Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

I am quite active in spreading the word about the mission of VFP, to Abolish War, and pursue Peaceful Alternatives to conflict. more

April 10, 2013

Inspiring interaction with other Veterans and supporters regarding their experiences, and efforts to end war as a means of conflict resolution.
Excellent use of time and resources and up-to-date website with pictures and descriptions of events and actions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

I am quite active in spreading the word about the mission of VFP, to Abolish War, and pursue Peaceful Alternatives to conflict.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Excellent usage of time and resources as well as exemplarary image of non violence. The dialogue was encouraging and inspiring. Everyone can benefit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

The work of VFP is essential in keeping the consciousness of peace forefront in our thinking. VFP can help us evolve from using war to resolve conflict, to peaceful, beneficial, cooperative methods.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

Veterans for Peace brings actions and awareness to the importance of being and acting fore peace rather than merely being against war.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Veterans for Peace lends its voice of authority to the peace movement. They rock!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

One of the best nonprofits there is. PEACE is what this country desperately needs, & Veterans for Peace has been there. They know the opposite of PEACE, so they can be trusted by the public.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Veterans For Peace members throughout the nation and in a few foreign countries constantly work to educate the public on the human cost of war and advocate for an end to violence. These tasks help those of us who have wounded bodies heal our wounded souls. We are all still serving our country, but in a higher cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I woke up to my military experience (Army, infantry, Viet Nam) in January of 2003. I was overwhelmed with striff/panic/shame/anger for many months. I have an MBA and I used my research skills to learn all I could about war, violence, politics, foreign affairs, other cultures, and many other topics. I gained knowledge, but I needed more than knowledge. About a year later I attended a peace rally in Ann Arbor, MI . A guy approached me and asked if I had heard of Veterans For Peace. I hadn't. I took his info., went home and researched the group. I joined soon after that and the association has changed my life. I thought I was alone with my issues. I wasn't. The people I've met via VFP have introduced me to books, videos, and other resources that I would never have found on my own. More importantly, I've met many great folks all over the country who have followed the same path and are speaking and acting for true, Gandhi style peace. They give me the strength and courage to oppose violence as a solution.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When my son joined the army in 2003 I went looking for an organization to help me deal with his deployment to Afghanistan. I joined VFP in 2005 and have been a loyal member since. My local chapter and the national office have been very supportive and have offered me great comfort to know that those who have served understand the costs of war. Although I am the mother that stayed behind when "they" went to fight, these veterans still understand my fears and rage at repeated deployments and apathy of the public. These veterans are smart, dedicated, loyal and they love their country more than most.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of the San Francisco chapter of VFP since March 2012 and host a weekly radio program dedicated to the concept of peace. I believe that peace can be achieved and one of the most effective ways of influencing the behavior of others is to set a good example. Be the change we wish to see and others will follow suit.

When I fist arrived on the scene I expected to find a group of forward thinking veterans who are working together to make San Francisco and the world a better place, but instead found myself embroiled in an unnecessary war over the control of resources available at the SF Veterans Building (money, free office space & people), with VFP leading the charge. While the monthly VFP meetings condemn the tactics the government utilizes to achieve their ends, they themselves are riddled with deception, hidden agendas and conflicts of interests, justifying their means with righteousness and self-adoring entitlement while inflicting psychological violence on fellow Veterans.

Where there once was a community of thousands of veterans, there is now only a few dozen at best and the ongoing hostilities and dysfunctional attitudes keep veterans away. From my perspective, this chapter of VFP is indirectly responsible for dozens, if not hundreds of veteran suicides and attempts, because of the lack of positive community. Inside the War Memorial Veterans Building I have opened a museum dedicated to the concept of peace, not with the help of VFP, but in spite of its lack thereof. In summary....

There are 3 P's for some in Veterans For Peace,
and ironically Peace isn't anywhere to hear or see.
The 38,000 ft. of the WMVB is their golden fleece,
a fight lasting forever is one they fight with glee.

The first P is for Protest and to thirst for it flagrantly,
for every protest there is a themed marching parade,
and an after-party to celebrate their perceived victory,
the fights must go on with each one custom made.

The second P is for Parties at which they crave conformity,
spending on them to attend a regular basis is a must.
Standing up to take the honorary bow as if deservedly.
a celebration for themselves and the few they trust.

The third and last P of VFP stands for the marching Parade,
pretending to be the war heroes they wish they could never be,
remembering feeling great during the short boot-camp charade,
and hate the fact that it felt so good being active in the military.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers