Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.821435
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2014

more

October 19, 2014

My husband is the veteran and I'm his "Partner for Peace." The VFP helps us to be part of a group that can speak up for peace with authenticity because of their experiences with war. Thank you Veterans for Peace for all the witness you do for those of us who share your goal of peace. You are valued and we hope more Americans will hear your message.
October 18, 2014

more

October 18, 2014

I am a Vietnam veteran with severe PTSD, and Veterans For Peace provides a place that I can go and feel understood and accepted. We have veterans from the "War on Terror" (i.e., the unending series of wars) the Gulf war and Korean war, and even WWII. We may disagree on some topics, but we support each other none-the-less.
We also work together as a group and with others from the Peace and Justice community to educate the public, especially youth, regarding the true and usually hidden costs of war on so many levels. We also work to expose the militarization of local law enforcement: the direct result of our war-based economy and culture.
October 17, 2014

more

October 17, 2014

I am not a veteran, being a woman when women did not go to war. But I admire the work of Veterans for Peace. I have been to VFP national conventions and have participated in many programs that the Veterans have sponsored. Their dedication to peace is phenomenal. Their kindness is also phenomenal. I know also they are a great support to each other. And they are inspiring to others. They help each other, and they help all of us to understand the trauma of war and the need to strive for peace through their work nationwide and worldwide.
October 11, 2014

more

October 11, 2014

I joined VFP in 2002. I used to be satisfied that I'd done a good job during my nearly-full military career. I began to realize the lies and abuses my country causes while I was in and thought it was enough to remove myself from the military. But our militant attitudes permeate our country. I came home to a different society than the one I left in 1979. I was the one who was different, I guess. Suddenly I saw we couldn't get enough violence at the expense of the world's poor. Since Oct 2001 we've caused such misery at home and abroad by our extravagant, excessive spending to dominate the global scene militarily. My dream is that the work of groups like VFP will help shift public acceptance of this imbalance. I believe in our Constitutional rights AND obligations. We can change our country's focus. JOIN US!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2012

I woke up to my military experience (Army, infantry, Viet Nam) in January of 2003. I was overwhelmed with striff/panic/shame/anger for many months. I have an MBA and I used my research skills to le... more

October 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Without VFP I'd be a mental wreck. I woke up to my military experience (Army, infantry in the U.S. war against the people of Viet Nam) in January of 2003. I turned on the TV one night and the movie "Platoon" was playing. I had never read or watched anything about Viet Nam since I left there in early 1971. I figured I could handle it now. Wrong. I saw the children with big brown eyes and tatted clothes and it all came back - like a lightening bolt - the sights, the sounds, the smells. I was introduced to VFP by Bob Krzewinski in Michigan. I joined and am now immersed in VFP. It is my life line. I wear something VFP everyday and engage in dialogue about our mission at every opportunity. VFP is the place for me!
October 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I woke up to my military experience (Army, infantry, Viet Nam) in January of 2003. I was overwhelmed with striff/panic/shame/anger for many months. I have an MBA and I used my research skills to learn all I could about war, violence, politics, foreign affairs, other cultures, and many other topics. I gained knowledge, but I needed more than knowledge. About a year later I attended a peace rally in Ann Arbor, MI . A guy approached me and asked if I had heard of Veterans For Peace. I hadn't. I took his info., went home and researched the group. I joined soon after that and the association has changed my life. I thought I was alone with my issues. I wasn't. The people I've met via VFP have introduced me to books, videos, and other resources that I would never have found on my own. More importantly, I've met many great folks all over the country who have followed the same path and are speaking and acting for true, Gandhi style peace. They give me the strength and courage to oppose violence as a solution.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I joined VFP in 2001 knowing that we were headed into another long and futile war. The members I have met in the last 13 years are dedicated to abolishing war, are courageously and non violently standing up to the powerful war mongers, and continually educating people that war can be resisted. We need more vets to join us and we could definitely change the national discussions on how to wage peace.
August 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 10, 2013

Inspiring interaction with other Veterans and supporters regarding their experiences, and efforts to end war as a means of conflict resolution. Excellent use of time and resources and up-to-date webs... more

August 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Have been involved for over 25 years, interacting with other Veterans in educating the public regarding the true costs of our unnecessary wars, to abolish war as a means of resolving conflicts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that the media is better informed of, and uses, the resources of Veterans For Peace.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Inspiring interaction with other Veterans and supporters regarding their experiences, and efforts to end war as a means of conflict resolution.
Excellent use of time and resources and up-to-date website with pictures and descriptions of events and actions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2012

I am quite active in spreading the word about the mission of VFP, to Abolish War, and pursue Peaceful Alternatives to conflict.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Veterans For Peace held an incredibly successful 29th annual convention July 23 - 27 in Asheville, NC. For the 2nd consecutive year (also Madison in August 2013), VFP was welcomed by our host city's mayor. The convention lasted 5 days, drawing nearly 400 participants. One highlight was an Iraq and Afghanistan veterans caucus, drawing over 3 dozen young veterans. Our keynote speaker, Cynthia McKinney, was preceded by keynoter Alice Walker at our 2012 convention in Miami, which itself was followed by a fact-finding tour to Haiti with Alice, Colonel Ann Wright (ret.) and 16 other participants.

Veterans For Peace is unique in its demographic, institutional viability, and enthusiasm for activism shown consistently in over 100 communities. Veterans For Peace is one of the most reliable groups on the American scene in the fight for peace and equality.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue our efforts at institutionalizing our funding streams (bequests, recurring credit-car donations, etc.). Solidify efforts to pass the torch to a younger generation of veterans/peace activists, with special attention given to women vets and vets of color.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Excellent usage of time and resources as well as exemplarary image of non violence. The dialogue was encouraging and inspiring. Everyone can benefit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The work of VFP is essential in keeping the consciousness of peace forefront in our thinking. VFP can help us evolve from using war to resolve conflict, to peaceful, beneficial, cooperative methods.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers