my children, and theirs to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

June 4, 2013

more

June 4, 2013

I am impressed with the VFW national home, the children are well cared for as they grow up and are educated and well prepared to move forward to lead a happy and useful life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing noted

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers