Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I have been an active member of anti war organizations since 1964 when I was cofounder of the Student-Faculty Committee to End the War in Vietnam. Currently I am active in Veterans for Peace because it is the most active,energentic peace organization in my home town. Bob Stebbins

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Veterans For Peace has been around since 1985 and has a well-established history as an effective, grassroots, membership-driven organization. VFP is the ONLY veterans' organization whose primary mission is to abolish war, and they do that by educating the public about the truth of war and militarism through the expression of their own stories and experiences. VFP members are dedicated to peace and justice, who "walk the talk."

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

VFP is an excellent organization. Since joining almost two years ago I have been in several parades, helped counter-recruiting at one high school and at a career fair for area high schools, participated in a panel discussion about the Vietnam period in two high school history classes, and been present as VFP at Memorial Day events.

The members of our chapter are dedicated activists for VFP, knowledgeable and articulate, and a pleasure to know and work with. And the Bolgers are tremendously effective and inspiring leaders, Leah nationally and Bart our chapter president.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Due to numerous health issues and the distance from Corvallis, I am unable to participate in many of VFP chapter 132 activities but I know that they have and are making a serious impact on residents in that area. Their motivation to bring Peace and Justice into the community, through the daily Peace Vigil in front of the court house has attracted many community members to participate and join as well as their yearly efforts to provide homeless men and women winter shelter, access to counseling and providing other amenities that are necessary for their daily needs. I'm hoping that my health conditions will improve shortly after surgery and that I can once again be a working member of the Linus Pauling Chapter of VFP. The chapter and members individually have been a real asset to me personally through installing handicapped access in my home and providing transportation to the VA Hospital 70 miles north. I'm personally indebted to them and appreciate the assistance provided for several years now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I am not a veteran, so I am an associate member of the Corvallis chapter of Veterans for Peace. The members of VFP are involved in several different peacebuilding projects in the area. Particularly impressive to me are the outreach to youth and the presence in each year's Armistice Day memorial.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I have been a member of this group since the formation, 6 years ago. The community involvement and actions of this group are truly promoting peace and just by exposing the true costs of war, high school appearances, and select peaceful participation in public parades, fairs, information booths, etc. I cannot say enough good things about the spirit and passion our leaders have and continually share, Leah and Bart Bolger. They walk the talk.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I've been active in veterans issues since just after I got out of the USAF. There used to be federal block-grant money for groups like this but Pres. Reagan got rid of that. No cause if more important to veterans than working to make sure that children and grandchildren don't have to go in the military, don't have to fight, kill, and die. This national organization and its regional chapters gets noticed. The struggle is almost impossible, is impossible without money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

They constantly surprise me with their energy and commitment. Whether it's hearing about Leah being arrested for taking part in a peaceful demonstration, helping keep the Bradley Manning situation in the public eye and other visible actions to remind the mainstream media that we're still warring and occupying illegally - etc. I believe they have a greater impact per person as the public understands that Veterans know what they're talking about when it comes to military issues. The Remembrance Rug takes up all my spare time - or I would be out there with them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Who has more authority to address the problems of our militarized society than the veterans who have been at the center of the problem? Veterans for Peace are able to speak undeniable truth to power. They will help us to move beyond war, to stop destroying lives by teaching youth to solve problems with violence.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Veterans for Peace in Corvallis Oregon is very active and doing a great job in promoting Peace, and Justice. They are really out there and doing a great job. Eugene Russell Vietnam Vet.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers