Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
158 Reviews
1234.917725
Write A Review
June 25, 2012

As a 44 year plus donor to the VFW National Home I continue to support it because I have seen the organization grow physically and expand it's programs as the needs of those it serves changes. Any organization must continuously evaluate its value and relavance. The VFW NH does that. With new programs the NH has demonstrated its wllingness to change so that it may continue to serve without changing its core mission. The VFW NH has shown its fiscal responsibility as well as its social responsibility maintaining the trust of its supportors. The children and families served can be forever grateful for the opportunities given to them by a caring organization and loving staff.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

I begin donating to the VFW National Home while I was working in Panama as that is where I joined the VFW Organization. We passed the Hat for your change at our Monthly VFW Meetings. I joined the VFW National Home for Children as a Life Member in 1997 while Post Commander of post 7327 Springfield Va. I now donate Monthly from my checking account to the National Home. I ran for District 5 VFW National Home for Children trustee in 2004 against Commander-in-Chief elect John (Dr Death) Hamilton and me and significant others lost to him and we all look forward to serving with him beginning July 25,2012. I intend to increase my monthly allotment to the national home in the nearfuture as it does so much for our organization. WJ Leonard

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

June 25, 2012

I'm a VFW Ladies Auxiliary member and was able to visit the VFW National Home for Children in May, 2012. I was very impressed by what they do for our Veteran's and their children. The campus is beautiful. The staff is first rate. Every State's Veteran's service officer should have access to what the National Home is all about and how they can help our veteran's and their families. We have fundraisers for the VFW National Home for children every year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

Just about every day I receive requests for donations and since I have a limited budget, I want to help those most deserving. I am a Veteran and so I associate with those organizations and I use Charity Navigator to assist me in doing the evaluations. From the publications and e-mails, I feel like the Veterans of Foreign Wars National Home For Children is doing a fantastic job working with the service members and children. I plan on continuing to support them and I pray that others will too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

I decided to help the VFW National Home becasue a personal story shared with me. A soldier was killed while serving overseas and his wife and children were moving back home were involved in an accident taking the mother and a child leaving another orphaned. The VFW National home hase taken that child in and will provide for that child and all its children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

As a long-time Life Member who has visited the National Home a number of times over the past ten years or more, I have seen the campus, visited with the kids and talked with many of the staff members as well as house parents. I am proud to be a part of the Home "family" since the level of professionalism, dedication and enthusiasm of the staff is obviously the reason for the success, happiness and love found in the kids, both those presently living there as well as those who have moved on. The VFW National Home provides an excellent proxy home for its kids and parents in a normal familial environment without which many of the kids would be in a public entitlement program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

I am a member of the Ladies Auxiiary to the Veterans of Foreign Wars. We have a program for this organization. We have events to raise money for donations to this wonderful place. I recently had the opportunity to take a tour of the facility. It's beautiful! Each home is sponsored by a state VFW or Cootie. The staff are some of the nicest, most helpful people I've ever met. We, the Dept of Kentucky VFW, sponsored the Fishing Derby this year for the children. We fished, had a cookout and provided prizes. Some of the patients from two of the local VA hospitals were brought in to share in the day's event. The Home provides shelter, clothing, food and training for military families accross the country who have fallen on hard times, either through the deployment or loss of their military spouse, or, when both parents have been deployed or lost and there are no other family to help. The children go to school and are taken care of until they are 18. Then, the Home pays for their college. Our military has given and continues to give and pay the ultimate price for our country. This VFW National Home for Children is just one of the ways we can give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 25, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
March 24, 2010

I love the idea that there is an organization out there to help the families of our military. As a member of the military it means a lot to me to know that my husband and children would have a place ... more

June 25, 2012

I've been a Life Member of the Home for almost 10 years. While I haven't had the opportunity to visit the Campus, I hope to be able to go this year. I receive the newsletters and updates from the Home staff about activities at the home. I have contributed to various Department (VFW and Cootie) sponsored events for the Home's Christmas parties. The Department of Florida sponsors one half of a Duplex and it is a great feeling to know that we are directly helping the family of a military member. Without a doubt the VFW's National Home for Children will continue to be one of the few non-profits I support forever. Helping our veterans and their families is the most important thing we can do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 24, 2010

I love the idea that there is an organization out there to help the families of our military. As a member of the military it means a lot to me to know that my husband and children would have a place to go should the need arise. While I haven't been fortunate enough to visit the home yet, I am very impressed with the stories I hear from others. Donating regularly to the National Home is but one way we have to show our support and love for these families. Bless the workers and residents at our National Home for Children.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Outstanding. Their love and caring is obvious just in talking to them. There is no doubt in my mind that any family or child who lives there will be shown that our military and their familes truly matter.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 25, 2012

I have had the privilege of visiting the VFW National Home for Children. I have been serving this great facility now for several years for the Veterans and Family Support Program in the VFW Ladies Auxiliary. To know that there are folks that love those that have served our great nation and give from their hearts to help those in need for whatever the reason is a wonderful gift not only to our military but the children who give so much to our country. This is a beautiful family neighborhood. The families are cared for with great love, honor and respect that they so richly deserve. Just knowing that I can make a little difference in someones life is a great feeling.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

I feel everyone reading this should know about the wonderful, professional and caring people that work at the National Home. I visited recently to invesigate the facilities and to learn about what they offer. To my surprise it was the staff, the social workers, the executives' determined attitudes and knowlede that won my heart. I donate very little compared to all they do. I wish I could do more, not for them but for those they serve.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers