Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.772735
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 3, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 10, 2013

Inspiring interaction with other Veterans and supporters regarding their experiences, and efforts to end war as a means of conflict resolution. Excellent use of time and resources and up-to-date webs... more

August 3, 2014

Have been involved for over 25 years, interacting with other Veterans in educating the public regarding the true costs of our unnecessary wars, to abolish war as a means of resolving conflicts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that the media is better informed of, and uses, the resources of Veterans For Peace.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2013

Inspiring interaction with other Veterans and supporters regarding their experiences, and efforts to end war as a means of conflict resolution.
Excellent use of time and resources and up-to-date website with pictures and descriptions of events and actions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

I am quite active in spreading the word about the mission of VFP, to Abolish War, and pursue Peaceful Alternatives to conflict.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2014

more

August 1, 2014

Veterans For Peace held an incredibly successful 29th annual convention July 23 - 27 in Asheville, NC. For the 2nd consecutive year (also Madison in August 2013), VFP was welcomed by our host city's mayor. The convention lasted 5 days, drawing nearly 400 participants. One highlight was an Iraq and Afghanistan veterans caucus, drawing over 3 dozen young veterans. Our keynote speaker, Cynthia McKinney, was preceded by keynoter Alice Walker at our 2012 convention in Miami, which itself was followed by a fact-finding tour to Haiti with Alice, Colonel Ann Wright (ret.) and 16 other participants.

Veterans For Peace is unique in its demographic, institutional viability, and enthusiasm for activism shown consistently in over 100 communities. Veterans For Peace is one of the most reliable groups on the American scene in the fight for peace and equality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue our efforts at institutionalizing our funding streams (bequests, recurring credit-car donations, etc.). Solidify efforts to pass the torch to a younger generation of veterans/peace activists, with special attention given to women vets and vets of color.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Excellent usage of time and resources as well as exemplarary image of non violence. The dialogue was encouraging and inspiring. Everyone can benefit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

The work of VFP is essential in keeping the consciousness of peace forefront in our thinking. VFP can help us evolve from using war to resolve conflict, to peaceful, beneficial, cooperative methods.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Veterans for Peace brings actions and awareness to the importance of being and acting fore peace rather than merely being against war.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Veterans for Peace lends its voice of authority to the peace movement. They rock!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

One of the best nonprofits there is. PEACE is what this country desperately needs, & Veterans for Peace has been there. They know the opposite of PEACE, so they can be trusted by the public.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Veterans For Peace members throughout the nation and in a few foreign countries constantly work to educate the public on the human cost of war and advocate for an end to violence. These tasks help those of us who have wounded bodies heal our wounded souls. We are all still serving our country, but in a higher cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I woke up to my military experience (Army, infantry, Viet Nam) in January of 2003. I was overwhelmed with striff/panic/shame/anger for many months. I have an MBA and I used my research skills to learn all I could about war, violence, politics, foreign affairs, other cultures, and many other topics. I gained knowledge, but I needed more than knowledge. About a year later I attended a peace rally in Ann Arbor, MI . A guy approached me and asked if I had heard of Veterans For Peace. I hadn't. I took his info., went home and researched the group. I joined soon after that and the association has changed my life. I thought I was alone with my issues. I wasn't. The people I've met via VFP have introduced me to books, videos, and other resources that I would never have found on my own. More importantly, I've met many great folks all over the country who have followed the same path and are speaking and acting for true, Gandhi style peace. They give me the strength and courage to oppose violence as a solution.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When my son joined the army in 2003 I went looking for an organization to help me deal with his deployment to Afghanistan. I joined VFP in 2005 and have been a loyal member since. My local chapter and the national office have been very supportive and have offered me great comfort to know that those who have served understand the costs of war. Although I am the mother that stayed behind when "they" went to fight, these veterans still understand my fears and rage at repeated deployments and apathy of the public. These veterans are smart, dedicated, loyal and they love their country more than most.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers