Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
158 Reviews
1234.917725
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I wish I lived close to Eaton Rapids so I could volunteer, but thats not the case so I do what I can thru monthly donations. Having been a life member of the VFW for many years and listening to the mention of the national home in our closing prayer it just seems natural to help financially. As a Christian nation we are called upon to help one another and I can't think of anyone more deserving than our military families. They have given so much and yet our country expects more and more of them with fewer members. My meager donations have been recognized on a frequent basis and the National Home does a wonderful job staying in touch it its supporters. If you can't help financially, take a few minutes and lift the residents and staff up in prayer. Thanks

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

enhance its outreach through volunteers in each state.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I am a member of the Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States (VFW), Military Order of the Cootie (MOC), and a Life Member of the National Home, as is my wife. We have been donating to the National Home since 2003 and consider it to be the pearl of the VFW and MOC. In December 2008 my wife and I were able to go to the National Home when I was the Grand Commander of the MOC in Nevada. We were able to meet with and talk to the staff, parents and children and found that every single one of them were praising the National Home and what was being accomplished there! They were very appreciative of the support they and the Home receives from members of the VFW and MOC and their Auxiliaries. We are proud to be considered a part of that support.

The recent program that was opened at the National Home to assist the spouse and family of deployed troops is absolutely outstanding!! The program helps them while the deployed spouse is gone and provides family needs. When the spouse comes home the National Home reintroduces the deployed member to the family unit and helps the family plan for the future and with getting housing and back into the normal flow of family life.

We pray the National Home continues far into the future because it is truly essential to this day and age!!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

The VFW National Home for Children is a God send. The way they truly care for the families of Veterans, especially the children, is amazing. I recently visited their campus and was blown away how they offer so much on what they receive. The residents are happy and secure with this environment.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

My daughter has worked for the nursery for almost8 years and I think what this home provides is amazing! There are so many programs being cut and eliminated that try to help and this one definitely provides a second chance to get back on your feet and be able to provide for your family. I can't bbelieve it is the only one in the county that does that when it could be so useful in so many areas in the whole United states. It is definitely money well spent and gives people in troublea solid base to learn and achievea positive way to live. 1000 times up for this program!!!! Need more like it all around the country!!!
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I have been associated with the VFW National Home for Children in Eaton Rapids, MI for the last 12 years or so through my membership as an officer in my local VFW Post. The home has always been proactive in doing all within their power to care for the dependents of active duty folks needing help with some of the life challenges that being in the military brings. They have a state of the art school located on a beautiful campus. They have recently been fundraising to raise money for the upgrade of their technology department with computers, printers and such. I donate to the Home on a regular basis and my father who recently passed provided funds for them - a wonderful cause.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I grew up in 10 foster homes and two Institutions" The VFW National Home is superior to all of them. I donoate and participate in the Annual Cootie Christmas Party.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

The National Home is just wonderful and a beautiful place for our veterans children and family. The homes on the property are built by all states in the United States. It is a nonprofit organization. Please give them your vote and help. I am a life member of the VFW National Home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have other organizations donate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

The VFW National Home for Children is an amazing facility that assist family members of our service men and women. Though dontations and wonderful programs in which everone is given an opportunity to thrive not just surive. There campus is a amazing place for all that are served. God Bless this wondreful orginization!
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The VFW National Home for Children is a non-profit unlike any other! Their mission is to help not only children but families to survive in a beautiful setting where kids grow up and thrive. Each time I visit the Home, I still get chills watching the children and seeing how well the whole place runs. Words cannot express they good they do!
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was in a desperate situation as a single mother I had nothing and nowhere to turn with my child. I was welcomed in and treated so well by all the volunteers and staff. My daughter was my major concern and she was so loved and cared for at the nursery that without them I do not think we would be where we are today. I was able to take my time and search for a position to where I could support myself and my daughter. I went from worrying if I was going to have to live in my car with my 1 year old and what I could do to feed her, to making 6 figures a year. This place was a answer to my prayers and the service they do to families in need of comfort and help I can not put into words. VFW home for Children saved my and my daughter's life and provided a safe environment until I was able to provide a future. They gave us our lives back!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers