Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.772735
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of the San Francisco chapter of VFP since March 2012 and host a weekly radio program dedicated to the concept of peace. I believe that peace can be achieved and one of the most effective ways of influencing the behavior of others is to set a good example. Be the change we wish to see and others will follow suit.

When I fist arrived on the scene I expected to find a group of forward thinking veterans who are working together to make San Francisco and the world a better place, but instead found myself embroiled in an unnecessary war over the control of resources available at the SF Veterans Building (money, free office space & people), with VFP leading the charge. While the monthly VFP meetings condemn the tactics the government utilizes to achieve their ends, they themselves are riddled with deception, hidden agendas and conflicts of interests, justifying their means with righteousness and self-adoring entitlement while inflicting psychological violence on fellow Veterans.

Where there once was a community of thousands of veterans, there is now only a few dozen at best and the ongoing hostilities and dysfunctional attitudes keep veterans away. From my perspective, this chapter of VFP is indirectly responsible for dozens, if not hundreds of veteran suicides and attempts, because of the lack of positive community. Inside the War Memorial Veterans Building I have opened a museum dedicated to the concept of peace, not with the help of VFP, but in spite of its lack thereof. In summary....

There are 3 P's for some in Veterans For Peace,
and ironically Peace isn't anywhere to hear or see.
The 38,000 ft. of the WMVB is their golden fleece,
a fight lasting forever is one they fight with glee.

The first P is for Protest and to thirst for it flagrantly,
for every protest there is a themed marching parade,
and an after-party to celebrate their perceived victory,
the fights must go on with each one custom made.

The second P is for Parties at which they crave conformity,
spending on them to attend a regular basis is a must.
Standing up to take the honorary bow as if deservedly.
a celebration for themselves and the few they trust.

The third and last P of VFP stands for the marching Parade,
pretending to be the war heroes they wish they could never be,
remembering feeling great during the short boot-camp charade,
and hate the fact that it felt so good being active in the military.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

Respect for the veterans, largely Vietnam era, who have kept their commitment to peace and exposing the lies and commemorating those killed which goes with involvement in war. Despite their opposition to war, they have not forgotten their fellow vets who continue to suffer-pscyolologically and physically-from wars. They are committed to not forgetting those who have died and also work with other groups that some mainstream peace groups avoid. Even before renewed political activism generated by the Occupy movement, Veterans for Peace were there. They are doing a great job. Their involvement lends credence to the peace movement.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

The Veterans For Peace have done a great job in raising attention for the difficulties war veterans face today. They relieve loneliness and isolation and help creating awareness about the silent longterm aftermath of wars. The importance of Veterans For Peace stretches across international borders.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Veterans For Peace has helped me deliver phone cards to VA hospital patients (overall nationally 54,000 in 148 facilities), help 87,000 stoplossed troops get another year to claim their back pay, help 98,000 military spouse students restore their college funds, let me contribute to their Iraqi water Project (helping 85,000 Iraqis get safe drinking water, help pass NY Guard health coverage for depleted uranium (the "new Agent Orange"), tell the VA about 4000 support groups that can help w/PTSD, proving peace patriotic by honoring the warrior not the war. One of our chapter's members, Miles Manchester, arranged PTSD training for every police agency near the home of the Army's most deployed division. VFP supports schools and clinics in Vietnam & Afghanistan. A fellow member and I are about to do a YouTube video motivating veterans to get help for their PTSD, using quotes of mine successfully "field-tested"by 400 families living w/PTSD in Nebraska.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

My work with VFP, and with veterans from every era, has been the most meaningful experience of my life. I hope never to stop volunteering with this essential group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am an Iraq vet. I have a sixty percent service connected disability for PTSD and Hearing Loss. Veterans for Peace is an organization that I believe in, now more than ever. I knew a young girl, 18 just out of basic training. I trained with her at Ft. Bliss. She was apprehensive about going to Iraq. Now she is dead. She was killed by an IED/roadside bomb.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

a great group of veterans who help inform truth about military enlistment and politics in general.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I have known only a few veterans who belong, but have seen their Facebook page and the information compiled there is useful to activists of any level. Veterans telling the truth about War, Veterans Affairs and the world in which we live. Since the Pentagon's crushing disinformation campaign distorts, so does VFP clear the muddied waters of discourse in many ares. Their protest work is superb and effective across the board, since vets are diverse as the US itself.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

What an important role this organization fills in our country! Educating our citizens, beyond the sound bites on the news, about the people who served and their needs here at home. With more awareness, the public can understand and support Veterans telling their stories and provide resources to embrace them as they return to civilian life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Veterans For Peace does an amazing job educating the public about the true costs of war and militarism. With little resources, they make an big impact worldwide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers