Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.333335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Veterans guest house uses dishonest marketing tactics to get donations from the public, claiming they do NOT take government funds when in fact they do! The City of Reno and HUD gave them over $200,000 last year that was supposed to go to help the homeless. Have they no shame?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
November 17, 2011

I have been helping out a little bit at the Guest House for many years. Noreen and Kathy run a very tight ship and make sure almost every penny does some good for someone, be it a veteran or a member of his or her family.
Of all the good I have tried to do in my life, helping these people help
veterans gives me the greatest satisfaction.
Lead on, Veterans Guest House, Lead On.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2011

more

November 6, 2011

I have volunteered at the veterans guest house for about 3 years. They give a home away from home, support ,food, and much much more.It takes a great deal of time and effort put in to meet the needs that are rappidly growing with in are vets. But the gust house would not be the place it is to day without those working there giveing so much love and care. With in my time there I have seen many vets meet and become great supporters for each other through the lose of a loved one or trials with cancer ending in great friendships. But just to see there faces when the worry is over come with joy knowing they have some were to stay is enuff to bring me back.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

So many veterans have been able to recive the care they neede. ,with out the guest house may veterans would go with out medical attention due to the lack of money for gas, lodgeing and food. They really do help save the lives of those who saved ares.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would request a bigger building.So we have more rooms to help meet the veterans needs as it continues to grow.I would also request for more volunteers to help support this growth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes! As i begain volunterring there i experianced how much the communittee helps to support are vets with bake good, grocerys, secritaryl work, there time and much more.I decided that i along with many others need to help those who continue to save are nation in any way we can.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It feels so good to give back to those who sacraficed so much for are nation.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2011

more

November 4, 2011

Last month I observed, with great humility and extreme gratitude, a personal landmark of 16 years serving on the board of directors of the Veterans Guest House.

There certainly are many worthwhile causes and projects to support, but
I have found none more heartwarming or rewarding
to the human spirit.
Seeing the eyes of our guests, our veterans and their family members / care givers, hearing their words of appreciation, and witnessing the healing power of their camaraderie one with another, is beyond any experience I have ever enjoyed elsewhere.

Every day is Veterans Day at the Veterans Guest House. We owe our veterans much, we owe our veterans everything.

I am proud to be a part of this effort and would encourage all who are able to participate.

Richard G. Shuster

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Witnessing thousands of veterans and family members in this special home away from home for veterans when they have to travel vast distances for the veterans health care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing. The project is doing exactly what was intended. The only change I would hope for would be able to provide more such Veterans Guest Houses in communities with VA Hospitals country wide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Initally, I read a classified newspaper advertisement.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Open the new adjacent facility and plan to expand to more quality space and accomodations.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To support the annual operations already begun and to expand capacity to keep up with the growing need.

November 3, 2011

more

November 3, 2011

Many veterans in Esmeralda County travel to the Reno VA Hospital (270 miles) for the quality services they provide. Another veteran told me about the Veterans Guest House when I was scheduled for appoinments at the hospital. On my first visit to the guest house I was stunned. Stunned in the fact that this facility exists and is top quality all the way. The citizens of Reno and Sparks can be extremely proud. Many veterans in Esmeralda county tried to keep the guest house a secret, but it is much too vital to keep it secret. The staff is wonderful and over the years have become friends. When able, I volunteer to assist with special events.

God Bless!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being able make medical appointments, which at times stretch over days. having a comfortable, conveinient place to stay is paramount.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand even more...

November 3, 2011

more

November 3, 2011

I have volunteered for the Veterans Guest House for several years now. It is a fabulous place that gives Veterans and their families a safe, clean, loving place to stay when their are medical issues in their lives. They turn no one away for lack of funds. I have seen compassion and a sense of genuine care that you do not find normally associated with Veterans. The Veterans and their families are treated with dignity and respect and every effort is made to meet their needs and accomodations on an individual basis. It is truley a one of a kind House that most guests call their home-away-from-home during stressful and life threatening situations. The staff is awesome! The decor is warm and inviting. As a non-profit that has no government funding and relys strictly on private donations, I am rewarded with a sense of having done something right everytime I volunteer. What a marvelous way to give back to the men and women who served for all of us by volunteering at the Veterans Guest House.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the community, The cities of Sparks and Reno and other surrounding areas support this effort wholeheartedly. It has united the citizens to a great cause. The guests who benefit from staying at the House leave there having made new friends (often long-term friends), feeling that their time in the service of our country matters to someone, and knowing that there is a place to stay during their stressfulmedical appointments and treatments or just an overnight stay to take care of minor medical issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get them more dedicated volunteers, a van and driver for transportation of guests to outside appointments, and a better security system.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

One central volunteer coordinator for all volunteers.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I met so many wonderful people, heard veterans tell their stories and heard living history, and learned so much about our country and why it is so important for us to take care of our Veterans.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great, but I felt that I should be doing more than I do to help if time only permitted such.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers