Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
158 Reviews
1234.917725
Write A Review
October 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the home and spending time with the people who reside there and the children. I was extremely impressed with the way they are being helped to put their lives back in pe... more

October 26, 2014

What the VFW National Home provides for families of veterans and their children is awesome. It gives the children a healthy place to live in and a normal family atmosphere for them and allows a mother or father a chance to build a career while not having to worry about their child. The people who work at the home are very special caring individuals who enjoy their work and love everything about the home.
I have visited the home several times and each time I have been very impressed with the people who work there and have totally enjoyed the children and their family when there.

Bonnie Burgy, Mem. Ladies Aux. VFW
June 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting the home and spending time with the people who reside there and the children. I was extremely impressed with the way they are being helped to put their lives back in perspective with being able to not worry how their family is cared for while they learn to go out into the workplace or by going on to further education to assist them in returning to the work force. Our military personnel who are married and both are being sent to serve their country overseas have a place where their children can stay and be cared for while both are deployed. The children at the home receive a home life that is filled with a life that children should have while separated from their parents and are able to stay in a safe comfortable atmosphere and continue a life to which they are used to. The home also provides a help line for returning military personnel where they receive assistance obtaining help receiving their benefits and if they need medical or mental assistance they are giving information to obtain this help and if necessary they are brought to the home and assisted until they are able to be on their own. The people who work at the home are some of the most caring people in the world and their main purpose is to help our military families maintain life styles that are beneficial and productive and active military personnel do their job without the worry of what is happening to their children and spouses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

As a Combat Wounded Vietnam Veteran and Life Member of VFW Post 10212 I truly support the VFW National Home for Children. They do a tremendous job in taking care of our widows and orphans. They have my utmost respect and admiration.

October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

I visited the VFW National Home last summer. What a warm, welcoming experience. The Washington Cottage was beautiful as was the entire campus. The family who lives in the cottage was very gracious to allow us to visit their home. The staff is very friendly and thorough. They are excellent at Customer Service in person, over the phone or over the Internet. The basis for the National Home is very simple, provide a friendly place for veterans or active duty family members, help them and the children get the education they need to be productive members of society and teach patriotism all at the same time. We met children of all ages and they were healthy and happy. The program really works, the kids learn responsibility and have a safe place to grow up. The museum is very interesting, it was good to see how many generations of kids are still in touch with each other and the National Home. What a great legacy of service to our veterans and their families. Their arms are always open in welcome. You should visit, it will give you a greater understanding of their mission.
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

I am very proud of the V.F.W. National Home for Children and the great work they do. I have visited there many times because it is in my home state of Michigan. I have always known about National Home but I'm amazed at how many members have never been there. The staff is great and they would love to see you.

Marcie Brown
Charlotte, Michigan
Post2406
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

Their mission is one that will help all throughout time"
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I am a life member of VFW National Home for Children because of the fantastic work they do helping families of our veterans stay together through difficult times. What more honorable way to tell our veterans & most importantly their children that they are respected & loved!
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

The National Home is a great place who helps keep families together or helps children with no families
become productive and proud individuals within our Communities. These children have the opportunity to stay together as a unit and are given great changes to continue their education. Many
have gone on to college and given back to the Home and our world by joining the military service (which is not a requirement) Other have gone on into the work force with confidence and pride for their Country.
This is an important Home where the need unfortunately is needed now even more than in the past with
so much going on in the world with the conflicts and economy where families can not always help and take on additional members as in the past. There are many VFW Comrades and Auxiliary Sisters who support this Home as well as the employees who work there that think of all the children as part of our
families and give them our love and thoughts throughout the years.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I am a member of the Veterans of ForeignWars {VFW}. Military Order of Cooties{MOC}, and a Life Member of VFW National Home for Children. The help the Home provides to children of our veterans is amazing . Both at Eaton Rapids,MI & through Website and 800 numbers nationally..
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

Been involved as a donor for many years. Was involved as a volunteer and helped build a duplex when a member of the UAW Veterans committee. Volunteered to help when the moving wall was displayed a few years ago. Retired in 2007, moved to Florida and as a Life member and officer of my VFW post make a challenge to our post every year. Challenge is, I will personally match dollar for dollar any contribution our post makes to the home for the year. I am a Life Member of the The VFW National Home for Children, and have visited the home several times and can see so many amazing things that are always in progress there. The home helps to fill the void for our veterans families are faced with and you should make the time to visit the home in Eaton Rapids to see for yourself what great things are accomplished with our donations.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

I am a member of the VFW Auxiliary and when one of our members passed away leaving a child with no one left to care for him the VFW National Home stepped right up to take charge of him. This child received an education and a 'family' immediately when he would otherwise have been placed in an adoption home for who knows how long. It provided him with instant stability and he blossomed into a wonderful young man thanks to the wonderful staff at this facility.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers