Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.777785
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I'm a 'Vietnam Era' veteran who joined during the atrocious U.S. war against that country. I made it clear during flight training at Pensacola that I wasn't "suitable" for combat duty. I was fortunate that my engineering degree qualified me for an Aeronautical Engineer Duty Officer assignment with the Naval Air Propulsion Test Center facility in Philadelphia for the duration of my active duty obligation. Veterans For Peace is an outstanding organization of great activists who are repulsed by the senseless consequences of war. The VFP leadership is both dynamic and inspirational. VFP's objectives and membership reflect my values and make me proud to be a Life Member of VFP.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I am a Vietnam veteran with severe PTSD, and Veterans For Peace provides a place that I can go and feel understood and accepted. We have veterans from the "War on Terror" (i.e., the unending series of wars) the Gulf war and Korean war, and even WWII. We may disagree on some topics, but we support each other none-the-less.
We also work together as a group and with others from the Peace and Justice community to educate the public, especially youth, regarding the true and usually hidden costs of war on so many levels. We also work to expose the militarization of local law enforcement: the direct result of our war-based economy and culture.
November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Veterans for Peace lends its voice of authority to the peace movement. They rock!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

One of the best nonprofits there is. PEACE is what this country desperately needs, & Veterans for Peace has been there. They know the opposite of PEACE, so they can be trusted by the public.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a member of the San Francisco chapter of VFP since March 2012 and host a weekly radio program dedicated to the concept of peace. I believe that peace can be achieved and one of the most effective ways of influencing the behavior of others is to set a good example. Be the change we wish to see and others will follow suit.

When I fist arrived on the scene I expected to find a group of forward thinking veterans who are working together to make San Francisco and the world a better place, but instead found myself embroiled in an unnecessary war over the control of resources available at the SF Veterans Building (money, free office space & people), with VFP leading the charge. While the monthly VFP meetings condemn the tactics the government utilizes to achieve their ends, they themselves are riddled with deception, hidden agendas and conflicts of interests, justifying their means with righteousness and self-adoring entitlement while inflicting psychological violence on fellow Veterans.

Where there once was a community of thousands of veterans, there is now only a few dozen at best and the ongoing hostilities and dysfunctional attitudes keep veterans away. From my perspective, this chapter of VFP is indirectly responsible for dozens, if not hundreds of veteran suicides and attempts, because of the lack of positive community. Inside the War Memorial Veterans Building I have opened a museum dedicated to the concept of peace, not with the help of VFP, but in spite of its lack thereof. In summary....

There are 3 P's for some in Veterans For Peace,
and ironically Peace isn't anywhere to hear or see.
The 38,000 ft. of the WMVB is their golden fleece,
a fight lasting forever is one they fight with glee.

The first P is for Protest and to thirst for it flagrantly,
for every protest there is a themed marching parade,
and an after-party to celebrate their perceived victory,
the fights must go on with each one custom made.

The second P is for Parties at which they crave conformity,
spending on them to attend a regular basis is a must.
Standing up to take the honorary bow as if deservedly.
a celebration for themselves and the few they trust.

The third and last P of VFP stands for the marching Parade,
pretending to be the war heroes they wish they could never be,
remembering feeling great during the short boot-camp charade,
and hate the fact that it felt so good being active in the military.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers